Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sydney Roosters 2000-2010

Whilst I despise him beyond belief, Hodges was pretty gun in our Premiership season.

Absolute f**king injury-prone nuffbag after that though.

EDIT: Kinda like how Mullins gunned it that year before retiring.

EDIT 2: Luke Phillips is still the most underrated player of all-time, absolute hero I will forever love him for his 2000 GF performance.

Yeah, Hodges is a wanker though :lol:

Noo you just can't put Minichiello on the wing, that is insult for all the stuff he achieved at fullback. And I would have Tupou over Crocker anyday. Tupou's recent performances with Cronulla may have brought him down a little but when he was at the Roosters he was incredible :D. Crocker was just too undisciplined, and saved his best matches for Origin. Anasta over Flannery, for the amount of times he has won the match for us over the years.

Watch the 2000 GF and tell me it is an insult.

Tommy Smith

1. Luke Phillips
2. Brett Mullins
3. Ryan Cross
4. Justin Hodges
5. Anthony Minichiello
6. Brad Fittler (c)
7. Todd Carney
8. Adrian Morley
9. Simon Bonetti
10. Peter Cusack
11. Bryan Fletcher
12. Craig Fitzgibbon
13. Luke Ricketson

14. Nate Myles
15. Jason Cayless
16. Michael Crocker
17. Craig Wing

All issues of 'how long they played for us' etc aside, that's the team i'd pick for a GF match.

Phillips was amazing and totally deserves his FB spot. Don't get me wrong i love Mini, but when i compare Phillips' two GF performances in 2000 & 2002 with Mini's in 2003 & 2004 i've gotta have Diamond in there for the big occasion.

Mullins is a given. Was as good as any winger ive ever seen from about 2/3rds onwards of the 2002 season. Hodges similarly was easily our best centre over the last 10 years before he got injured at Sandcorp. Prior to that he was the worlds best centre IMO.

Whilst Pearce is ready to step up and become one of the top 5-10 players in the game now, i can't go past Carney for the HB spot based on his Dally M year last season.

Bonetti was the mountain in the middle of the field which our brutal forward pack was built around in 2002. Plus his dummy half service was second to none. Another fan favourite like Phillips and allows Wing to come off the bench and kill everyone.

Similarly Peter Cusack wasn't flashy but he was an absolute rock for us during the golden years. Would be guaranteed to do the dirty work, hit hard and NEVER miss a tackle. Better suited to the starting role over Cayless who was our best prop over the las decade IMO.

Wow...i'd cream myself to see that side play together and challenge any other club to match it over the last decade.

Tommy Smith

I'd love to see how that team would fair against:

1. Henari Veratau
2. Gavin Lester
3. Brent Grose
4. Vince Mellars
5. Steve Skinnon
6. Luke Dorn
7. Sam Obst
8. Willie Brown
9. Albert Talipeau
10. Dallas Hood
11. Steven Crouch
12. Mark Leafa
13. Mark Edmondson

14. Michael Korkidas
15. George Azzi
16. Charlie Tonga
17. Todd Ollivier

Btw, if you want a good laugh then check out:
http://www.sydneyroosters.com.au/default.aspx?s=player-list

Some major nostalgic lols at some of the deadwood that made their debuts over the last 10 years. One tends to forget how many players disappear through the system...even at what had been an established side for the first half of the decade.

Seriously, i haven't been able to stop laughing at the thought of Mark Leafa tearing it up in his head gear. Or Todd Ollivier - im impressed that i remembered his game! And dont even get me started on the 'next big thing' Henari Veratau; or Steve 'Paul Langmack groped me' Skinnon.

Ahh memories!

I'm pretty disappointed that the Yak slipped my mind.

Lol @ Tommy's nuffies but to be fair to Lester he was made to look like Eric Grothe snr one night against the Tigers.

1. Luke Phillips
2. Brett Mullins
3. Ryan Cross
4. Justin Hodges
5. Anthony Minichiello
6. Brad Fittler (c)
7. Todd Carney
8. Adrian Morley
9. Simon Bonetti
10. Peter Cusack
11. Bryan Fletcher
12. Craig Fitzgibbon
13. Luke Ricketson

14. Nate Myles
15. Jason Cayless
16. Michael Crocker
17. Craig Wing
I was thinking about this team and imagine if that team played a game but Mose came off the bench instead of Myles :shock:

Moz, Mose, Cayless and Crocker now that would be one awesome and ferocious pack. Swap JWH for Fletch just for even more awesomeness.

Rooster Legend

Watch the 2000 GF and tell me it is an insult.

Ok I respect what Luke Phillips did in that grand final. But can you really bypass what Mini has actually done in his career at fullback?

Did Phillips ever win the Golden Boot? Or the Wally Lewis medal or the Harry Sunderland medal TWICE? Was he joint top tryscorer for a season? Did he play all those origin games and tests and perform with distinction? AND most of all, was he named fullback in the Roosters Team of the Century? Haha, all I am saying is it would be the greatest injustice done to Mini to be picked on the wing.

But don't get me wrong, Phillips was a very underrated fullback. I think Minichiello deserves it just a bit more :)

What year was Minichiello leading try scorer and he was never named in the team of the century he was named in the team of centurions. To say it would be an injustice is highly disrespectful to Diamond.

Minichiello is a premiership winning winger btw.

Rooster Legend

What year was Minichiello leading try scorer and he was never named in the team of the century he was named in the team of centurions. To say it would be an injustice is highly disrespectful to Diamond.

Minichiello is a premiership winning winger btw.

2004 >> joint top tryscorer 18 tries with Ryan Cross.
Team of century, team of centurions same thing isnt it?
Ok TT, its your opinion and you believe that Phillips was a better fullback then Minichiello in the past decade. I simply believe otherwise :)

Tommy Smith

I don't think it's so much that he thinks Phillips was a better FB; but i reckon the team is better with Phillips at fullback and Mini on the wing. Who can forget how devastating the Hodgo/Mini combination was in 2002. I still remember quite fondly how they creamed Cronulla in back to back weeks of footy...

:D was that when we played them in round 26, and we were gonna finish 4th and 5th regardless of the result?

It was at shark park and the winner would get 4th I think we were on an uneven number of points but we thrashed them that night 36 to something?? They were never in it that night but was the semi final the game Mini scored from a kick which freakishly bounced back which looked certain to go dead?

TheDalek079

Diamond needs to be in there. if he fits into my all-time time, he can fit into this one.

this team looks alright

1 L Phillips
2 L Phillips
3 L Phillips
4 L Phillips
5 L Phillips
6 B Fittler
7 L Phillips
8 L Phillips
9 L Phillips
10 L Phillips
11 L Phillips
12 L Phillips
13 L Phillips

14 L Phillips
15 L Phillips
16 L Phillips
17 L Phillips

Tommy Smith

It was at shark park and the winner would get 4th I think we were on an uneven number of points but we thrashed them that night 36 to something?? They were never in it that night but was the semi final the game Mini scored from a kick which freakishly bounced back which looked certain to go dead?
Haha Yeah that's the one.

It can be seen on the "Decade of Excellence" DVD.

anfschookies

Lose the 4 seasons condition. Like TT said, Mullins = hero. Roberts = dud.
Crocker in for Tupou.

Shillington never did anything for us. I'd have Bonetti in there but if this was a real side it would need another prop.

Totally agree with bonnetti to bad to see him retire early he was a great hooker!