Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

08 :: R21 MNF :: Knights 32 Eels 12 @ EnergyAustralia

Round 21 Result :: Knights v Eels

We are, once again, terrible. I wonder if we'll win another game with this stunned mullet in the coaches box...

Tipster

You can't blame the coach for this so far. Eels players have been shooting themselves in the foot with all these errors.

Mate, the coach is responsible for not making players accountable. Half these blokes would have been dropped weeks ago under anyone bar Hagan. He's also responsible for the utter lack of gameplan, or defensive patterns, for not being able to fire the guys up for a must win game....the players are playing like they don't care. They know they won;t be dropped, Tautai quite possibly had the worst wingers performance of the year last week. And he's not the only one. We have 3 small props and a bunch of similar backrowers, with players better suited to balance festering in reserves. We have better backs in reserves who can't get a run. The list goes on. His selections, his gameplans, his use of the interchange (I recall a match where we used all of them in 50 mins, with no injuries), his laid back attitude in the face of sh*t footy have got us to where we are today....

Jono078

Why didn't MacDougall get his 2nd try? I swear I didnt see McManus touch the ball at all :??

Very VERY dissapointing to concede that last try.

Very happy with the Knights also though, doing everything well bar a couple of last tackle options.

Mullen is having his best game, although made to look better by sh*t Eels defense.

BrisVegas

Mate, the coach is responsible for not making players accountable. Half these blokes would have been dropped weeks ago under anyone bar Hagan. He's also responsible for the utter lack of gameplan, or defensive patterns, for not being able to fire the guys up for a must win game....the players are playing like they don't care. They know they won;t be dropped, Tautai quite possibly had the worst wingers performance of the year last week. And he's not the only one. We have 3 small props and a bunch of similar backrowers, with players better suited to balance festering in reserves. We have better backs in reserves who can't get a run. The list goes on. His selections, his gameplans, his use of the interchange (I recall a match where we used all of them in 50 mins, with no injuries), his laid back attitude in the face of sh*t footy have got us to where we are today....

Did you hear him in the pre game interview? He was asked if this was a must win win game. His response was along the lines of "Not really, win or lose it doesn't really change what we have to do to make the 8".

I wonder if he realises that there is only another 5 rounds to go.

Big Pete

A fairly one sided half of footy.

The difference for mine is the two coaches IMO. Brian Smith has come up with a great game plan and has got his players running onto the ball thanks to some of the attacking structures he's implemented. The game plan has been simple yet effective from the Knights. Attack in the middle, spread to the fringes when neccesary.

Parra on the other hand seem to be all over the shop. Sub-par defence and flat attack has been the order of the day from the Eels. If they fix those two features up then we may have a game on our hands but if not the Knights will be far too good.

Did you hear him in the pre game interview? He was asked if this was a must win win game. His response was along the lines of "Not really, win or lose it doesn't really change what we have to do to make the 8".

I wonder if he realises that there is only another 5 rounds to go.

Exactly....we've had a bit of a running joke each week, that once we lose and the equation becomes impossible, they'll have an interview with Hages where he says "Not too much has changed from our end, the equation is pretty much the same as it has been for the last 6 weeks. We need to win 5 from our next four games to make the finals.......what? What are you all laughing at? Did Caylo do the bunny ears or something?"

He's just got no idea.

Tipster

Point taken. His laid back approach probably doesn't suit this group of players.

I'm ropable if what Raymond said is true...

For those that missed it, apparently Hages gave the boys a spray a few weeks back, and a "core group of young players" took exception to being criticised and had a lengthy whinge about it. IMO that just shows that Hages has lost his players respect as a coaching authority figure, and that our young blokes need a massive kick up the arse...

Tipster

So it looks like the Knights will be in the 8 after tonight. With 20min to go I can't see the Eels getting within 14 points of them now.