Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'12 | R8 | Wed (ANZAC Day) | Dragons 28-24 Roosters | Allianz

Round 8 result: Dragons v Roosters

aussie7798

Nightingale and Weyman where our best

lol ennis for saying that players and refs should have a good relationship

would the new harriagan please f**k off show pony f**ker the best refs are the ones you dont notice

Dragon2010

Fail. Credit where credit is due. Credit to the roosters on a ripper of
A game certainly the better team for majority of the game. Mini and Pearce played well.

Cliffhanger

I think that penalty against the Dragons helped them lift and it ended up working in their favour. That said credit to them for opting to lift, it would have been easy to give up after that call.

Rodent

Cecchin got that incident 100% correct.
Assuming you are talking about the Vidot being driven back in goal incident, that was an incorrect decision by the ref.
From the laws of the game:

3.1.9 Where opponents, whilst making a tackle, attempt to push, pull or carry the
player in possession, the tackled player’s colleagues may lend their weight in order
to avoid losing ground. Immediately this happens, the referee should call "held".Nightingale lent his weight in order to avoid losing ground well before the Roosters pushed him back into the in goal. The ruling was clearly incorrect according to the laws of the game.

To Dragons fans. No matter how your team goes this season - even if it turns out to be a dud year. You'll always have that last five minutes of that brilliant game to think about. Congratulations. And congrats to our boys too. That was our best effort this year and there were some positives to build on. Great game.

Danish

Just got home.... Absolutely gutting way to lose. We defended so well all game then just fell to pieces the last 10 minutes up the middle. Not even laying a hand on the dragons for the 2nd last try was an abomination.

Still, can't blame anyone for the flukiest fluke that ever fluked with nightingale somehow just chops at that chip kick and manages to get it to go 40m then pull up on a dime in the in goal!

Very proud of how we played most of the game. Yeah there were some dud calls against us but nothing match deciding.

Funnily enough if Chechen doesn't penalise Soward for dissent we probably win.

Great game saints. Never gave up, even when it looked lost. Weyman was immense in those last 10 mins. Him and Pearce were equal man of match I thought (no idea what Hornby did to get the award)

Hutty1986

@Hutty...Well,Ive gotta call it as it is.

Your lot have had your day in the sun..have a nice 15-20 years before your lot see another GF win (thats if you dont f**k it up).

Um no, thats not anything remotely resembling 'calling it as it is,' its the fan of the probable wooden spooners, having a dig at two good sides playing out an Anzac Day classic.

Top game chooks, you have a great young side and there are good times ahead for you guys, eso if Pearce keeps lifting like today

Red Bear

f**k that was a great game to be at, the astmosphere when the Anasta scored that try was brilliant, the silence of Dragons fans very enjoyable and that last 5 minutes pretty disappointing, but still brilliant.

Been to every Anzac match since 05 (except for '10) and it's my highlight of the regular season by far. Cracker of a match yet again

STG-Dragon

Still, can't blame anyone for the flukiest fluke that ever fluked with nightingale somehow just chops at that chip kick and manages to get it to go 40m then pull up on a dime in the in goal

Yep but don't forget to mention the 3 flukley tries scored by the Roosters...

Danish

Yep but don't forget to mention the 3 flukley tries scored by the Roosters...

No need to get sooky mate. Both teams scored 2 lucky tries, but that 2nd kick from Nightingale.... That was some touched by god arse.

Take nothing away from the dragons for it, but Jesus that play proved things were just bouncing your way today

2010Dragons

Lucky win by my boys....but like they say "you make your own luck"

dominationnightingale.jpg

bmwpower

3 tries of 3 kicks, one of them lucky to be given, the 4th try, bounce of luck landed in anastas hands, and than a penalty in front to pretty much seal the game. But still the roosters were the better team. Bullshit if you ask me

Rodent

No need to get sooky mate. Both teams scored 2 lucky tries, but that 2nd kick from Nightingale.... That was some touched by god arse.

Take nothing away from the dragons for it, but Jesus that play proved things were just bouncing your way today
Fox Sports stats showed linebreaks 7-1 in favour of the dragons. 3 Rooster tries from kicks (1 gifted by Morris) and the only try run in was the Pearce fumble that landed on Anasta's chest as he ran into a hole near the line.
After Weyman scored, he got blatantly stripped on the kick return and the Roosters scored from the ensuing set of 6.
The penalty for dissent against Soward was after an obvious mistake from the ref in not calling held on Vidot when Nightingale was holding him up. More Roosters joined the tackle after this to push him in goal.
The rules are crystal clear on this.
Moving tackled player
2. (a) Where opponents do not make a tackle effective in the quickest possible manner but attempt to push, pull or
carry the player in possession, it is permissible for colleagues of the tackled player to lend their weight in order to
avoid losing ground. Immediately this happens the referee should call “Held”.
It's from section 11 http://www.arldevelopment.com.au/fi...ational__Laws_of_the_Game_2011_non_linked.pdf