Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

"Jungle ball" "Calypso footy" etc etc

Kurt Angle

Maoris and African Americans have a huge impact on global sport :lol:

You're an idiot, and a racist to boot.

??

maori have had an impact on global sport?

They don't really participate in global sports, well not in large numbers.

Soccer - No
Basketball - No
Cricket - No
Baseball -No
Ice Hockey - No
Field Hockey - No
Tennis - No
Motor sports - no
Swimming - No
Track and Field - No

The closest they get in rugby union, but it's such a pissant sport on the global stage that it's not accurate to call it one.

Apey

Unfortunately these days people go looking for things to get offended by so they can have their little moment of outrage and claim some sort of moral higher ground, even if they take offense on behalf of someone else (who may or may not be offended themselves)

:lol: so true. not necessarily in this instance, but generally so very true.

Ronnie Dobbs

Won't somebody think of the children!!

What is it to be called in the PC age?

Expansive? - Insulting to fat erhh, sorry, weight challenged types.

care free? - Nup. Insulting to dole bludgers.

High Risk? - I can see insurance salesmen blowing up.

Lets go for, football, that would formerly have been referred to as having been played in a non-descript wooded area that may or may not have had sufficient precipitation to be a rain forest, but which would have been now called deforesetd football due to mankinds farming and also due to global warming.

Too long. Lets just call it Harlem Globetrotters style. I hope the white people don't get offended by that.

Lets just stick with Topball as a generic reference.

f**k me.

Manu Vatuvei

It's not the term that concerns me, it's the overall stereotype that the Warriors play a particular style of rugby league= mistake ridden, flamboyant, lack of attention to detail, no structure, we have "huge forwards", etc etc.

There's no doubt that this stereotype is rather condescending. There's significant doubt that there's any truth in it (I think the only people who really believe that the Warriors play a distinct style are those who buy in to the stereotypes anyway).

And, finally- in my opinion, and it's only my opinion, it's obvious that these stereotypes tie back to the ethnicity of the players. Let's not be stupid here- when people bring up these stereotypes they are not thinking of Mannering, Luck or Lillyman.

So yes, there is an inherent racism in how people perceive the Warriors, whether they use the expression "jungle ball" or not. I also think this stereotype would persist even if the Warriors had 17 white Australians in the line-up, because the racial stereotype is deeply rooted into the external perception of the club's identity, regardless of who's actually in the team.

Jeez, that came off sounding like a bad day in sociology class or something, but there's some truth in there I think. If anything it annoys me not so much because of any racist element, but because it's so hard to find decent analysis of how the Warriors are going without resort to woefully inaccurate stereotypes.

Alan Johnson

It's just woefully misguided and I'm amazed that Kimmorley could be so oblivious to the offense the term could potentially cause. It's one thing to think it (and clearly a lot of people do) but it's entirely another to announce it on international television.

Remember when Fatty Vautin said the Warriors hold the ball like gorillas? And that they're always doing "these ones" *mock throws a pass behind his head*.

F*ck Vautin is a douche. He highly annoys me when he uses the term "these ones".

Australian in racist stereotype shock. Well not really a shock is it. As said the term is used with no other team so clearly has little to do with style of play and is a direct and unique reference point to that team for the commentator, and that uniqueness is ......

sherrinator

The big, brown-skinned warriors jump and flip around the field in such gay abandon you could quite easily liken them to gorillas running around the jungle.

Don't see a problem at all. :crazy:

Not one maori bloke would chuck a 'nana about that.

I heard it at the time and thought there's no way he could get away with that. Apparently he can. And he wrote it in a column as well??? Absolutely ridiculous.

Everyone knows what lives in a jungle, everyone knows what the racial stereotype that pertains to that is. It's unacceptable, not to mention factually crap. And I don't have a lick of agenda to bring to the table with that.

Scorpio30

I'm pretty sure that in a 2003 qualifying final Bulldogs v Warriors at the baseball field that Fatty Vautin said Sione Faumauina was like a gorilla holding a banana.

Good game that one actually.