Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragons poised to make a play for Bellamy

WITH every passing day they don't hear from him, the Dragons are realising what most of us already assume - that Craig Bellamy won't be leaving the Melbourne Storm.

It looms as euphoric news for the Storm that is crucial to the fickle existence of the premiers on the rugby league frontier of Melbourne. The bravest decision of all would have been for the 53-year-old coach to join St George Illawarra. In other words, to do as his former Broncos mentor Wayne Bennett did before him, and what Des Hasler did at the Bulldogs last season.

But when you consider what Bellamy would be leaving, it was a no-brainer. Throughout summer, the whispers had grown into a roar that Bellamy would be headed to St George Illawarra.

Chief executive Peter Doust had him in his sights well before the end of last season when the Storm clinched the premiership from Hasler's upstart Canterbury side.

Those close to the Dragons and even those who reckon they are close to Bellamy were adamant "the deal was done". Yeah, good. This is rugby league. Even when it's done it's not done. Then, about a fortnight ago, the coaching merry-go-round swung around. The so-called done deal was off and he would apparently finish his career in Melbourne. An announcement is likely to be made in the next few weeks, although negotiations between the Storm and Bellamy's manager John Fordham continued at the weekend and that suggests it's not done. Not done-done.

Bellamy made it clear in an interview with The Daily Telegraph in grand final week that testing his coaching at another club - as was the case for Bennett when he joined the Dragons - would have no bearing on his decision. Refreshingly, he said money meant as much as anything, for this would be his last deal ahead of retirement.

Storm owner News Ltd - publisher of this newspaper - has ostensibly thrown the bank at him to retain him for another five years, knowing full well the club needs the best coach in the business. Doubtless, though, Bellamy would have considered it a significant risk to walk away from the best-resourced club in the NRL.

At about $12 million a year, the Storm spend more on their football than anyone else.
The Bulldogs spend about $11.2 million - an assurance Hasler squeezed out of them before his shock defection to Belmore from Manly.

In the era of strictly enforced and complicated salary caps, the areas of high performance and its platoons of specialist coaches are becoming the difference between the contenders and also-rans. To that end, the cashed-up Warriors apparently made such assurances to Bellamy, before he rejected their offer last year.

So what about the Dragons?

It is believed they spend about $9.5 million on football expenditure, but with two ailing leagues clubs at Kogarah and Wollongong it is uncertain how deep their pockets will be in the future. They might've had enough to secure Bellamy, but would they have had enough to resource him? And that's a shame, in soap opera terms.

Craig Bellamy has nothing to prove. In the past two seasons, he took a side and club ravaged by the salary cap scandal and somehow won the grand final. He is the best coach in the competition ... but how will he be considered when it is all over should he stay down in Melbourne?

He won the competition last year with a spare-parts team of unwanted misfits and footballers other clubs considered best suited to country footy. But it was won with possibly the best the hooker of all time in Cameron Smith, a player who could possibly become the best fullback of all time in Billy Slater, and the best halfback going around in Cooper Cronk.

How many more can he win? And how long before the Dragons will challenge for another?

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...-melbourne-storm/story-e6frexnr-1226559523122

art-B16-20Bellamy-20ld-620x349.jpg

"Suffice to say that it is an important decision for both parties and we would like Craig [Bellamy] to be the coach" ... Storm chief executive Ron Gauci. Photo: Getty Images

AN INTERNATIONAL consortium has expressed an interest in buying the Melbourne Storm from News Ltd, but on one condition - that coach Craig Bellamy remains in charge of the premiers.

In yet another twist to the saga over Bellamy's future, Fairfax Media has been told the consortium - believed to be headed by an investor from Britain - is exploring the possibility of buying the Storm, but will not table an offer unless Bellamy re-signs.
Bellamy, who has taken Melbourne to five grand finals since 2006, comes off contract at the end of this season and is understood to be considering a massive offer from St George Illawarra. The Warriors also made an audacious bid for his services at the end of last season before appointing former Canberra and Penrith coach Matthew Elliott after realising Bellamy would not move to New Zealand.

However, the Dragons job appears to have more appeal as it could be weeks before Bellamy makes a decision. It understood that Bellamy is aware of the consortium's interest in buying the Storm and their insistence that he be the coach.

After handing control of the game to the newly formed ARL Commission last February, News Ltd said it would look to sell out of the Storm and the media company, which also owns the Brisbane Broncos, is understood to have received several approaches.
None were obviously considered suitable, but with Melbourne having overcome the 2010 salary cap scandal to win last year's premiership, the timing is unlikely to get much better for a sale.

As a condition of their departure from the game, News Ltd negotiated a six-year funding package totalling $26.5 million to help offset any losses incurred by the Storm.
Any buyer would be entitled to the remaining $20 million over the next five years. In addition, each of the 16 NRL clubs will receive $7 million this year and more in coming seasons from the game's new $1.025 billion television deal. Storm chief executive Ron Gauci said the club would not be sold unless News Ltd was convinced its future was safe.
''We have said all along that when there is an appropriate buyer and it is the right time we would certainly look at it but our position hasn't changed,'' Gauci said. ''We would certainly consider any appropriate suitors but we want to make sure we protect the viability and the longevity of the club and it is an important decision that we need to make.

''When it is appropriate and we are engaged in the right conversation we will consider it but at this stage there isn't anything to tell.'' Asked about Bellamy's future, Gauci said: ''I am not going to comment on the negotiations with Craig suffice to say that it is an important decision for both parties and we would like Craig to be the coach.'' Bellamy's manager John Fordham said no time frame had been set for a decision to be made. ''It is still very much a work in progress and there is no timeline set. Still, we are working towards a decision in the near future,'' Fordham said.

Meanwhile, Bellamy will assist Indigenous All Stars coach Laurie Daley against the NRL All Stars in the match on February 9 at Suncorp Stadium. ''I think it is really good that he is doing that stuff,'' Gauci said.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...yeing-storm-20130122-2d5ar.html#ixzz2IiFVCp26

Gomarchin

It sounds like its time for all of us to move on...

But can't wait to hear what Doust has to say about the Bellamy situation!

redbreed

Recycled crap doesn't say anything new about his decision just two journo's with the same opinion as most of us

saints4ever

I think it's also safe to assume who one of the journos is that patrols this forum for scoops and inside goss. Hi Webby :D

Mr Red

It sounds like its time for all of us to move on...

But can't wait to hear what Doust has to say about the Bellamy situation!

Doust wont say anything... he still feels he doesnt owe the members and fans any insight into the club, and if he does talk its all cliche riddled stuff..
thats why he needs to move - he doesnt represent the club the way it should be.

Elias1983

Whoa?! Hang on, are people actually taking me seriously??? I was only joking. SORRY!!!

Hahahahahaha.

You bastard!

I fell big time for that one...

You sounded very convincing, should work for the telecrap mate...:D

Elias1983

Doust wont say anything... he still feels he doesnt owe the members and fans any insight into the club, and if he does talk its all cliche riddled stuff..
thats why he needs to move - he doesnt represent the club the way it should be.

Yeh he will, he will say it was conjecture and that was no offer made and that we are confident in the plan moving forward with Steve Price and then will sack him 3-4 months later.

jenninga

OK,seriously heard this yesterday and it is 3rd hand.
My mates mate(both Dragons) knows a bloke who knows Roy Masters quite well,Masters had lunch with Bellamy.Apparently Bellamy is coming to the Dragons.As we all know Bellamy's mum is not well and she lives this way.
Also Doust looking at chairmans position so new CEO is on the cards.
Look i heard this and like all of us am tired of all this crap ,will only get really excited if Bellamy announces it himself

MattYg1

I loved the bit about taking a team "ravaged by the salary cap scandal and somehow won the grand final..."

Somehow... somehow... I wonder how they achieved that... hmmm

I dont really rate Bellamy all that much to be honest

Mr Red

Yeh he will, he will say it was conjecture and that was no offer made and that we are confident in the plan moving forward with Steve Price and then will sack him 3-4 months later.

hahah.. yeah... he will roll out the "no offer made, no discussions were had" comment...

My mates mate(both Dragons) knows a bloke who knows Roy Masters quite well,Masters had lunch with Bellamy.Apparently Bellamy is coming to the Dragons.As we all know Bellamy's mum is not well and she lives this way.
Look i heard this and like all of us am tired of all this crap ,will only get really excited if Bellamy announces it himself
Interesting, even though it is third hand regarding Bellamy, it is common knowledge that the current chairman Warren Lockwood wants to retire this year, although when I don't know. So it appears there may be some changing of the guard soon.

Old_Timer

Yes the daily Dragons soap opera drags on (excuse the pun). Our club was never like this. What have we become?

Elias1983

Yes the daily Dragons soap opera drags on (excuse the pun). Our club was never like this. What have we become?

Mate all we are doing is trying to sign one of the biggest coaches in the game, yes it's dragging on but would you want to pull out because he hasn't yet confirmed his decision?

And we are here discussing it (ad nauseum i'll admit) but I don't think the club has done anything in this situation to embarrass itself. If anything I think Doust has kept appropriately quiet, if he says anything it will mocked to no-end by some and totallly misconstrued by others.

I believe Jenninga did receive this information and others have heard something similar however, unless Masters comes out and confirms he was told this or Bellamy/Doust makes the annouoncement, we will never know.

The bit about Doust is interesting however, first he would have to win the confidence of the board and I imagine members. Maybe a member of the board would be appropriate. Move him out without losing face.

jenninga

I believe Jenninga did receive this information and others have heard something similar however, unless Masters comes out and confirms he was told this or Bellamy/Doust makes the annouoncement, we will never know.

The bit about Doust is interesting however, first he would have to win the confidence of the board and I imagine members. Maybe a member of the board would be appropriate. Move him out without losing face.
I was relaying what i had heard,you only have to read both the Tele and the Herald and we will get conflicting stuff by journos who know nothing as yet.
We will keep hearing rumours until the actual press conference.

jenninga

Mate all we are doing is trying to sign one of the biggest coaches in the game, yes it's dragging on but would you want to pull out because he hasn't yet confirmed his decision?

And we are here discussing it (ad nauseum i'll admit) but I don't think the club has done anything in this situation to embarrass itself. If anything I think Doust has kept appropriately quiet, if he says anything it will mocked to no-end by some and totallly misconstrued by others.
Well said.

Minh

Bellamy needs a new challenge to cement his legacy as a great coach. If he stays at Melbourne he will always be remembered for the scandalous past.