Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'10 | QF2 - 3 v 6 | Sat 6:30 | Tigers 15-19* Roosters | SFS

Qualifying Final Result: Tigers v Roosters

Yep. Which was stupid. They should have just taken the tackle and gone for another shot.

Must be frustrating as a tigers fan.

Yep, we needed Galloway or Gibbs to just fire up a big charge on the end of that passing. Would've had a shot from 30-40 out. Frustrating, but still a great game.

BDR

MoM was Carney, he had a good game but Ch 9 seems way too in love with him.

Anasta would have had mine

user_nat

BDR said:
MoM was Carney, he had a good game but Ch 9 seems way too in love with him.

Anasta would have had mine

was very important towards the comeback, but was missing for the first 60.

No idea who I would have given it to.

Perth Tiger

Pigs arse Carney was MOM plenty of players on both team deserved it more. But in saying that Chanel 9 doesn't know sh*t except what sell newspapers

MacDougall

I know I'm a Tigers fan but that had to be one of those games that a player from the losing team was Man of the Match.

Carney was good but Ayshford, Gibbs, Galloway and Payten were all better.

That was Ayshford's MOM award imo.

aussies1st

Can't believe the Tigers lost that one, well done Roosters thought they would be shot after the first 20 minutes of defence.

Ron's_Mate

As a Tigers fan that was pretty gut wrenching. Still they put on a great performance for most of the game. I don't care so much about losing when the team shows up & plays like that. I thought at the time it was foolish of Sheens to be putting on the young forwards in the last 10 minutes of reg time. Should have stuck with hardhead experience. Having said that the hit Dwyer put on Hargreaves was one of the best I've ever seen. Stupid blunder at the final scrum was a disaster. Also some bad options in golden point, esp that passage of play after the Farah kick & Perrett knocked it out. Those backs should have been steering well clear of the sideline. It'll be interesting to see how they go if the Tigers get another chance next week.

Red Bear

Brilliant game of footy, just why rugby league is the greatest of all, that 80 minutes was sensational. Wasnt high scoring but that was because of some brilliant defence, not poor attack. And the scrum against the feed! Anasta's field goal. Great game

If both sides play next week (looking likely) they could both get beaten i think, just because of what that game would've taken out of them. Possible Marshall injury as well isnt good for the tigpies, nor is gareth ellis report (although wasnt much in that from memory).

If both sides get through next week they'll give them comp a real shake.

Gee players dont do golden point well though, lose their minds.

As a Tigers fan that was pretty gut wrenching. Still they put on a great performance for most of the game. I don't care so much about losing when the team shows up & plays like that. I thought at the time it was foolish of Sheens to be putting on the young forwards in the last 10 minutes of reg time. Should have stuck with hardhead experience. Having said that the hit Dwyer put on Hargreaves was one of the best I've ever seen. Stupid blunder at the final scrum was a disaster. Also some bad options in golden point, esp that passage of play after the Farah kick & Perrett knocked it out. Those backs should have been steering well clear of the sideline. It'll be interesting to see how they go if the Tigers get another chance next week.

next week will have to be the lui/farah show i think,might be interresting to see if sheens gives another young gun a shot at half(siro maybe?)

Red Bear

My concern is the sides would be so buggered after that game they might struggle next week (ala Newcaslte and Manly in i think 06? Kennedy's last game). Still, great game of footy, Either sides makes it through to the prelims and they are in with a huge shot of winning the comp.

Brilliant game of footy, just why rugby league is the greatest of all, that 80 minutes was sensational. Wasnt high scoring but that was because of some brilliant defence, not poor attack. And the scrum against the feed! Anasta's field goal. Great game

If both sides play next week (looking likely) they could both get beaten i think, just because of what that game would've taken out of them. Possible Marshall injury as well isnt good for the tigpies, nor is gareth ellis report (although wasnt much in that from memory).

If both sides get through next week they'll give them comp a real shake.

Gee players dont do golden point well though, lose their minds.

the extra time wasnt that bad
the gibbs charge down was amazing i cant believe he recovered that ball as well

but yes i agree tigers or roosters probley wont go far after that match

Danish

What an amazing game!!!

Just walked in the front door and truly, that was the greatest finals game I have ever seen... obviously the result helped but f**k me it had everything.

The tigers lost it in my opinion when they snapped that field goal with 26 minutes to go. Never looked like scoring a point after that, and never really looked like they WANTED to score a point after that. Their "shut the game down / we've got this won" attitude came to a head in that scrum in the last 30 seconds too, they thought it was all over while our boys never gave up.

f**k I LOVE RUGBY LEAGUE!!! :D

My concern is the sides would be so buggered after that game they might struggle next week (ala Newcaslte and Manly in i think 06? Kennedy's last game). Still, great game of footy, Either sides makes it through to the prelims and they are in with a huge shot of winning the comp.

Agree...they are both match hardened and if it came down to a close grand final the I would back either of these teams.

To both the Tigers and Roosters...you have both shown that NRL is the best game in the world !!.:)

Danish

I know I'm a Tigers fan but that had to be one of those games that a player from the losing team was Man of the Match.

Carney was good but Ayshford, Gibbs, Galloway and Payten were all better.

That was Ayshford's MOM award imo.

where are your precious stats now sunshine?? :lol:

Rovelli

In 2006, I'm pretty sure Newcastle/Manly lost their finals matches the next week by a combined score of something like 79-6.

If the Dragons beat Manly, the Chooks would host Penrith on Saturday and the Tigers would go to Canberra on Friday.

I fancy the Roosters to get up, and the Tigers to struggle.

Perth Tiger

It is early in his career but the next match (assuming Benji is injured) could be the defining game of Lui's career

dice

Pigs arse Carney was MOM plenty of players on both team deserved it more. But in saying that Chanel 9 doesn't know sh*t except what sell newspapers

Carney single-handedly saved a try and setup roosters two tries to get them back in the game. If you were going to choose a MOM from the winning team it had to be Carney.

What an amazing game!!!

Just walked in the front door and truly, that was the greatest finals game I have ever seen... obviously the result helped but f**k me it had everything.

The tigers lost it in my opinion when they snapped that field goal with 26 minutes to go. Never looked like scoring a point after that, and never really looked like they WANTED to score a point after that. Their "shut the game down / we've got this won" attitude came to a head in that scrum in the last 30 seconds too, they thought it was all over while our boys never gave up.

f**k I LOVE RUGBY LEAGUE!!! :D

As a tigers fan I rank that game as the second best game I've ever watched, behind the 2006 Tri Nations final. Twas a cracker.