Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'11 | R13 | Sun | Raiders 24-40 Cowboys | Canberra #nrlcancow

R13: CAN v NQL

Walt Flanigan

LOL...canberra relinquish a 22-0 lead and their fans are somehow acceptable of that...and I thought our fans accepted mediocrity

If the circumstances were different and the full compliment were there for more than 30 mins I would be much more scathing in my remarks.

The last 10 minutes of the first half were unacceptable and though and simply took too long to adjust.

Would like to have seen what happened if the Cowboys lost Thurston and Bowen at the 30 minute mark of this match.

beave

Where did I blame the refs you utter nincompoop?

Here

'Its not easy grinding out a win when the opposition is allowed to be offside every single play and get away with it, but the boys tried hard and but for a few poor decisions at key moments, we probably would have won.'

skeepe

Here

'Its not easy grinding out a win when the opposition is allowed to be offside every single play and get away with it, but the boys tried hard and but for a few poor decisions at key moments, we probably would have won.'

The poor decisions I was referring to there were by our players. Apologies if that was unclear.

The Cowboys were offside at every tackle though. Every single one.

Yeah Bowen has played heaps of footy the last couple of years :roll:

That's right mate. The only time he leaves the field is for a season ending injury.

When his team needs him he doesn't walk off the field and refuse to play until his Origin coach sends him a text.

skeepe

If that was a 40/20 to Souths (watching on 9) the it makes the non-award of the 40/20 to McCrone even more disgraceful.

When you're playing the games best halfback, having injuries force you to have a winger a fullback, a 2nd rower at centre and a 5/8th on the wing in defense... 22 points just isnt going to be enough with 60 minutes to go...

If one of Dugan or Campo didnt go down, we probably win that game by 30... thats footy...

Desert Qlder

That was a very enjoyable win for so many reasons. Let's start with these few:

"There is no way Canberra will lose this game" and "North Queensland always play poorly against Canberra" or perhaps "the Cowboys are always terrible in those desperately cold conditions of the nations capital".

To Canberra supporters your ignorance is forgiven. You obviously have deep inabilities to analyse the form of football sides and I'm sure you won't be making the same mistake again the next time you confront North Queensland.

Let this be a lesson to supporters of other clubs in the competition. The North Queensland team you will be facing this year is a vastly different beast than the one you've faced in recent seasons. We don't give up and we can win games in any conditions and under any circumstances. Yes, our form may waver but we have a group of players that can score quick points and out-muscle any forward pack.

In regards to the game itself, I felt there was no doubt about the result from about the 25th minute mark. Once our forwards had a chance to assert themselves following a dire lack of possession, there was a flow to the Cowboys game that allowed us to score points freely against a tiring defense. Canberra became a rabble after losing some attacking potency and once Thurston starting exploiting the right side, attacking weapons like Tariq Sims asserted their influence.

The game Sims played speaks for itself. He has all the skills and a head on his shoulders to boot. Having played on the wing as a junior seems to have enhanced his game and now he's joined the forwards he can employ those skills working through the middle. But an important point to make in regard to T Sims is the influence of his brother. He, Ashton and Ashton's wife are all living together in Townsville. They're a family. One cannot underestimate the importance of these factors on the form of footy players. Ashton and Tariq are making each other play better football and North Queensland are a better club for it.

In the end, we should always have won this match if we are to continue to be a top four side. Canberra aren't going to challenge for the premiership and have far too many flaws in their game. Winning these types of away games are the games that top four sides win. Simple as that. We must now look to great improvements if we are to combat a devastating Manly side.

Ezy

We couldn't recover from the reshuffle following Dugan's injury. Harrison was clueless defending in the centres. The situation wasn't helped by Campo tearing his abductor while trying to hold out the Cowboys for their second try.

Thurston's game is completely and utterly dominant this year. Tariq is creaming his pants every week running off the chaos that Thurston creates in the defensive line. I would have been confident with our injuries against any other team, but we were always going to have trouble holding the Cowboys out today.

You couldn't call the performance from the Raiders spineless or gutless - we were a couple of dumb decisions away from winning it today (including the deluded choice to take a penalty goal).

Ezy

That was a very enjoyable win for so many reasons. Let's start with these few:

"There is no way Canberra will lose this game" and "North Queensland always play poorly against Canberra" or perhaps "the Cowboys are always terrible in those desperately cold conditions of the nations capital".

To Canberra supporters your ignorance is forgiven. You obviously have deep inabilities to analyse the form of football sides and I'm sure you won't be making the same mistake again the next time you confront North Queensland.

Let this be a lesson to supporters of other clubs in the competition. The North Queensland team you will be facing this year is a vastly different beast than the one you've faced in recent seasons. We don't give up and we can win games in any conditions and under any circumstances. Yes, our form may waver but we have a group of players that can score quick points and out-muscle any forward pack.

:lol: :lol: :lol: "Your ignorance is forgiven".

"Let this be a lesson...."

Tough words there. Face it, Cowboys had no answer until we lost our two best players, forcing a major reshuffle. Thurston may be dominant at this point in time, but he is not going to win a premiership on his own.

bileduct

Let this be a lesson to supporters of other clubs in the competition. The North Queensland team you will be facing this year...
The only time I even remember that North Queensland has a team in this competition is when we play you.

Struggling to try and think of any kind of achievement your team has had in their entire history.

Nope. Can't think of anything.