Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is this the worst Season ever?

Old_Timer

lol in no way is it the worst you melodramatic karmichael hunts

Care to elaborate further Godz Illa? I must be missing something, for it certainly seems like it to me.

Essentially I think we have changed places with Souths, and as a consequence are in for a long stint at the bottom of the league ladder.

Godz Illa

Essentially I think we have changed places with Souths, and as a consequence are in for a long stint at the bottom of the league ladder.
Melodramatic drivel at it's best, down there with Ronnie's sick in the guts comment.

This season has not been without highlights, they've been mentioned elsewhere in this thread. 2007 for a start was easily worse and the coach was a long way from a rookie by then. Almost zero highlights - Gasnier, Morris, Young, Head all injured for huge portions of the year, we had some of the lowest attendance rates I'd seen in years, and worst of all we had nothing to show for the previous 3 years when we had a gun side. It was a shit time. At least I can sleep easy these days knowing I've witnessed a grand final victory. Easy to find the bright side

This Year?

Definitely not the worst season ever. In the majority of games they've had a go and haven't given up.

Old_Timer

At least I can sleep easy these days knowing I've witnessed a grand final victory. Easy to find the bright side

Ah, so you are buoyed by what was, rather than what is.

Perfectly understandable, I used to find solace in that logic for decades.

Cagey Mac

lol in no way is it the worst you melodramatic karmichael hunts

It may not be the worst season ever but it feels that way. This year makes me feel that 2010 was confected and that the Bennett era had about the same affect on the club as a Mars Bar has on your blood sugar levels. A short burst of satisfaction followed by a fall. The club unnourished by the experience for any sustained period, an aberration.

It’s unusual for you to be derisive to others for having a having a different opinion to you Godzy? OT and RD seem to merely be expressing disappointment based on their feelings as long time supporters. I’ve been a Dragons fan since 1963 and seen poor performances and coaching stupidity on and off for fifty years; I swore blind that Brian Smith was guilty of nepotism to the detriment of the club during his era but this honestly feels as bad as I can remember.

I even think that we have a fair show of beating the Cows this Monday but I have little faith in the ability of the coach and see this years experiment as being little more than folly. This kind of feeling has obviously been identified by many others in this place. It’s not melodrama it’s telling it like it is, as they see it.

I can see both sides of this argument. 2007 was more frustrating, because we had seen the prize snatched from our grasp in the previous couple of seasons, were on the slide and injury-ridden, and had nothing to show for it all.

This year is also very frustrating but in contrast to 07, we have the 2010 trophy to show for some of the pain we are now all feeling.

But seriously, I can't agree on the trading places with LOL@50uff$ theory. That's an insult to the great club we continue to be. This year is likely only an aberration. Their failure is a tradition.

Cagey Mac

I can see both sides of this argument. 2007 was more frustrating, because we had seen the prize snatched from our grasp in the previous couple of seasons, were on the slide and injury-ridden, and had nothing to show for it all.

This year is also very frustrating but in contrast to 07, we have the 2010 trophy to show for some of the pain we are now all feeling.

But seriously, I can't agree on the trading places with LOL@50uff$ theory. That's an insult to the great club we continue to be. This year is likely only an aberration. Their failure is a tradition.

You would have loved the '65 Grand Final

Stagger Lee

which youngsters have been forced in this season - none.

maketo, king, stockwell, cummins and a few others should have seen more first grade this season.
instead Price has persisted with Hornby, Fien, Ah Mau, Miller.

I understand what your saying, I am just trying to be optimistic :eek:

Brown was forced to persist with so many youngsters in 2007, remember the pain of the Morris brothers dropping the ball time and time and time again? Other debut players that season Jason Nightingale, Chris Houston and Dan Hunt also had a lot of games IIRC.

The last few games should be about getting the youngsters serious game time.

I can't see many positives out of this season yet, but by the end of season 2007 I was at least optimistic that we had some great players coming through so for me 2007 was painful but not the worst season ever.

Dragons4lyf95

positives from this season = beating the knights both times we versed them i have to say after watching the first game of the yr i thought we would be top 4 contenders !

Cagey Mac

I've seen snippets of it. Unfortunately my level of consciousness (Dragons-wise) only goes back as far as the '69 season onwards. Particularly the 69 semi final, Chook Raper's last game in the mighty Red V.

My first grand final was '65 went with a bunch of my Rabbitoh supporting mates who thought that they had us on toast
Laughed all the way home!

64 Dragon

1967 was my worse year. After 11 in a row I thought we were unbeatable. It was heartbreaking for a young guy. And for a team like the "Berries" to end our domination was a travesty. Limited tackle footy didn't help either. I think it eventually led to our demise.

Old_Timer

1967 was my worse year. After 11 in a row I thought we were unbeatable. It was heartbreaking for a young guy. And for a team like the "Berries" to end our domination was a travesty. Limited tackle footy didn't help either. I think it eventually led to our demise.

Had Kevin Ryan not led them, we would have prevailed. But South's I feel, would have got us the following week. Our time was up and Souths had one hell of a pack of forwards. But hey we went out fighting with our boots on!!

Old_Timer

..... i have to say after watching the first game of the yr i thought we would be top 4 contenders !

For the first few rounds the team was on auto pilot with the Bennet software running the show. One it became evident that a new strategy needed to be devised and implemented, that is when the wheels fell off big time, and we simply never recovered.

Price's stoic demeanour is now clearly to his determent. His inability to adapt to changing circumstance bares testimony to his coaching credential deficits. He simply know's not, of any other way, and thus buries his head further in the sand. His major obstacle in using this strategy, is that his detractors are growing in number, becoming more vocal, and stating to mount credible arguments why his tenure should be cut short.

I dearly wish this were not the case and would love to be eating lashings of humble pie this time next season, assuming I am still around LOL.

Fire

Not the worst season, just frustrating. BBC is probably knocking the top off it and has all types of nasty c**k burns on his johnson. He'd be loving this shit.

We won the minor premiership that year so I think the team adjusted well to the four tackle rule.

The reasons where numerous, but I don't think it was because of the limited tackles or the other furthy of Cronulla being brought in to 'stop us' (I mean, how can a team that came last or near last for the next five years have an immediate affect?).

Old timer touched on it, it was mostly because other teams in the competition had caught up with us. Souths in particular had an awesome pack, as well as being young and mobile. They were on the rise while we were on the decline. In addition, Saints were losing players and not replacing them fast enough. For example, Kevin Ryan reportedly wanted to stay but was more-or-less shown the door.

Nevertheless, we still had a very good team. The 50s-60s with the likes of Kearney, Provan etc created a legacy that lasted into the 70s. Not to mention the foundation of a passionate supporter base that is still here in the 21st Century.

Cagey Mac

We won the minor premiership that year so I think the team adjusted well to the four tackle rule.

The reasons where numerous, but I don't think it was because of the limited tackles or the other furthy of Cronulla being brought in to 'stop us' (I mean, how can a team that came last or near last for the next five years have an immediate affect?).

Old timer touched on it, it was mostly because other teams in the competition had caught up with us. Souths in particular had an awesome pack, as well as being young and mobile. They were on the rise while we were on the decline. In addition, Saints were losing players and not replacing them fast enough. For example, Kevin Ryan reportedly wanted to stay but was more-or-less shown the door.

Nevertheless, we still had a very good team. The 50s-60s with the likes of Kearney, Provan etc created a legacy that lasted into the 70s. Not to mention the foundation of a passionate supporter base that is still here in the 21st Century.
It was damned Kandos that tipped the scale IMO. I sat on half way at the prelim, right on the fence, heartbreaking. Then again being within spitting distance of Ainscough at the '99 GF wasn't exactly one of my finest moments either. Still 2012, the year that my dad who took me to my first game would turn 100 is shaping up as the Annus Horribilis of this millenium.

Cagey Mac

For the first few rounds the team was on auto pilot with the Bennet software running the show. One it became evident that a new strategy needed to be devised and implemented, that is when the wheels fell off big time, and we simply never recovered.

Price's stoic demeanour is now clearly to his determent. His inability to adapt to changing circumstance bares testimony to his coaching credential deficits. He simply know's not, of any other way, and thus buries his head further in the sand. His major obstacle in using this strategy, is that his detractors are growing in number, becoming more vocal, and stating to mount credible arguments why his tenure should be cut short.

I dearly wish this were not the case and would love to be eating lashings of humble pie this time next season, assuming I am still around LOL.
You hang in there old mate
No clocking off until the next 11 in a row!