Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

POPEYE

Bulldogs/Manly may not be the foregone conclusion it should be. More adversities yet still no sign of surrender from Hasler is the difference between the Dogs and other teams that don't hesitate to dive into excuses. Betting against the Dogs, and Manly for that matter, is a folly best left to the one eyed and this game should still be regarded as one not to miss.

New Queensland pin up team the Titans will take this opportunity to get one back, that's if the Broncos have been reading the script. The usual local derby, big/small brother pantomime may even things up but if Carty's mob get beaten in this one it will be tantamount to a wheel falling off. I've no f**king idea what Griffin can do with the halves, looks like struggling in quicksand to me.

The statements Sticky has made shows he has no idea, he's basically just reiterated what Kearney said but you can bet your bottom dollar he won't face the same repercussions, the Eels should bottle stupidity and sell it at home games. Cronulla should wipe the floor with this mob but if they don't it will just be a misdemeanor compared to their other problems. Townsend will be the key.

The interest in the Townsville game is will Cleary's search for a halves combination result in the Panthers joining GC, Newcastle and Roosters as teams not to miss for the Norms, and will the Cowboys ditch the pipes and slippers brought out after signing their 'team for a dynasty'. Could be a bookmark game for both sides in the round that usually begins the serious part of the season.

Newcastle can't lose against the Dragons, Price will have to buy a lottery ticket if they do. Still, how much they get beaten by is the real interest in this one and was the team just shamed into last game's result or did they think they haven't embarrassed the coach enough. Losing tough is closer to winning than losing with a tail between the legs.

Hard to imagine what a win against Souths would do for Elliott, NZ and League in general. Tooth Fairy, Easter Bunny, Santa and all sorts of imaginary friends would have a case before a jury. Wouldn't hurt for the Rabbitohs to have a loss surely, especially across the ditch where it would be excusable. I want to see Godinet on the field for 80 minutes and I don't give a shit who makes way, the last thing a dummy spitting team needs is indecision.

Is it cold enough yet in Canberra to put the Roosters off their game, that's the only thing that will stop them, unless Furner replaces the broken cog. If the Eels should bottle stupidity then the Raiders should bottle stubbornness, I feel like getting on the roof to watch this one.

Melbourne/Wests at AAMI says it all. Storm don't look anywhere near as comfortable as last year and the Tigers are experimenting but it would have to be by far the biigest turnup for the bookies if the plane home is to run out of grog.

Hard to imagine what a win against Souths would do for Elliott, NZ and League in general. Tooth Fairy, Easter Bunny, Santa and all sorts of imaginary friends would have a case before a jury. Wouldn't hurt for the Rabbitohs to have a loss surely, especially across the ditch where it would be excusable. I want to see Godinet on the field for 80 minutes and I don't give a shit who makes way, the last thing a dummy spitting team needs is indecision.

A Souths loss would not surprise me.

NZ Warriors have been a bit of a bogey side for Souths.

Since 2002, NZ and Souths played 19 times: NZ 15, Souths 4.

Last 9 games (I have used a cut off of 2007 - since Mr Crowe bought the club and playing roster changed for the better) the result has been 5/4 in favour of NZ but all matches are generally a Souths wipeout or a 2-8 pt margin win for Souths:

2012 NZ
2011 NZ / NZ
2010 NZ / SSFC
2009 SSFC
2008 SSFC / SSFC
2007 NZ

After the 'big' win OR the 'emotional' win OR the 'coming of age' win [depends on who you ask, or who you read] over the Bulldogs AND a Warriors win over Cowboys, I really believe this game could go either way. I'd like to think if Souths are 'serious' in 2013, they win this match. But over the ditch, a perception it is a 'come down' match against a possible 'light weight' team, and if the bunnies don't turn up both physically and mentally prepared, I'm sure the Warriors will snatch it. I don't doubt Maguire has everything in order on and off the field, so here's hoping Bunnies can chalk up win number 5 for the season. If not, I hope it's hard fought win to the Vodafone mob.

Further more, Souths play their fourth away game in FIVE games (albeit, three of those were at the SFS and Penrith and ANZ) so it would be nice to get another one on the road, so to speak.

All said and done, should be an interesting game to watch whilst nestling a schooner of something amber. With daylight saving finishing on Sat/Sun night, am still trying to figure out what bloody time the kick off is.

Finally, SBW. OMG - Isn't it time people just got on with the footy? He's looking like a star and I really hope he stays in our game. Sad to think there's so much malice, but then again, I throw poison darts at Australian Test cricketers, who am I to judge those spitting bile at SBW.

bellyache

Great interview for all those doubting Thomas's who thought the SBW we were going to get was the one of 5 years ago. Happy to admit my concerns about his longevity seem out the window and I concede the inferences he makes to this year being a relearning period may mean he will be with your mob next year.
Would be a f**king downright shame if this bloke, no longer a boy, was to return to Union.
Sounds like Cleary listened to our call for Blake Lazurus to get a crack at the #7 for Panthers..

POPEYE

I hope everyone realises we are about to undergo a season jam packed with Ricky Stuart overtures, I liked it better when he just coached Origin and we knew when to leave the room for a piss. He doesn't even realise that the players he has need pressure from a different direction, impossible if Parramatta refuse to search the country for youngsters other teams have missed. It's just plain old fashioned laziness that find the Eels where they are.

Hard to forget I know, the number of players this mob have let slip through their fingers, not to mention a few real coaches asked to make silk purses from sows' ears. Other clubs aren't afraid to concentrate on the unproven. Robertson or Maguire would have been perfect for the Eels and even Kearney with the 'new' 5 year plan available to him, IF the lazy merkin of a joint got off it's arse and dug up something for them to work with.

It's one thing to claim Bellamy, who never had the tickets on him that Ricky has, is a freak but he still knew he had to succeed with unproven players. I have no doubt he wouldn't have persevered with players who didn't meet the criteria, Beau Champion a perfect example. I'm sure Parra fans wouldn't care if their team was stacked with unknowns that showed potential and went down fighting. Of course that would require a promising supercoach and a few hardheads to help him.

POPEYE

Nothing else to do so watched a replay of Souths/CB, and with hindsight I noticed the player who must be the best value for money signing so far this season. Bryson Goodwin was probably the reason Inu had his brainsnap with Inglis, this bloke locked the Rabbitohs' left side as tight as a drum. He terrorised Inu and Perrett and finished all over anyone who ran at him, the reason Inu became frustrated.

Goodwin is a better player than Champion and if he remains healthy will be a steal for Maguire who by his early training as a coach will recognise the fact. Great to see a bloke come through adversity like this, much more satisfying than poaching a player and hoping he lives up to expectations.

POPEYE

G'day old man.

Well, well, well. G'day mate. M'Lady (BKT) said I might get a visit. Sorry to hear the other site went pear shaped but you'll find plenty to do here. If you've read some of my ramblings you'd be forgiven for thinking I'm starting on Stuart where I left off on Brian Smith but enough is enough, no more time wasting for me, especially now you're here to reprimand.

Bandwagon

Well, well, well. G'day mate. M'Lady (BKT) said I might get a visit. Sorry to hear the other site went pear shaped but you'll find plenty to do here. If you've read some of my ramblings you'd be forgiven for thinking I'm starting on Stuart where I left off on Brian Smith but enough is enough, no more time wasting for me, especially now you're here to reprimand.

Is reprimand a verb on my part or yours in this instance?

POPEYE

Is reprimand a verb on my part or yours in this instance?

I'm the one that clearly needs reprimanding, seriously in danger of becoming nauseating but you must remember I was once a one eyed fan when Gibson was the man, hate to see what he started going to waste. You're avatar reflects your mood, at least things can't get any worse so here's to a blue and gold resurgence

POPEYE

Seems Maguire is garnering a lot of attention both with players and media so it won't be long before the doomsayers/worshippers approach the fence. One side will claim he is an unproven novelty enhanced by expensive players and the other will tout he is the future protagonist for Origin. One thing for sure, he is determined to fast track what his mentor Bellamy has achieved and according to the players it's not for the faint hearted.

I have fingers crossed that once he establishes the culture he wants we will see Souths the desired destination for promising youngsters who want to be one club players. Maguire's only danger, albeit slight, is that he could step on the wrong toes, a circumstance avoided if by nurturing and not poaching he ensures his position in the joint is irreproachable.

The Roosters and Panthers may have also found saviours along the same lines with coaches who have a grand plan even if they aren't as fiesty as Maguire. Nothing better than the prospect of a settled club turning youngsters into players worthy of admiration. Speaking of which, Maguire would be the one to ask if Adam Reynolds is ready for Origin, I wouldn't be surprised if like most of us he said 'not yet'.

POPEYE

Something amazed me in the Seagles/Dogs game but it slipped my mind. Klein is the best referee. Lyon is far and away the best centre in the game on tackling alone. Gulavao is a better player than Tony Williams. Barba will never play Origin because he can't tackle. I already knew all that . . . ah, that's it, I actually liked watching Matai play.

bellyache

Something amazed me in the Seagles/Dogs game but it slipped my mind. Klein is the best referee. Lyon is far and away the best centre in the game on tackling alone. Gulavao is a better player than Tony Williams. Barba will never play Origin because he can't tackle. I already knew all that . . . ah, that's it, I actually liked watching Matai play.
You are learning, Slowly..... your only oversight is Lyon about 2 years in the past... dogs are rubbish, doesn't say much for $ouffs.. I predicted Bronco's Eels Warriors upsets???? Lets see... ay! Watch anasta..:lol::lol::lol:

POPEYE

Pritchard may look and talk like a terrorist but without ammunition he didn't frighten the Seagles, maybe when the other ugly sister comes back Cinderella will score more tries than she lets in. Speaking of Ben, every time someone brushes him off lately he feigns injury, watching too much Matai maybe. With both uglies on deck and the return of the pommie stepmother to bite their heads off I'm sure the Dogs will once again rattle the kingdom . . . provided that forlorn look on Barba's face doesn't give way to impotency again.

Wish I had bellyache's crystal ball, I would have known one of the Titan wheels on the steer was going to fall off before the contest started, although I did mention something about losing a wheel in a pre match summary. Shades of Dragons/Sharks where big brother had to win or suffer ignominious repercussions and like the Dragons it was good to see a resurgence in another of the 16.

Absolute f**king shame about Kelly who can't take a trick, hopefully the bloke and the team can hold their head above water until the tide turns once again. Interest now with the popularity of big brothers stepping up will be can they stay in the house. Price will know on Sunday and Griffin will have to slay another Qld usurper on Friday next.

My drinking partner bellyache and I don't really have crystal balls, bottom of a longneck is thick enough for us. He falls in love with anyone who plays for the Roosters and dismisses their opposition through blind obedience, comparing Jennings to Lyon but one example. It won't be a revelation if Souths go down to the Warriors but it will be my shout if the Eels get up.

POPEYE

Just came home from watching an U/15's team I haven't seen play before go down by 6 to a shit hot side. A bloke in the team I was interested in, the #6, was a wonderful player, made many metres, tackled front rowers singlehandedly, took high balls, ran down wingers to prevent tries and he must be about 55 kilos ringing wet and built like a wire rope.

When I say singlehandedly I mean just that, his right arm withered to half the size of his left and used only for holding the ball, when this bloke grabbed anyone with his good hand they were going nowhere. If this is not what Rugby League is about nothing is.

bellyache

Just came home from watching an U/15's team I haven't seen play before go down by 6 to a shit hot side. A bloke in the team I was interested in, the #6, was a wonderful player, made many metres, tackled front rowers singlehandedly, took high balls, ran down wingers to prevent tries and he must be about 55 kilos ringing wet and built like a wire rope.

When I say singlehandedly I mean just that, his right arm withered to half the size of his left and used only for holding the ball, when this bloke grabbed anyone with his good hand they were going nowhere. If this is not what Rugby League is about nothing is.
Well I have 2 from 3 upsets this week... Donkeys and eels so far, Warriors are the 3rd. The # 6 wire rope you speak of, is all things rugby league and I'm a proud coach....:D The women love him..

POPEYE

That's why I let you marry my daughter, nothing like having a f**king genius in the family. Wonder if Waterhouse factors in 'desperation in front of a home crowd' when laying the odds . . . course not, he and the rest of the vultures don't have to be that smart. If the Dogs weren't strays and had a real home they may have got up also and still to come we have the Dragons, Warriors and Raiders at home, bellyache won't be crowing if the latter completes a miracle weekend.

If that's not enough, the mob that I have a couple of jerseys representing were beaten by the rabble they're playing Monday night at the same venue last year. Where are you smart arse son-in-law, let me know if I can rest easy.

The Eels should have put a lot more points on considering possession but a lack of brain power in the opposition 20 was an anchor, still ol' mate Bandwagon can change his avatar from 'shit' to 'fart' for the time being. Even my feeble mind realised the Cowboys had made a mistake with their previous #7 and a change to Lui was the catalyst for a resurgence. Of course this means that Penrith will flog the Knights at home next week . . . hang on, that can't be right if the Dragons upset Newcastle today. F**k it, I give up

Bandwagon

One win on emotion won't cut the mustard, It'll take a bit more than that for me to change up to cutting the cheese.

Besides, I'm kinda growing attached to my steaming pile, it has a nice symmetry about it. For now.