Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ricky Stuart quits Parramatta Eels for Canberra Raiders job

This is what it has come to, Parramatta fans: the bitter feud between Denis Fitzgerald and Roy Spagnolo, neither of whom holds any official position at the Eels, is likely to squeeze out coach Ricky Stuart.
For those of you who actually side with one of these merkins, I'd like to know how this is a good thing for the club.

C'mon, show some balls and show your face and then tell us how the meddling by either helps us, going forward.

eel01s

What I want to know is, why are any Officials within the club actually paying ANY attention to either Denis or Roy??? Neither can have any influence unless some drongo can't think for themselves and beomes a puppet.

Does Denis and Roy actually think Eels fans are going to thank them for any of this crap?

For those of you who actually side with one of these merkins, I'd like to know how this is a good thing for the club.

C'mon, show some balls and show your face and then tell us how the meddling by either helps us, going forward.

I totally agree buddy, but 1 thing that hasn't been mentioned is that one if them, like it or not is still directly involved with the club as a director for the PDRL the other is a back slapping horse whisperer...

So stagger, what do you think sticky will do? you think he is staying or going?

What I reckon is this:-

• The language from the players suggests that they fully expect that he's staying. So on this basis Sticky has said to Sharpie that he'll be forced to walk unless the bitching ceases. That's why the press about the factions has increased. Sharpie is trying to expose them all and make them STFU.
OR

• The press reckon he's going. Sticky's over it and is waiting until after Sunday's game to announce it. We are not standing in his way because we have benefited from his Chainsaw Al Dunlap approach to the club and his recruitment for 2014 and we'll drop on a coach like JT to move forward
OR

• Sticky wants out but Sharpie is prepared to fight his right to do so. I note that on the Game Plan last night Sharpie refused to concede that Sticky had an out clause on 3 occasions.

Delboy

Gronk, that is a very good summary, don't know what it means when we agree.

At the end of the day, just make the decision

• The language from the players suggests that they fully expect that he's staying. So on this basis Sticky has said to Sharpie that he'll be forced to walk unless the bitching ceases. That's why the press about the factions has increased. Sharpie is trying to expose them all and make them STFU.
OR

• The press reckon he's going. Sticky's over it and is waiting until after Sunday's game to announce it. We are not standing in his way because we have benefited from his Chainsaw Al Dunlap approach to the club and his recruitment for 2014 and we'll drop on a coach like JT to move forward
OR

• Sticky wants out but Sharpie is prepared to fight his right to do so. I note that on the Game Plan last night Sharpie refused to concede that Sticky had an out clause on 3 occasions.
I'm thinking the first option. I have heard he has told the playing group that he is staying so he is using the media to get what he wants from the board before committing to them.

emjaycee

OR

OR

OR
  • Sticky wants to stay but is finding it hard to reject a 7 year/7 million offer from Raiders so has asked the Club for an extension and is waiting for them to let him know after seasons end.

Craig Johnston

the 7m contract is BS but i think ricky is gone and i'm not impressed with the straight bat wait till end of season before i say either way tactic

Joshuatheeel

Just hope if Ricky does go, the board appoints a new coach very quickly. I don't think the club can afford to take its time looking for a new coach, as we have to many new players coming. any delay could put doubts in their mind about whether to come or not ( but then a contract is a contract). Plus all the media that will go with Ricky walking.

I'd still be flabbergasted if he leaves. I reckon he will stay and this tactic is all about his ego which is getting beyond belief.

For the good of the club it is probably best he stays even though I can't cop him.

Craig Johnston

any replacement would have to be experienced enough to deal with all the bs. maybe sheens.

anyone involved in past legacies (eg smith) need to stay well clear

I'd still be flabbergasted if he leaves. I reckon he will stay and this tactic is all about his ego which is getting beyond belief.

For the good of the club it is probably best he stays even though I can't cop him.

Mannah on the footy show never mentioned anything about Ricky saying he was staying when asked about the coaching situation last night

Joshuatheeel

I reckon that is the opinion of most. I actually thought we would improve this especially defensively but we have been worse then last year.

muznik

Mannah on the footy show never mentioned anything about Ricky saying he was staying when asked about the coaching situation last night

Tim's responses (he was asked a few times) didn't fill me with confidence.

It wasnt as much as what he said but the look he had when he did so.

He looked nervous and it was almost like he was scared to say the wrong thing. I think the players may be starting to have doubts even though Ricky has told them he will be here.