Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

foxtel

Foxtel - would get it if you had a sports only choice?

I've got every channel on Foxtel. I'm quite happy with the product. The only thing that brings out a nervous twitch is Fox Sports News leading with AFL when their subscription base and ratings would demand leading with the more popular choice.

You have too much time on your hands dont you mate?

Liddell

Also how sh*t is it that foxtel satelite customers dont get ONEHD, the sports channel ect ect.....

That sh*ts me. Why is that? Is it a legal or reception thing?

As for the channels you mentioned before, yeah fox8 is alright, WWE in HD is pretty good, and a few other good shows. Channel 111 the missus :sarcasm: watches friends...but roseanne and ellen?

What ever happened to that AFL channel? It was on when i first signed up like 5 years ago, had games 24/7. Would be good to see something similar with league.

Liddell

I've got every channel on Foxtel. I'm quite happy with the product. The only thing that brings out a nervous twitch is Fox Sports News leading with AFL when their subscription base and ratings would demand leading with the more popular choice.

I noticed that too, never used to happen only like the last 18 months...Funny though, you can always tell its the summer when they are telling us NHL scores or doing a story on a local darts champ.

bobmar28

With Freeview having 16 channels now (as of Jan 11) I won't be going back to Foxtel, ever. I get to watch 3 NRL games a week on nine and the occasional game at the club. Hopefully One HD will have some league in 2013.

beave

this is the way I look at it, if your club has 2 games a month on free to air, forcing you to go to the club/pub to watch your team play twice a month. When at said club, if you have to take your missus and buy a few beers or softies and possibly even a meal, at a conservative guess you would be looking at $50 a game easily (if not more), so times that by 2 for the month........ so this if you have a team like mine that doesn't get a hell of a lot of FTA games,you have basically paid for your Foxtel /Austar right there................ I would prefer to watch it my joint in the comfort of my own lounge and surroundings where I can abuse Carl Webb for yet another bone headed display without the need to lower my voice, and drink my beer and eat my food which costs about 1/4 the price of what a pub or club forces you to pay. Plus I love the NFL and have started following the A league so I get all year 'round love from my little black box that sits under ye old plasma :)

Jono1987

Also how sh*t is it that foxtel satelite customers dont get ONEHD, the sports channel ect ect.....

Well well I can't believe I'd side with you on anything. But being an NFL fan it really annoys the sh*t out of me that I can't record the games on OneHD.

Jono1987

I rang Foxtel last week to find that out. Apparently it has nothing to do with reception, rather they just don't have an agreement in place. Which both confuses and frustrates me no end.

big country

this is the way I look at it, if your club has 2 games a month on free to air, forcing you to go to the club/pub to watch your team play twice a month. When at said club, if you have to take your missus and buy a few beers or softies and possibly even a meal, at a conservative guess you would be looking at $50 a game easily (if not more), so times that by 2 for the month........ so this if you have a team like mine that doesn't get a hell of a lot of FTA games,you have basically paid for your Foxtel /Austar right there................ I would prefer to watch it my joint in the comfort of my own lounge and surroundings where I can abuse Carl Webb for yet another bone headed display without the need to lower my voice, and drink my beer and eat my food which costs about 1/4 the price of what a pub or club forces you to pay. Plus I love the NFL and have started following the A league so I get all year 'round love from my little black box that sits under ye old plasma :)

personally i just pop in for a quiet couple during the game and then I'm out the door - anway, I can only speak as a ticketed member where :
*i go to the 6 home games
*hopefully 3 or 4 more are on FTA
*the remaining 2 or 3 or whatever during the season is pub time (or a mates place) where a couple of beers is $10 - that beats the up to $600 per year on foxtel

beave

yeah but some of us also like to watch games that don't involve our team, so that's 5 other games I would miss out on.

I'm also a gold star season ticket holder up here, but I do like to watch other games and be entertained by the lads in other teams.

Look I'm not going to bag people who don't want it or can't afford it, I'm lucky as my missus works and I'm on alright money, we can afford it. Sometimes there's good gear to watch, other times not so much. I'm just thankful in this day and age I can watch every game of football live or close to it for really not that much (I think I pay about $70 a month for HD Austar). Even if you only watch it for the league games, that's 5 games x 4 weeks =20 games (obviously an average when byes are included). $70/20 games= $3.50 a game. Not bad value really. Remember the days of mid 90's, 3 games a week is all you could get access to on TV, at least we have the ability now to be able to watch them either at home or at the pub.

big country

that's fair enough if you enjoy watching the other games it would then be very much worthwhile - personally, I am not interested in the 'other games/teams'

PaulyTom

I would get it if their product was as advanced as the SKY product in the U.K.

We are still 10 years behind where the U.K is with pay TV. It's a little bit embarrassing to be honest.

In saying that the population there is much more and the anti siphoning list is very relaxed with SKY dominating all major sports.

chrisD

Well I wouldn't get it but I don't see why people who would should be disadvantaged, I'm pulling this out of my arse but I'm fairly confident foxtel could monetise every channel and still make rediculously healthy profits, but they'd rather force you to get and pay for stuff you don't want to get the stuff you do and make even more rediculously healthy profits.

Still that's better than the alternative of 2 pay tv set ups in the country with content split between the 2.

Schiltzenberger

My understanding is that they can't split the different areas up with satellite. So the FTA stations will never agree to letting them do it.

Like if Foxtel wanted to put OneHD on their satellite feed they'd most probably be showing the Sydney feed all over the satellite footprint. Then the likes of OneHD would start losing out on sponsorship dollars from the Newcastle, Wollongong, North Coast and maybe even Brisbane/Queensland areas etc.. Also, businesses just based in Sydney wouldn't want people from all over the place calling them up when they don't service those areas.

So they only put the FTA stuff over the cable network because they can split the feeds off to whoever should get them. I have Foxtel cable right now and I get all the FTA stuff, they are all Perth feeds with all the Perth ads.

I only got Foxtel for the NRL, the coverage is disgraceful here. Although I will be moving back to NSW in few weeks, so no more Foxtel then.

franklin2323

I recently have returned to foxtel. I like watching ALL games. I go to the pub/Club you can't hear it sometimes see the TV is blocked and EVERYTIME while watch Super Sat some bastard tells you the score in the 3rd game. Add to that if you want to watch NRL tactics or NRL on Fox Fox is needed.

I could handle just having sport and the odd movie. The other channels shuts the woman up even if briefly. so it's worth it

Ziggy the God

Nothing beats Super Saturday, with back to back games.

Watching the first 1 minute of this video, brings back the thoughts of being fired up knowing that I have a few hours of games to watch (outside the wife having a go at me because she can't watch anything else for the night).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ksCqf7TF_Q

Then, after getting through Mondayatis at work, turn on Monday night football and kick back.

Lambretta

Well well I can't believe I'd side with you on anything. But being an NFL fan it really annoys the sh*t out of me that I can't record the games on OneHD.

I record OneHD on Foxtel - but then I have the High Definition package. In fact I have the platinum package with everything bundled with telephone and internet downloads.

I really like IQ and the fact I can watch a channel and record two others at the same time. But the on-going cost is a bit of a pain.

My 2nd tv which has a High Def tuner in it but only a Standard Def digital recorder attached has now lost the ability to record One HD and I now need to buy a new Freeview High Def recording device. The up front cost is about $300 for a recorder with the capability to record one channel at a time or $500 to have a twin tuner.

This is versus $15 a month for a second IQ box whixh will enable me to record One HD in that room - so if I want a twin drive High Def recorder it will take about 40 months of using Foxtel to get to the same amount of money. By then I'll be upgrading the recorder as something else will be needed.

So Foxtel wins - unless there's an installation fee. If that is the case, I'll be getting an AKAI recorder for $279 with a single drive and using it for Freeview only.

Canard

I would get it if their product was as advanced as the SKY product in the U.K.

We are still 10 years behind where the U.K is with pay TV. It's a little bit embarrassing to be honest.

In saying that the population there is much more and the anti siphoning list is very relaxed with SKY dominating all major sports.

I don't see much difference at all between the two, other than content. (which is nothing to do with advanced obviously).

The biggest difference between the two for me was cost, when I lived there it was £38 a month for the whole TV package, telephone plus unlimited broadband.

Nothing beats Super Saturday, with back to back games.

I'm with you there Zig. I love nothing better than (If I am not working sat arvo or sunday) have a BBQ sit down with a few brews and watch a few games. Even the wife loves doing the same (insert wine), she loves the footy & cricket, I'm bloody lucky, love her to bits.