Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 22 vs. Warriors Discussion + Voting

cornerposter

NRL.com

"Hannant was unable to come back for the second half and coach Griffin conceded he would be in serious doubt with the team travelling to Townsville on Thursday."
Apparently out for 2 to 3.

I thought Wallace did a great job guiding us through the park. Being at the game I paid special attention to his interaction with the player group and he was very active correcting positional play, talking to all the players around him, who just nodded and went about their business. It's important in light of Locky's retirement, to have a half that has the ear of the players on the paddock. He generally made the right decisions, he's taking on the line, isn't forcing the pass and had a good kicking game, with a good try assist to Reed and the field goal as the cherry on top.
Yeah 'twas very noticeable in that game. Love it when the 7 runs to the line. I thought his only mistake was around the 30 min mark when he tried to run through the line when there was an overlap down the left.

The Crane

Great game - I spilled my beer all over myself after the field goal... Worth it though!

3 - McGuire
1 - Reed
1 - Lockyer
1 - Beale

Great game to watch, great tries by the warriors, although the Johnson one was piss poor defending.

^ Whatever that try is in the top tries for 2011 for an individual if NOT the best, poor defending wasn't the only reason mate, Johnson outclassed all defenders especially drawing both the FB and Wingers (that was pure class) the kid had vision and speed and even though you guys deserved to win at the end, look out because we might meet again in the finals OR better yet the Grand Final

AuDragon get your eyes checked

user_nat

Nothing wrong with what AuDragon said. Once Johnson got through the line it was an amazing show of individual brilliance and speed. However, Johnson wouldn't have got through the line if it weren't for some horrible attempts at tackling him and other players in the leadup.

AuDragon

^ Whatever that try is in the top tries for 2011 for an individual if NOT the best, poor defending wasn't the only reason mate, Johnson outclassed all defenders especially drawing both the FB and Wingers (that was pure class) the kid had vision and speed and even though you guys deserved to win at the end, look out because we might meet again in the finals OR better yet the Grand Final

AuDragon get your eyes checked
You did read the part where I said it was a great try, didn't you?

The piss poor defending was on the line where Johnson managed to palm off at least 3 forwards who were all shirt grabbing. Beale didn't look too good in the picture either. The way he came in as Yow Yeh had the left side covered, could have been better.
Still spectacular stuff from the kid, who took advantage and made the best of it, with amazing speed and elusiveness. He is a star in the making!

Tbh, I think the Locke try was better in the sense that it was all Warriors class without depending on crap defense. The work done by Maloney with that pinpoint perfect chip kick and the follow up by Locke was fantastic.

I'd love a Warriors - Broncos final, although I would prefer an all Qld affair against the Cows. But either would be good as a defeat wouldn't be as annoying...

Can't see it happening yet though, eventhough the Warriors and Broncos are youthful teams with a bright future ahead!

Big Pete

Just watched the first half, about to get into the second half.

Thoughts:
- In the main board I saw a couple of posters take a swipe at our effort but I didn't think we were too bad at all. A couple of loose passes denied us some opportunities and there was a 5-6 minute period where the Warriors were rolling us BUT I felt we were very unlucky not to receive a few penalties during those stages. Eg. Vatuvei and Brown taking out Hodges and Yow Yeh, Vatuvei holding Yow Yeh down as soon as he got the ball, Maloney holding onto the leg etc.

A few things...

- Hodges' kicking liscence has been upgraded to a P. Seriously, everytime he gets the ball his kicks seem to have positive results.

- We've done a good job on Manu so far and we've turned one of their biggest weapons into a weakness.

- Great work by Thaiday for the first try. To reign that ball in one handed and then get the offload away was class.

- Anderson was reasonably good in the opening 10, one nice half-break and throwing a lot of good passes before the line. I'm his biggest critic but he's doing a good job for the opening stint.

- Johnson try was disappointing, it should have ended with Mannering but when you present a rookie like Johnson with a staggered line they're capable of those plays. Great to watch, tough to endure.

- If there was one thing I miss about having Hunt around, it's his expertise at the third man play. Hoffy still hasn't worked that out yet. Otherwise Hoffy's had a real strong game and done very well to take a lot of those brilliant kicks from the Warriors.

- The Locke try is just one of those things, beautiful to watch but tough to defend against when it goes right.

- McGuire had a huge impact as soon as he came on, and not really with ball in hand but rather some very crucial tackles 2 on Locke and I believe one on Tupou.

- Great work from Yow Yeh in the lead up to the Beale try. Another great kick but he saw the gap and put us well onto the back foot. Hunt nearly stuffed it up for us, but smart play from Wallace and great work from Reed was able to put Beale away.

Fairly good first half, I think we have the better team than the Warriors, but the Warriors just have those players who can carve you up at any time which makes them so exciting to watch. They also have a great front row rotation, you know you're doing well when you're calling up a State of Origin rep. so they remain relatively strong for the majority of the game.

I forgot to really wrap Wallace, I think he's been real good for us tonight, couple of good kicks, good takes and defence as always is strong. I seem to have it in for rangas but honestly, Wallace is a nominee for halfback of the year. Sure, he's down the totem pole a fair bit, but definitely in the Top 5 in the comp.

I suppose my second post will be even longer, stay tuned!

Big Pete

The second half was kind of strange.

The opening stages were tough, it looked like the Warriors were about to dominate the proceedings but some big runs from key players shifted the momentum for us.

Jumpin Jack Reed, you know coupled with Jumpin Jharal I wonder if these two have scored more tries in the air combined than Flyin' Folau did last year?

My Gus Gould laugh moment had to go to Gerard Beale piggy backing a forward 8-10m forwards. It was just very surreal vision.

Just when I think the Warriors are about to take the momentum from us the key players seem to come up with a big run to swing the momentum back. In the second half, that man seems to be Josh Hoffman.

Gillett's such a weapon and he's capable of at least 2-3 big runs a game but I've got to say I don't see where the wraps are coming from for this performance. At times, he was like a ghost in defence and he was dominated a number of times in the middle.

Hunt's been fairly good in the second after a shakey stint start. Getting a nice roll on and I have to say had a better stint than Macca's second.

Speaking of Macca, that knock on towards the death was just one of those moments in footy. I thought for all money he'd have the ball knocked out from dummy half again, breathed a sigh of relief and then facepalmed when the ball spilt free.

Can't stand Klein, the Hodges forward pass call was correct, but there was at least 2 forward passes and a knock on before hand that would have given us great field position. The Maloney penalty seemed milked but I can forgive that one.

Watching this game after the fact leads me to think just how nervous and frustrated I'd be in situations. I was laughing at Hodges patting Manu on the back with a minute remaining but if I was watching live I'd be pissed off he didn't go for the ball.

Y'know, there's few teams you can say you had the pleasure to watch play them, but the Warriors are that team. Tough game of footy where they tested us big time but emotions never spilt and there seemed to be a lot of mutual respect out there.

3,2,1's...

3. Sam Thaiday - Big tackles, good runs and some skillful passes at significant times gives Sammy T the biccies.

2. Josh Hoffman - Tested through out the night and stood up big time.

1. Josh McGuire - Arguably his best game in first grade, stepped up for Hannant and his workload in attack and defence was very good. Probably lacked some quality in his runs but his willingness to put his hand up impressed me big time.

Shout outs to basically the entire side, aside from Hannant I don't think anyone played poorly tonight. Just need to tighten up the passes and we'll be sweet.

AuDragon

Strongly disagree with your view on Gillett. He played in the front row for a significant portion of the match, making crucial tackles and scoring a great try off Locky. He isn't a front rower, so it's not that big a surprise he got dominated a few times in a tackle. Still have him easy in my top 3 after Wallace and McGuire.

Big Pete

He also made a number of crucial misses.

He obviously isn't a front-rower which is why I couldn't have him in my Top 3.

AuDragon

He also made a number of crucial misses.

He obviously isn't a front-rower which is why I couldn't have him in my Top 3.
Crucial misses? When? Don't recall the Warriors gaining any significant advantage on the back of a Gillett miss... :?

user_nat

Gillett shouldn't be playing in the front row IMO.

He is probably the least suited to it of all our back rowers. Makes no sense.

AuDragon

Don't think it was Hook's plan, but it was sortta forced by Hannant's problem and the prop rotation that had just taken place...

DeeJ

Gillett shouldn't be playing in the front row IMO.

He is probably the least suited to it of all our back rowers. Makes no sense.

Gillett to start, Glenn to bench. Gillett was lethal on the left side last year.

What do do with Gillett...he has all the skills. Not quite big enough for the front row. Not fast enough for a centre. His utility is working against him. Sure he provides great impact off the bench but he should be starting IMO.

IBA

Only watched the game this arvo. I thought Gillett went well despite clearing not being a front rower. I agree he missed a few tackles but the he is consistently tackling and making hit ups. Good game from him.

Thaiday is getting back to his best. Hoffman is such an amazing runner of the ball, I can't wait till he learns how to finish some set plays a little better. Definitely one of our best in the game. Wal and Locky were both great. McGuire was a stand out. Similar to that game he played in round 4 or whatever where he got MOTM. Can't remember who it was against off the top of my head but it being a similar performance. Hannant, Petro and McGuire next year is a fairly decent front row... Anderson has been a little tougher lately which is nice to see. He'll never be a superstar but I'll take solid from him.

We should have won easier than we did but a great effort none-the-less.

I'm actually same as Pete here but there were a few players unlucky to miss out.

3. Thaiday
2. Hoffman
1. McGuire

IBA

Gillett is definitely best in the 2nd row. Thaiday back to prop? I'm liking his work on the right with room to move though

Big Pete

Crucial misses? When? Don't recall the Warriors gaining any significant advantage on the back of a Gillett miss... :?

Just a lot of halfbreaks, especially in the first half that gave the Warriors all that momentum.

We really lost our advantage at that point and the others did real well to hold on. Especially McGuire who pulled off a few very important cover tackles.

I'm not saying Gillett is horrible mind you I just have him behind a few others, given the quality of the individual performances, it's easy to see so many different votes.