Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ranking the halfbacks

rabbitohs95

For a halfback this seems faiiiirly important :lol: So what youre saying is, he has no passing game and his game doesn't involve running... what exactly *does* his game involve?

I dunno, something that's been an integral part of a half's job, especially in the modern era.

KICKING! Something Pearce dreams he could do

Porkie

F%k there are some gumbies in here.

Now Reynolds can't pass either :lol::lol::lol:

The LU gurus have spoken.

rabbitohs95

Doesn't defence, speed, power and a brain count these days? When Reynolds gets these he might come close to Pearce, I doubt Reynolds will sprout longer legs and improve his IQ..

Last time i checked only thing Pearce has about him is speed, which i'll give credit to he has quite a bit. But the rest, eh can't agree.

F%k there are some gumbies in here.

Now Reynolds can't pass either :lol::lol::lol:

The LU gurus have spoken.

Now? Try the last 2 years... his line break assists says it all really... has he got one yet?

You're an imbecile. Reynolds has been playing to a game plan that doesn't include running. He has players around him to do that. He has a fine running game, but his job has been to kick and set up play. That will most likely change this year.

Myth Pearce is the worst halfback to ever play rep football. He is a choker and a joke at rep level. If it wasn't for cronyism, he would never have got a rep jersey and NSW might have been competitive for the past 6 years.

Reynolds will take Pearce's NSW spot next year and hold it for the next 10 years. He will also get Cronk's spot for the roos within two years.

Pretty funny that. Souths fans told us last year it would be in 2013 he would start running the ball. Now it's next year? :?

Tone83

I can't think of anyone noticably worse than Pearce. I'm not gonna come out and say he is the worst, but he's in the bottom tier with the other worst halfbacks. They're all much of a muchness. Just a pack of completely useless little knobs.

JT is still the best, if he counts. DCE is second, and no one else is close. Albert Kelly is promising to one day enter similar rarified air to these two, but can't think of anyone else even vaguely threatening.

brock0brien

I can't think of anyone noticably worse than Pearce. I'm not gonna come out and say he is the worst, but he's in the bottom tier with the other worst halfbacks. They're all much of a muchness. Just a pack of completely useless little knobs.

JT is still the best, if he counts. DCE is second, and no one else is close. Albert Kelly is promising to one day enter similar rarified air to these two, but can't think of anyone else even vaguely threatening.

Agreed with the Albert Kelly part. He has potential to be a fantastic player with his great support play, speed, good ball skills, solid defence and he is a definite X-Factor type of player. Shaun Johnson would obviously have to be up there as well as a potential super-star.

Porkie

Now? Try the last 2 years... his line break assists says it all really... has he got one yet?

He leads the NRL in try assists. Plenty of those eome from passes.

He has the best kicking game in the NRL. SOO tries come from building pressure. Reynolds can get repeat sets- that is his strength. A skill that Pearce has proven time and time again that he just doesn't possess.

This cr.ap about his passing game is just that. Reynolds passes hit the chest every time. Bullet like. He would also be one of the quickest halves in the game - certainly quicker than Pearce. Go look at the highlight reel for the U20's in 2010. He owned that comp with his blinding speed around the park.

have a close look at this highlight video - yes, there's plenty of kicks to set up tries, but look at how cleverly they are constructed. If you watch the entire clip you'll see some running passing tries of high quality.Have a loom at the try he scores from 70 metres out against the tigers -0 yeah, he's so slow :roll:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J6m0WzrNXEs

His defence for a half back is top shelf.

He is also the best goal kicker in the game. Flawless under pressure.

What Pearce is best at is bombing certain tries...and SOO series - year after year. Where's that gif someone posted earlier ? lol

If it wasn't for his old man's mates, Pearce would never be mentioned at SOO time. He is an average halfback who will make a better hooker one day.

He leads the NRL in try assists. Plenty of those eome from passes.

He has the best kicking game in the NRL. SOO tries come from building pressure. Reynolds can get repeat sets- that is his strength. A skill that Pearce has proven time and time again that he just doesn't possess.

This cr.ap about his passing game is just that. Reynolds passes hit the chest every time. Bullet like. He would also be one of the quickest halves in the game - certainly quicker than Pearce. Go look at the highlight reel for the U20's in 2010. He owned that comp with his blinding speed around the park.

have a close look at this highlight video - yes, there's plenty of kicks to set up tries, but look at how cleverly they are constructed. If you watch the entire clip you'll see some running passing tries of high quality.Have a loom at the try he scores from 70 metres out against the tigers -0 yeah, he's so slow :roll:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J6m0WzrNXEs

His defence for a half back is top shelf.

He is also the best goal kicker in the game. Flawless under pressure.

What Pearce is best at is bombing certain tries...and SOO series - year after year. Where's that gif someone posted earlier ? lol

If it wasn't for his old man's mates, Pearce would never be mentioned at SOO time. He is an average halfback who will make a better hooker one day.

Does anyone else find it hard to handle the incredible level of unintelligence at this forum sometimes?

I wish there was a site where people had to pass some sort of footy IQ test before they were allowed to join.

The Eagle

You think Peter Wallace is the 4th best halfback in the game?? ]:lol::lol::lol::lol:

I forgot Johnson

However Wallace being 5th is a blight on the game as it really shows the lack of talent pool in the halves at this moment

Wallace is akin to a 'game manager' in the NFL which is a backhanded compliment itself

Porkie

I wish there was a site where people had to pass some sort of footy IQ test before they were allowed to join.

If there was mate, you and 70% of the forum would never be allowed to post. I've forgotten more about league than the likes of you will probably ever learn.

From where I'm sitting, you have the footy IQ equivalent to a plant.

DCE
Cronk
Daylight
100% right.

on current form

1) Daly Cherry Evans - best halfback in the game
2) Mitchell Pearce - dominated the 2013 season......
Yet only SBW did anything good for the Chooks in the GF.

If NSW had any of their halfbacks between Tommy Raudonikis and Trent Barrett playing currently, Mitchell Pearce would be mentioned in the same discussions as Wallace and Walsh. He is the Roosters' Ben Hornby.

Reynolds is shit.

The only halfbacks worth mentioning are ones with a running game;
Pearce???

Behind Cronk and DCE I'd have Johnston - some of his cub work is awesome but hasnt taken it to rep level yet. The Reynolds boys are solid in very good sides, but not spectacular. Trent Hodginson looks as good as the Dogs Reynolds.

I have a lot of respect for Jeff Robson - especially his work with Cronulla. We undervalued him at Parra. If Sandow learned to tackle and got his head together he could be anything.

It looks like Brooks and Kelly will be the guns in 5 years time, alongside DCE and Johnston.