Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

99% of stats are made up and awesomeness

SharkShocked

Vin Fizz - that's a laugh.

Mate... if we are ever in a grand final in my life time, ill ensure that if we are up by 2 with 30 seconds to go and the opposing player makes a clean break... i'll be over that fence and onto the field in a flash to try and tackle the bloke...

Other than that, aside from renewing my membership every year, buying merchandise, losing the occasional cash at the club pokies, going to the leagues club for away games instead of sitting at home watching it on t.v... not sure what else i can do?

I think there's just too much of an excuse fest going on at times.

anyway

to change it, i think what the club needs to do is do a full review of all operations across the board once the development money is in.

where are we as a club.
what do we need to do to improve on to reach that next level.
what areas need the most improvement. ie, junior development, player development etc
who needs to be appointed where etc

as well as a full strategic plan to ensure that in 10 years time we arent in the same boat financially.

the firt thing to do would be to decide wether flanagan is a good coach without the resources or just a bad coach.
i think its the latter, but i am in no way an expert.

but he is just one of many, many factors that once we are a little bit more stable financially need serious review into what is required for this club to become a consistant force in the premiership.

Vin Fizz

Here some stoopid ideas that might show our members, visiting spectators and every karmichael some PASSION, get a bit more dough, grow the supporter base and improve the experience a bit, that just might help the team.
1. Open the ground 2 hours early on game day and show the previous nights NRL match on the screen. This might get people to spend money at the club and you never know we may even attract some opposition fans who just want to watch the game. Could set aside an area in front of the screen for those watching the replay only where you don’t have to pay a full entry but will be ushered out afterwards before the footy starts. A bit more dough to us.
2. For members attending the game and who have pre-purchased merch rather than line up at the f**king club house, or worse that bloody merch tent that is in the way, have a designated area and time (maybe the 2 hours above) where you are presented your goods by a famous member, past player or some celeb fan. You’d have to plan it but it could work.
3. Open both doors to the club house. Maybe have volunteer members in SHARKS gear welcoming people through the door. And move the food cart out of the main thoroughfare at the ground so it becomes a better experience when you arrive.

Remember SHARK PARK IN THE DARK! Great experience and innovative. We were unbeatable. Where’d that passion go? If you make the experience more pleasurable, the fans will be happier, more likely to be boisterous which could lift the team. The more professional the club the less tolerant everyone will be with mediocrity. If I get served a bad beer or get shitty service from the barman I’ll remember it and will be less likely to return, then bad mouth the club to others etc….Sooner or later the BRAND is f**ked and the players know it!

SharkShocked

Newman - is the club open to ideas?

Fair question really, i know people on forums have ideas and sprout ideas for this that and the other.

But i wonder whether they are genuinely open to new ideas

Vin Fizz

What do we do Vin - I think RCB has hit the nail on the head.

Let's look at who we are & what we stand for & start playing like we "preach" we will in that wonderful tune.

Sounds like i'm on my high horse here. Not intended. I know as much as the next guy which is less than everyone on here. I can only tell ya what I try to do which is get some ideas flowing in me dumb head and, with some trepidation, post them on the forum. Reckon people at the club read these things and you never know something of benefit might come of it. Apart from emulating SharkShocked’s actions (membership, merch, booze, gamble) it’s the only other way I can get involved at the moment. Everyone here seems to be more constructive than destructive atm and that doesn’t hurt at all.

FLUFF ALERT: Lots of ways to change the culture Newm. Believe me I work in a field where a toxic culture is/was ingrained. I was involved with a change program that had some success. It all starts at the roots though. People prepared to take the role as a catalyst for change , bury their frustration and bring the heavy hitters in the club up what’s known as a “commitment curve”. You do that by your own commitment and getting skin the game. Yeah fluff I know but very very powerful. Google “Scarf Response”. How do we do it? Commit and get others to follow. This Forum probably has some influence, but I reckon you might already know that thoughJ. People shouldn’t think you can’t help from afar. I mean who knows one of the forum members could even end up being a chairman!!;-)

Out of interest, did/does any part of this process involve bedding down a set of core values which have been agreed upon by all the stakeholders? Values tend to underpin culture. You need a very strong change manager to ensure values are taken up and also to ensure that those that won't are weeded out.

anyway

to change it, i think what the club needs to do is do a full review of all operations across the board once the development money is in.

where are we as a club.
what do we need to do to improve on to reach that next level.
what areas need the most improvement. ie, junior development, player development etc
who needs to be appointed where etc

as well as a full strategic plan to ensure that in 10 years time we arent in the same boat financially.

the firt thing to do would be to decide wether flanagan is a good coach without the resources or just a bad coach.
i think its the latter, but i am in no way an expert.

but he is just one of many, many factors that once we are a little bit more stable financially need serious review into what is required for this club to become a consistant force in the premiership.

Agree but disagree. Reviews have been done and they usually just demonstrate what the organisation being reviewed wants. It's not unlike accreditation. The org just ensure he evidence the surveyors (or reviewers) want is readily at hand

What is needed down there is a full blown RCA on what has happened over the years. The negative to that though is it would take years to perform the RCA.

Vin Fizz

Out of interest, did/does any part of this process involve bedding down a set of core values which have been agreed upon by all the stakeholders? Values tend to underpin culture. You need a very strong change manager to ensure values are taken up and also to ensure that those that won't are weeded out.

Yeah it did Frenz. In the process that i was invloved the values were set by the stakeholders rather than given to them. The key to committment was ownership of the choices being made. The top level goals were very generic to start with. The stakeholders bought into the process becuase the change agents appealed to their SCARF which elevated their level of committment. Basically everyone had skin in the game no matter how minor. All felt valued and became and remained involved from the grass roots levels to the top. Worked well. Its not new apart from the SCARF thinking. That was the key tool for the change managers to keep at it . It was stressed upon us though that you cant magicaly change culture. Its organic, and imerges from the changes that you commit to.

OK yeah I expected as much

My organisation has been formally working towards culture change since 2009 when the first staff climate survey was done. The joint is still largely dysfunctional but is improving in pockets. The pockets that show improvement are the ones that have bought in to the values that they set for themselves (similar to your experience). Those that have taken ownership are the most forward moving clusters. 3 years on and the pulse survey showed a 10% overall improvement. I relate this just mainly to back up your views and demonstrate just how slow it can be to change culture.

Some may not see the correlation between a sporting body and a more traditional workplace but it's there and the same principles can slowly change a culture.

Culture+Club-Colour+By+Numbers-Front.jpg