Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

A bench of a half, a utility back/edge, an interchange hooker and a rookie forward would be the worst bench Melbourne has run out with in the history of their club
And the solution is to start one or more of these merkins instead? Bellamy has used 16 players in a grand final. He is unconvinced that you need to use all 17 players in a game.

Facebook Parramatta Eels pages are full of "Eels fans" losing their minds over the Eels signing David Fifita...

Just when I thought the world couldn't get any stupider, social media says, "Hold my beer!"

King-Gutho94

Here is one on last week.

A mate who supports Chooks told me this morning a family friend of his whose father in his 60s and a Parra fan turned off the tv the moment Walsh scored & the 20 seconds before it got overturned and went to bed.

Didn't know we had won until he turned the TV on Saturday morning.

Snoochies

Here is one on last week.

A mate who supports Chooks told me this morning a family friend of his whose father in his 60s and a Parra fan turned off the tv the moment Walsh scored & the 20 seconds before it got overturned and went to bed.

Didn't know we had won until he turned the TV on Saturday morning.
Geez thought you were going to say he died and never realized we won.

Facebook Parramatta Eels pages are full of "Eels fans" losing their minds over the Eels signing David Fifita...

Just when I thought the world couldn't get any stupider, social media says, "Hold my beer!"

Yeah dunno, TBH I don't watch much of him and probably would put his abilities just above Dave Taylor on a good day. Clearly he is waaay better than that, however he hasn't made the QLD side since 2023 (was also Dally M guy). 26 next year, so he is still ripe.

I know that it's a scurrilous silly rumour, however maybe if the Roosters have gone cold on him, we might be it ?

Surely he'll have to take a haircut on that $1m salary however. He played QLD cup this year FFS

Yeah dunno, TBH I don't watch much of him and probably would put his abilities just above Dave Taylor on a good day. Clearly he is waaay better than that, however he hasn't made the QLD side since 2023 (was also Dally M guy). 26 next year, so he is still ripe.

I know that it's a scurrilous silly rumour, however maybe if the Roosters have gone cold on him, we might be it ?

Surely he'll have to take a haircut on that $1m salary however. He played QLD cup this year FFS
At his best he is f**king awesome, but at $1M he would need to be at his best every week.

King-Gutho94

At his best he is f**king awesome, but at $1M he would need to be at his best every week.
He doesn't have it in him.

The thing with Fifita what do people actually want or rate highly enough to see value in him.

He is a small possession high impact player.

Scores tries and makes line breaks on a regular basis.

His never going to be the workhorse. That does the tough stuff in offence and defence.

The best person Fifita can study is Kikau.

Puts pressure on the kickers regularly and hold his own in defence with extra efforts.

It's probably taken a bit off his attacking game over the years but its made him a better all round player.

Timana

He doesn't have it in him.

The thing with Fifita what do people actually want or rate highly enough to see value in him.

He is a small possession high impact player.

Scores tries and makes line breaks on a regular basis.

His never going to be the workhorse. That does the tough stuff in offence and defence.

The best person Fifita can study is Kikau.

Puts pressure on the kickers regularly and hold his own in defence with extra efforts.

It's probably taken a bit off his attacking game over the years but its made him a better all round player.
Oh yeah, Kikau has improved his game out of site. I reckon his fitness too

thedux

Not to be that guy but Fifita and Kikau have averaged the same number of tackles per game for their careers, with Fifita having a better efficiency rate. This year is the outlier because he's playing lower mins or not at all due to Fermor's good form on the left edge.
I agree he has a tendency to look lazy at times, but not many have looked good under Hasler recently and that ridiculous contract didn't do him any favours regarding expectations.

Tiger5150

Not to be that guy but Fifita and Kikau have averaged the same number of tackles per game for their careers, with Fifita having a better efficiency rate. This year is the outlier because he's playing lower mins or not at all due to Fermor's good form on the left edge.
I agree he has a tendency to look lazy at times, but not many have looked good under Hasler recently and that ridiculous contract didn't do him any favours regarding expectations.
Watched him closely a couple of weeks ago at Leichhardt because of rumours that he and Benji are close (and they had a long chat after the game). He was invisible during the game and looks incredibly unfit. IMO the natual gifts that made him so unique and incredible in his early career are now acting against him and his mass and size are a massive hindrance now. He looks so bottom heavy and his legs are huge but not necessily in a good way.

If Fifita is going to resurect his career somewhere, it would take the greatest offseason ever somewhere.