Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'11 | R3 | Fri | Titans 8-14 Broncos | Skilled

R3: GCO v BRI

2011teams-gco-main.jpg

1. William Zillman 2. Esi Tonga 3. Steve Michaels 4. Bodene Thompson 5. David Mead 6. Greg Bird 7. Scott Prince
8. Luke Bailey 9. Riley Brown 10. Matthew White 11. Anthony Laffranchi 12. Mark Minichiello 13. Ashley Harrison

Interchange: 14. Michael Henderson 15. Sam Tagaetese 16. Ryan James 17. Preston Campbell
Extended Bench: 18. Brad Meyers

2011teams-bri-alt.jpg

1. Josh Hoffman 2. Jharal Yow Yeh 3. Jack Reed 4. Justin Hodges 5. Gerard Beale 6. Darren Lockyer 7. Peter Wallace
8. Sam Thaiday 9. Andrew McCullough 10. Ben Hannant 11. Alex Glenn 12. Matt Gillett 13. Corey Parker

Interchange: 14. Ben Hunt 15. Ben Te'o 16. Josh McGuire 17. Shane Tronc

2011ref-pink.jpg

Referees
Gavin Badger and Brett Suttor
Touch Judges: Michael Wise and Ricky McFarlane
Video Referee: Russell Smith

Toyota Cup Round 3
Titans v Broncos @ Skilled, 5:15pm QLD time - teams here

QRL Intrust Super Cup Round 2
Redcliffe (BRI) v Easts (MEL) @ Dolphin Oval, Sat 2:00pm
Souths Logan (CAN) v Central (BRI) @ Webb Oval, Sat 4:00pm
Northern (NQL) v Wynnum Manly (BRI) @ Barlow Park, Sat 5:30pm
Burleigh (GCO) v Ipswich (GCO) @ Pizzey Park, Sat 6:30pm
Norths (BRI) v Tweed Heads (GCO) @ Bishop Park, Sun 3:00pm
teams here

2011r3-gcobri.jpg

Gold Coast Titans v Brisbane Broncos
Friday 25 March 2011, kickoff 8:30pm; Skilled Park
Referees: Gavin Badger and Brett Suttor; Touch Judges: Michael Wise and Ricky McFarlane; Video Referee: Russell Smith

Titans: 1. William Zillman 2. Esi Tonga 3. Steve Michaels 4. Bodene Thompson 5. David Mead 6. Greg Bird 7. Scott Prince 8. Luke Bailey 9. Riley Brown 10. Matthew White 11. Anthony Laffranchi 12. Mark Minichiello 13. Ashley Harrison
Interchange: 14. Michael Henderson 15. Sam Tagaetese 16. Ryan James 17. Preston Campbell 18. Brad Meyers

Broncos
: 1. Josh Hoffman 2. Jharal Yow Yeh 3. Jack Reed 4. Justin Hodges 5. Gerard Beale 6. Darren Lockyer 7. Peter Wallace 8. Sam Thaiday 9. Andrew McCullough 10. Ben Hannant 11. Alex Glenn 12. Matt Gillett 13. Corey Parker
Interchange: 14. Ben Hunt 15. Ben Te'o 16. Josh McGuire 17. Shane Tronc
NRL Teams: http://www.leagueunlimited.com/article.php?newsid=20633

Other grades:
Toyota Cup: http://www.leagueunlimited.com/article.php?newsid=20642
QRL: http://www.leagueunlimited.com/article.php?newsid=20643

Coaster

Anyone in the area, should come to the footy Friday night, will be a great game to watch, and you will have a ball.

I am afraid to say there is still a lot of tickets available for this game, so no matter if you are a Broncos or another club supporter, come out to the game.

PS if you are a Titans supporter and are in the area, you should not miss it even if on the death bed.

The 18th Man

Has the Titans bubble burst up Robina way? A poor looking side and the hoop-la has gone. Now we will see the real Gold Coast fans out in force now the novelty has worn off and the hard slog of supporting a struggling side welcomes locals in 2011.

Brisbane I have winning this. Gold Coast as I said as much during the week moved Bird to 6 which will pay off for them. Capewell was well out of his depth at NRL level. Bird supporting Prince in the halves is the right move. I think the Titans will get close, I still have Brisbane stealing it albeit against an improved Titans effort.

AlwaysGreen

Brisbane whipped The Mighty Green Machine so I can see them putting 90 on the Titans. Brisbane ftw.

Boofhead

Has the Titans bubble burst up Robina way? A poor looking side and the hoop-la has gone. Now we will see the real Gold Coast fans out in force now the novelty has worn off and the hard slog of supporting a struggling side welcomes locals in 2011.
At least we have a bubble to burst.

Titans will do fine - best looking side they have had since the final against the Warriors. Come on NSW journos, keep writeing the Titans off, we love it!

The 18th Man

At least we have a bubble to burst.

Titans will do fine - best looking side they have had since the final against the Warriors. Come on NSW journos, keep writeing the Titans off, we love it!

Wigan don't have a bubble to burst? :? Ohhh...I get it...a shot at the Central Coast Bears bid. No worries big fella. Come 2013, we will see you at Robina. As for Robina, the bandwagon fans have all but gone with the honeymoon now over with the locals. Get used to it - it's a question that will be asked if crowd figures drop in 2011 and the team continues to rack up losses. I don't want to deathride the club, I hope the Titans are a success in the NRL. History does give one some cause for concern though given the track record of the Gold Coast "faithful" right?

Boofhead

Ohhh...I get it...a shot at the Central Coast Bears bid. No worries big fella. Come 2013, we will see you at Robina.
Only way the CC will get a look into the NRL is if one of the Sydney clubs fold, may as well come to terms with it now to save disappointment or as you said 'get used to it'.

As for Robina, the bandwagon fans have all but gone with the honeymoon now over with the locals. Get used to it - it's a question that will be asked if crowd figures drop in 2011 and the team continues to rack up losses.
How did you come to that conclusion? Titans have increased ticketed membership from 5,441 in 2010 to 7,586 (current as of 10/03). It's hardly the best start to the season, but things will turn around with Friendy, Laffranchi, Minichiello, Meyers, Tonga back in the mix.

Coaster

No worries big fella. Come 2013, we will see you at Robina. As for Robina, the bandwagon fans have all but gone with the honeymoon now over with the locals.
Bandwagon? do you even have a wagon?
FFS getting people to join a club at the central coast means f*ck all, considering that is about the only club of that size in the area, and half of them are joining for pokies.
It is like the Sharks members here on the coast, doesnt mean we all support the sunburns

History does give one some cause for concern though given the track record of the Gold Coast "faithful" right?
Our history is a lot better then yours, considering we have been able to create 4 professional rugby league teams here, while you failed with one.

We are having a bad run.
A new club, fighting the other big code on our doorstep.
We still got 21k to our first game of the year, what did you get?

Last year our crowds where woefull for the first half of the season, but towards the end rivaled anyone in the league ( apart from Bris). How do our crowds stack up against last year?

What is our percentage of growth of memberships this year compared to last?

Our faithful will be there in full voice tomorrow night, cheering on our team, what will you be doing? Hope Florimo has a large couch.

The 18th Man

I am not getting in to a Central Coast Bears vs Gold Coast Titans debate - that's another thread and a F7's piece waiting to happen (please join a team if you haven't already, an awesome competition with loads of fun to be had). Way to go Gold Coast fans, you made a mountain out of a mole hill. Who was to know Titans fans were so precious? I hit a nerve huh?

Why did I ask has the bubble burst?

Well since the Gold Coast's fifth attempt at a franchise came back in to the competition in 2007, five of your top ten (or is that worst ten?) lowest home crowd figures were recorded in 2010. In actual fact, the top three spots were attributed to the 2010 season. I asked the question as 2011 looks to be a lean year for the Gold Coast Titans if "your as good as your last game" remains the benchmark, I am concerned the bubble may burst with the Gold Coast locals who have a track record for jumping off a sinking ship.

Are the Titans a sinking ship? No, far from it (we hope) - though there are indicators there that will have journo types asking the same questions of the club if the Titans have a lean season. Trust me, it will happen IF the Titans slide.

The good news is the Titans have the Broncos tonight and four of your highest ever home game crowd totals in your top ten (including two at Suncorp accredited as Titans home games) involve the Broncos. Let's hope it's a GATES CLOSED sell out.

Good luck. Again, see you in 2013 ;-)

p.s. No bandwagon, but we have a leagues club. Bandwagon will come later I am guessing.

Boofhead

I am not getting in to a Central Coast Bears vs Gold Coast Titans debate - that's another thread and a F7's piece waiting to happen (please join a team if you haven't already, an awesome competition with loads of fun to be had). Way to go Gold Coast fans, you made a mountain out of a mole hill. Who was to know Titans fans were so precious? I hit a nerve huh?

No nerve was hit, just putting in the banter that you put out. ;-)