Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cuthbo to newy

Breathingfire

There is absolutely no way in hell that Cuthbertson is on 250k at the nights. They would not be able to fit it into their cap unless Tinkler has hired Brian Waldron to run the books. It would be more like 100-150k. He must be taking a pay cut to play under Bennett. He could get big $ overseas.

I have to vent my spleen. I am grateful for the premiership we won last year but i just don't like this cheap feeling i'm getting of Bennett going around coaching clubs and nicking the former clubs players to build an empire somewhere else so another club can have a "shot in the arm". Its indicative of the professional football era we are in. Cheap!

Dragons1921

That's the thing.....it wasn't such great recruitment when it happened. Many questioned some of the guys Bennett signed at the time. You can't tell me Emmett, Tagive, Gower, Penese, Greenfield and that guy we just lost to Roosters who we got from Cronulla via Wests Devils were great signings. Granted Boyd and resigning of Gaz. Weyman, Costigan and Fien were struggling to get any interest anywhere. They turned out to be good signings because of the system we had in place. Whose to say some of these new guys don't turn out to be great signings....and we still have money left for that one big name signing, if he becomes available and fills our needs.

This is multi-dimensional, you must also consider the head coach and the back room staff in all of this. Bennett and his staff have a knack of getting the best out of average players. Price is an unknown, but seeing how many coaches can actually do this, I would say chances aren't great.

By the way, I think Emmett has been good for us. I certainly wouldn't call him a bad signing.

Bring back choc

And you think that would have been Adam Cuthbertson? The guy had 2 or 3 good games this year.

Then again, if my opinion doesn't agree with yours, I know nothing about rugby league.

Ok mate. Put it this way... I am VERY surprised you cannot see the value in cuthbo.

In case you've missed it, Wayne Bennett seems to think he goes alright!

Mr Red

and you have no idea about funding a team within salary cap.

You think $750 for 3 seasons is a good deal for someone who would play more NSW Cup than 1st grade....and you think I know nothing about rugby league. I only played the game for between 28 years, and been involved in kids coaching since I stopped playing.

kids coaching... well hold the phone !!!!

my view on cuthbertson and his importance to the team as THE ONLY ball playing forward we had has just changed....

kids coaching MUST mean you have more knowledge on the value and versatility cuthbertson can offer compared to Wayne Bennett.... :shock::shock:

irrespective of what cuthbertson cost the knights here are the facts:

1. both newcastle and the dragons have the same salary cap for the season
2. both newcastle and the dragons must recruit the same number of players to form their full time squad
3. it takes a squad of 25 - 28 players to win a competition each season with each player playing a role at some stage due to injuries and rep footy
4. wayne bennett is one of the most astute judges in player talent in the game

dragonsman4eva

BBC I agree with you, cutbo will be a loss but we offered him a contract in the middle of the year and he rejected it. So if he doesnt wanna play with the red v why bother?? But I do agree he is a loss

Fingerbang

Ok mate. Put it this way... I am VERY surprised you cannot see the value in cuthbo.

In case you've missed it, Wayne Bennett seems to think he goes alright!
He does go alright. Yes, I saw him do a few good things throughout the year....in a few games. I just don't see him being worth the reported $250k he was supposed to be on....50 from us and 200 from Sharks for this year. I reckon we could replace him by someone who would do just as good or even better job for the team, for less money.

Wayne Bennett saw things in other guys too, who didn't turn out as he had thought or hoped. Just because Bennett sees something in someone, doesn't automatically make them a star in my eyes.

Another wank who pissed off to the Knights he had no intention of staying thats why he rejected a deal months ago.

All this moaning about why the club didn't sign this player or that the Dragons must have the worst roster in history by the looks of it to some people.

How about waiting to the season actually starts before complaining.

Godz Illa

How about waiting to the season actually starts before complaining.
Why wait when you can whinge all year round? It's the beauty of the world wide web! Giving emo's an outlet since the 90's.

I liked Cuthbo. The coach and club liked him - hence the offer. He obviously had no interest in staying. Fair enough. We moved on.

The amusing thing is, this time last year his signing was treated as a bit of a joke - and many people were whinging that we signed such a nuffy. It's a funny place, this forum.

This time next year who will it be? Jeremy Latimore come on down?

redv theres a thing called the cap and the Dragons actually stick to it what do you want the club to do.

They signed Moltzen and he and his manager screwed the club they offered cuthbo a contract and he didn't want to sign boyd signed a deal and soon as daddy pissed off he went to not something the club can do about it.

No player is going to come to a team full of rep players I bet you one of these dellusional people who think the club should go after say Cam Smith a player who will never leave the Storm.

Be greatful the Dragons have the players they do and produce their own talent and aren't a transit lounge team like the Bulldogs.

Dragons1921

You can't tell me Emmett, Tagive, Gower, Penese, Greenfield and that guy we just lost to Roosters who we got from Cronulla via Wests Devils were great signings.

By the way, I think Emmett has been good for us. I certainly wouldn't call him a bad signing.
Again, turned out to be a decent signing.....who many doubted at the time he signed.

Well which one is it? Anyway, I can see the point you're trying to make in regards to recruitment but you must acknowledge the coach is a big piece in the puzzle of converting average to good.

Anyway onto the contract size, no one here is arguing that Cuthbertson is worth 250K for 3 seasons. I seriously doubt he would have thought we would agree to 250K (If that was the offer. Reference?) so in reality he didn't want to play for us. I personally think Cuthbo embraced Bennett rather than the club but I am looking from the outside in.

There is no way the Knights have a 250K slot in their cap to offer him. Going by Bennett and how he operates, he isn't going to give a person like Cuthbertson a red carpet ride. It will undo all his work. To get the best out of players who don't have a great work ethic, Bennett paves them a hard road, challenges them and continually test their commitment. 250K is reserved for top starters which currently he isn't a Knights starter let alone a top echelon starter.

Oh, and this is my opinion but I think Cuthbertson has class. Have you forgotten the last game of this season? He performed when it mattered most. He had only one crack during the finals. A 46min stint against Brisbane and he was one of our best players and a major cog in getting us to extra time.

redvwhite

I know there is a thing called a cap and I am saying spend it. It doesn't accrue over the years to our advantage. I'd have preferred we went after Mortimer then done nothing.

Bring back choc

Why wait when you can whinge all year round? It's the beauty of the world wide web! Giving emo's an outlet since the 90's.

I liked Cuthbo. The coach and club liked him - hence the offer. He obviously had no interest in staying. Fair enough. We moved on.

The amusing thing is, this time last year his signing was treated as a bit of a joke - and many people were whinging that we signed such a nuffy. It's a funny place, this forum.

This time next year who will it be? Jeremy Latimore come on down?

Mate whoever complained about signing him definitely has no idea. I thought it was an inspired signing. The bloke could be anything. I was over the moon we got him. That's what I call depth.

Vidot could be ok, but there's nobody else. Seems really weak recruiting.

All it would have taken is 1 more quality name forward and back.

Godz Illa

Mate whoever complained about signing him definitely has no idea. I thought it was an inspired signing. The bloke could be anything. I was over the moon we got him. That's what I call depth.
lol of course you did, bbc, of course you did. We are not worthy.

Have you tried looking for a forum that is worthy? I heardd Mickey Paea's looking for some supppport in the Hull KR forum

Father Ted

Yeah let's wait. Waiting around twiddling our thumbs is going to do us great.

To be Fair I surpose the club can't spend the Moltzen money yet as he may still be coming . So c'mon NRL get it sorted please so we can all move on.

Fingerbang

Well which one is it? Anyway, I can see the point you're trying to make in regards to recruitment but you must acknowledge the coach is a big piece in the puzzle of converting average to good
I tell you again, so hopefully it sinks in this time. He was a fringe 1st grader, a fill in signing, much like the guys Pricey has recruited for next year. Not a brilliant recruitment chioce at the time....which some people are crying out for now. Never was a superstar, but capable of doing a job....again, much ;like some Pricey has recruited. My point is, why say the recruitment choices for 2012 are poor compared to Bennetts recruiting over the last 3 years. Yes, we don't have a Boyd coming.....but why write these new recruits off before giving them their opportunity? Whose to say Miller won't do the same thing Emmett did during his first 2 years....and hence, turn into a decent signing.

LOL! Hit the nail on the head.

There's are just a couple of emos who peddle the doom and gloom, but if you don't agree with them you are dismissed as thick or have no idea about rugby league. If someone mounts a solid argument against the emos, the response is to ignore the facts, post some half truths and peddle more doom and gloom. It's as if they think crying about it will bring about change (whatever that change may be because emos are always light on solutions).

There's one real fact here: Bennett is gone. IMO, the emos have trouble accepting this. We now have have a different coach in Steve Price and therefore a different approach to recruitment. Despite his age and having never been tested in Sydney, we gave Bennett the benefit of the doubt. I'm giving Price every chance to deliver the goods - and will be reserving my opinion on his performance at a later date. So yeah, I must know nothing about rugby league too.