Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News Coronavirus and NRL

lockyno1

F1 can have their 1st race June 7 but RL needs to wait? Just needs to be under control. Not having infected people getting off cruises will help that

June is the highly optimistic one. It’s more likely July or August at best. Even at June 7...there isn’t 30 weeks left in the year as players aren’t playing in December

Reduce it to 15 weeks (play everyone once). You’d have done hope there. Shift the Origin to after the year. Remove the byes these can be the “bye” rounds now.

AJB1102

i suggest you go and read up on this thing before you comment on it because clearly you are failing to grasp the basic concepts here

I suggest you calm the f**k down and answer my question. Who's lives were put at risk - let alone who died - from NRL playing on? They gave a f**kload of people another week's pay.

No it will mean that selfish flogs who ignored the advice have already spread it far beyond control before the measures were taken. But good point, lets open everything up and kill more.

FFS there are some dumb merkins on here

Im saying after the measures are taken and given reasonable time to work. If the death rate explodes as you put it and doesn't decrease despite a lockdown that means the measures didn't work.

That's absolutely the worst thing you could do. The measures have to be much harder and now. We are potentially leaving all medical professionals as lambs to a slaughter, let alone anyone the elderly and those with health problems.

Opening everything up will leave hundreds of thousands dead and make it so much harder to recover from, emotionally and financially, not to mention destroying the countries international standing.

Again, i am referring to a hypothetical where we lock everything down and the infection rate doesn't change and in fact the death toll 'explodes', after a reasonable time of lock down of course.

big hit!

2020 is done folks. May as well take a hiatus from the forum. absolutely no sport will be played this winter.

the worry now is how will the competition look in 2021 because it certainly won't be the current 16 clubs.

franklin2323

I think you are dreaming of you think anything is under control by June.

No offence but this isn't just cruise ships and busy queues at Centrelink.

I am just going by the date other comps and leagues are using. They would using information given to them to come up with those dates

Knight76

There is only one thing the gov can do to stop Covid19 and that is to shut the country down for 6 weeks. Nobody goes anywhere, like NZ is doing. Let the existing cases resolve and not have near as many new infections.

Otherwise, nothing they are doing now is about stopping covid19, but "flattening the curve" as they say, which means they know they can't stop it, they are trying to lengthen the time it takes to get to the herd immunity level of 60% infected so as to not overload the health system.

How long it will take to get there is anyone's guess. I don't think anyone can even guess at when NRL will be back.

2020 is done folks. May as well take a hiatus from the forum. absolutely no sport will be played this winter.

the worry now is how will the competition look in 2021 because it certainly won't be the current 16 clubs.
The game is over for now, but...
LeagueUnlimited Team | March 23 2020 7:59PM

While rugby league takes an enforced break due to the Coronavirus pandemic, we're still here and we're gonna keep on keeping on as long as we can.

Yes, the NRL season was suspended today, along with previous announcements from the NSWRL, QRL and UK leagues, but LeagueUnlimited.com is soldiering on.

The first thing? Our forums are still here. They're the biggest around, and they're online 24/7. And there's more than just footy to talk about too.

As for the website, we're still going to be bringing you a bunch of content as the new normal evolves. Opinion pieces, analysis, news from around the NRL and its clubs, and of course rolling updates on the COVID-19 pandemic and what it means for the NRL, as it comes to hand.

For now - you can look back through several years of match reports here, check out the "Rugby League: That's The Way It Was" podcast here, and 22+ seasons of NRL results here.

And of course - you can follow us on Twitter right here.

At LU, we have a team of fantastic, passionate and committed live bloggers and writers and from time to time they'll be sharing their views on the game - including the current lockdown - so keep an eye out, right here, on LeagueUnlimited.com.

Most importantly - stay safe, stay healthy, and PLEASE listen to and follow government advice. We need to do everything we can to curb the spread of COVID-19. The sooner we do, the sooner the footy is back.

- Yours in rugby league
LeagueUnlimited.com

https://leagueunlimited.com/news/34525-the-game-is-over-for-now-but/

Smack

The game is over for now, but...
LeagueUnlimited Team | March 23 2020 7:59PM

While rugby league takes an enforced break due to the Coronavirus pandemic, we're still here and we're gonna keep on keeping on as long as we can.

Yes, the NRL season was suspended today, along with previous announcements from the NSWRL, QRL and UK leagues, but LeagueUnlimited.com is soldiering on.

The first thing? Our forums are still here. They're the biggest around, and they're online 24/7. And there's more than just footy to talk about too.

As for the website, we're still going to be bringing you a bunch of content as the new normal evolves. Opinion pieces, analysis, news from around the NRL and its clubs, and of course rolling updates on the COVID-19 pandemic and what it means for the NRL, as it comes to hand.

For now - you can look back through several years of match reports here, check out the "Rugby League: That's The Way It Was" podcast here, and 22+ seasons of NRL results here.

And of course - you can follow us on Twitter right here.

At LU, we have a team of fantastic, passionate and committed live bloggers and writers and from time to time they'll be sharing their views on the game - including the current lockdown - so keep an eye out, right here, on LeagueUnlimited.com.

Most importantly - stay safe, stay healthy, and PLEASE listen to and follow government advice. We need to do everything we can to curb the spread of COVID-19. The sooner we do, the sooner the footy is back.

- Yours in rugby league
LeagueUnlimited.com

https://leagueunlimited.com/news/34525-the-game-is-over-for-now-but/

and most importantly, the best match day threads on the internet

Just look at it as a cleansing of the game.

Finally we will be able to piss off the Clubs that have been a bad stain on the game.

There were 2 byes. 2 weeks off after GF. 6 week Kangaroo tour planned.

10 week postponed (Like AFL and lower grades are planning) gets it all in still
Your ability to not accept reality is stunningly impressive mate.

There was only one vacant weekend btw, not really sure how you'd use the rounds with byes in them to play any more games?

As others have pointed out even the afl have shortened their season. It would make sense for us to do the same, 15 rounds (everyone plays once) and into finals.

Thats IF we all restart. 10 weeks is a massive maybe.

There is only one thing the gov can do to stop Covid19 and that is to shut the country down for 6 weeks. Nobody goes anywhere, like NZ is doing. Let the existing cases resolve and not have near as many new infections.

Otherwise, nothing they are doing now is about stopping covid19, but "flattening the curve" as they say, which means they know they can't stop it, they are trying to lengthen the time it takes to get to the herd immunity level of 60% infected so as to not overload the health system.

How long it will take to get there is anyone's guess. I don't think anyone can even guess at when NRL will be back.

Agree with this although 6 weeks may be stretching it.

If people have an end date they are more likely to bite the bullet and knuckle down and obey the rules. You would probably see far less businesses fail and jobs lost in the long run too.

That's not to say that at 9AM the day after that you lift all restrictions either. It would be a staged approach, especially for things like border control.

franklin2323

Your ability to not accept reality is stunningly impressive mate.

There was only one vacant weekend btw, not really sure how you'd use the rounds with byes in them to play any more games?

As others have pointed out even the afl have shortened their season. It would make sense for us to do the same, 15 rounds (everyone plays once) and into finals.

Thats IF we all restart. 10 weeks is a massive maybe.

If there is no mid week origin. Those shortened weeks could be used as full weeks. The draw is going to have to be re done now anyway.

If AFL wanted to play a full season where would they play? There is this little thing called T20 World Cup in October using AFL venues.