Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fifita

Card Shark

Mate they've been treating him like a silkworm to get him to stay.

Good mate, that's exactly how I hoped it would be.

Just watched his old interview with his brother on NRL preseason & he was as happy as a pig in shit.

I think he likes it where he is & it's gunna take a lot to woo him away.

If he goes, it's because the $ will be out of this world, which for him, is definetely feasible.

cb4

There are only 2 Sharks on a train and trial contract atm, EGJ and Junior Roqica.

SadShark

There are only 2 Sharks on a train and trial contract atm, EGJ and Junior Roqica.

You need to post more. Every time I see a cb4 post, I'm like a 5-year old that's got a new party invitation, to go eat chocolate crackles & 100's of 1000's on buttered bread.

It's just that f**king good. Much respect & good, wholesome, clean man love (no touching).........

Marchad

An NRL administrator once said the following to me:

The roosters, Souths and Brisbane play by different rules to the rest of them.
How can a team go from the bottom half of the ladder to winning the comp in the space of one year.

Maccas4177

You need to post more. Every time I see a cb4 post, I'm like a 5-year old that's got a new party invitation, to go eat chocolate crackles & 100's of 1000's on buttered bread.

It's just that f**king good. Much respect & good, wholesome, clean man love (no touching).........

Haha I second that!

The Rabbitohs have approached James Graham as a possible replacement for Sam Burgess

THE Rabbitohs’ search to find a replacement for Sam Burgess includes another tearaway English front rower – the Bulldogs’ James Graham.

The Sunday Telegraph can reveal Souths have lodged an expression of interest with Graham’s agent David Riollo.

It was originally thought the Rabbitohs were throwing every penny they had at the Sharks’ Kangaroo prop Andrew Fifita.

There is now a concern about getting into a bidding war with Nick Politis at the Roosters and the Wallabies.

Hence the move for Graham, whose contract is up at the end of the season.

The Rabbitohs would lose nothing if they could entice Graham to Redfern as the replacement for Burgess.

They are both similar in style with huge motors and tremendous ball skill.

Bulldogs boss Raelene Castle and coach Des Hasler have been in talks with the Englishman for a number of weeks.

They will meet again early this week and are desperate for him to stay.

The Bulldogs do have room to manoeuvre in the salary cap but are keen to spend it on a fullback.

They haven’t given up hope of snaring disgruntled Broncos star Josh Hoffman this year as Ben Barba’s replacement.

This season is a huge year in the NRL for quality front-rowers coming off contract.

Apart from Fifita and Graham, Penrith former State of Origin prop Tim Grant is available.

So too is big Dave Shillington at the Canberra Raiders and Sam McKendry at the Panthers.

It’s why Fifita and Graham are so keen to get their contracts sorted as soon as possible.

Fifita is desperate to stay at Cronulla, but only if their offer is competitive.

At this stage they are at least $200,000-a-season behind what others are offering, almost $1 million over a long term agreement.

The Sharks are struggling to match the other offers because skipper Paul Gallen, five-eighth Todd Carney and Test forward Luke Lewis are soaking up a large portion of the salary cap.

Like Graham, Fifita is looking to set himself up for life with a four-year deal at his next club.

There is also talk of St George-Illawarra becoming the latest bidder for the Origin prop.

http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/th...-for-sam-burgess/story-fndv36md-1226834670702

Madsharkie

It's huge money for one player... I love the way he plays, yet do we really want to soak up that much of the cap on him?
The more interviews with him that I read, the more likely it seems that he'll go. Just something about the things he says makes me think we're not in the running. To now hear that we're $200k short (if it's true), does a lot of explaining. Loyalty is a great attribute, and I have no doubt he is a loyal person, but no one could begrudge him leaving for an extra $200k per season.

Madsharkie

Seriously, how could the Roosters fit him under the cap? Are they losing any big names at the end of this season (anyone know)? I can understand the goons affording him (under the cap anyway - might not get his money, if they can't even pay rent...), but there's no bloody way the rorters could fit him!

They are losing SBW.

The Sharks are not $200k behind. They are $200k behind what Fifita has said he wants to leave the club. I reckon he only needs another $50k on top of our offer. Should just give him a couple of Gallen's third party deals. He's got about a dozen of them.

He's taking up $750k of the Roosters cap is he?

No but the cap is on the up again next year and they'll have a bit of third party in there as well. They'll probably ditch Mini and one or two others to make it happen.

They are in a good position cap wise. Probably will be until at least 2015 when some of their young guys start asking for upgrades.

Weaponhead

Fifita is our leading tryscorer and in a side with a poor attacking record he provides a lot of spark. Cap management is all about getting value. We have big money tied up in two older forwards who are proven performers but won't get any better and are starting to miss games. Is it good management to lose the best attacking prop in the game? Hard to say unless you know the cap position.