Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'12 | Rivalry (#1) R19 | Mon | Roosters 22-24 Rabbitohs | Allianz

Round 19 result: Roosters v Rabbitohs

Lambretta

That is f**king stupid. There have been so many tries given that were exactly like that. Why are the rules different every f**king week?

There is consistency in the ruling. If the ball is grounded with the fingers on any part of the ball it is a try unless the team are the Roosters.

It's plain and simple and everyone knows where they stand. I don't have a problem with the ruling. The video ref has been consistent all season finding the reverse for the Roosters as they have for every other team. As long as they're consistent, I can't see the problem

redandgreenduck

There is consistency in the ruling. If the ball is grounded with the fingers on any part of the ball it is a try unless the team are the Roosters.

It's plain and simple and everyone knows where they stand. I don't have a problem with the ruling. The video ref has been consistent all season finding the reverse for the Roosters as they have for every other team. As long as they're consistent, I can't see the problem
aaaaaw...poor lambretta i agree:crazy:

bileduct

LOL.

Seriously, after Ashley Graham's try against us a few weeks ago and Leilua's tonight it seems that the video referee is only successfully used to compensate for referee laziness (checking onsides.. there are four referees on the field. wtf) but all the hard decisions just seem to involve the flip of a coin.

There was no separation. Under Bill Harrigan's interpretation of the grounding rule this would have been a try in any other game but this one.

Lambretta

Strange game that one.

In the first half Souths totally owned Easts, who in all honesty looked completely disinterested.

In the second half Souths were dumb but Easts actually played to their potential and became interested in the contest.

Then when the game was on the line Easts reverted to the silly young team they are and refused to play it smart. They need to smother the ball and put up a single defensive line. But they ran ragged and gave Souths room and Souths were good enough to take the opportunity.

Two things came from the game. One, the Roosters showed some team spirit and showed their supporters that they can win games. Two, Souths showed they can play badly and still win games. That's a quality that teams that get to the back end of the season need.

Yes it was painful to lose, but it was great to see some fighting spirit and tat more than anything gives me hope for the future.

GO THE ROOSTERS!

redandgreenduck

LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL@Souffs.

Mitch Pearce.

What a champion.

Stay at Easts for life mate. Your feet will never touch the ground again at the joint after tonight.

roosters go up to 11th

Great try, good win by the Roosters.

Giant killers 2 weeks in a row.

Suck it BM

What do Brisbane and Easts have in common? Both LOLd at souffs twice in 2012
Jizzed on your boyfriends hands a bit early boys.....bwhahahahahaha

S.S.T.I.D

I expected to come in here and maybe read a thread or two about the disgusting refereeing and how it nearly cost us the game. Instead, it apparently cost the Roosters. Unfathomable. We got 1 penalty all game against the most ill-disciplined team in the game, forward passes and knock ons completely missed. The bias on this site knows no bounds.

Lambretta

aaaaaw...poor lambretta i agree:crazy:

There have been too many incidences of the reverse of the usual being applied for it to be a coincidence.

Benefit of the doubt to the defending team has happened to us twice this season. Strange but true.

But as I said, I don't have an issue with it as long as they're consistent.

Still, it was a good game.

BranVan3000

LOL.

Seriously, after Ashley Graham's try against us a few weeks ago and Leilua's tonight it seems that the video referee is only successfully used to compensate for referee laziness (checking onsides.. there are four referees on the field. wtf) but all the hard decisions just seem to involve the flip of a coin.

There was no separation. Under Bill Harrigan's interpretation of the grounding rule this would have been a try in any other game but this one.

The only contact he had with the ball was the outside of his palm touching it as he lost it over the line. Absolutely ZERO control of the ball.

I expected to come in here and maybe read a thread or two about the disgusting refereeing and how it nearly cost us the game. Instead, it apparently cost the Roosters. Unfathomable. We got 1 penalty all game against the most ill-disciplined team in the game, forward passes and knock ons completely missed. The bias on this site knows no bounds.

Are we not allowed to win the odd penalty counT. We had an ugly but fair try disallowed and there were heaps of forward passes thrown by both teams including the lead to the second-last try. We're young and dumb and you guys are headed for the finals. The better team won, enjoy it. May this rivalry continue for another 104 years. Awesome game, now bring on the LOLs

bileduct

The only contact he had with the ball was the outside of his palm touching it as he lost it over the line. Absolutely ZERO control of the ball.
So, you're saying it was a try then.

Have you watched the NRL at all in the last few years? Having control of the ball whilst scoring tries was abandoned long ago. All that is required is the hand, arm or torso touching the ball while it is on the ground.

It was a try any day of the week under the current interpretation of the grounding rule.

Bumble

That incorrectly disallowed try to Leilua ended up having a massive impact on the result.

You're a f**king moron.

Anyway - Just got back from the game. Apart from Aloisi's penalty, that was the best atmosphere I've ever been a part of. Absolutely brilliant.

And anyone saying the refs in any way got US over the line? Jesus. We had the pocket ref calling a forward pass against Souths that he was 15 metres from the line of sight of because the crowd booed, the Chooks slowing down the ruck on EVERY single tackle and EVERY single time Ashley Klein told the Rabbitohs player to 'stop milking'. Not to mention that blown knock on call, and the countless Roosters forward passes that were ignored. Stop whinging you morons.

All in all, turnabout is fair play. And we're in the top 4 this late in the season for the first time in my life - I couldn't be happier.

SaraSassypants

Can't believe that game, what a win for the bunnies. Well done to the Roosters for that contest, were the better team for most of the second half. Unfortunately for you and fortunately for us, we learnt our lesson from round one and made every second count. Congrats to Braith on his 250th game he's a great bloke.

Trentosaurus

Have you watched the NRL at all in the last few years? Having control of the ball whilst scoring tries was abandoned long ago. All that is required is the hand, arm or torso touching the ball while it is on the ground.

It was a try any day of the week under the current interpretation of the grounding rule.
I think the difference was that Leilua lost the ball to the side of his hand. I can see why they ruled that he didn't have control of the ball to ground it. There was no downward pressure.

Compare that to the Ashley Graham one, and Graham was losing the ball directly under his hand. It was easier to say that he still had some control of it and downward pressure.

Both were hideous tries and shouldn't have been awarded but any Roosters fans thinking they were robbed need a reality check.

BranVan3000

Nope you need downward pressure and he didn't have that

bileduct

Nope you need downward pressure and he didn't have that
Having just watched the head on replay on nrl.com over and over I cannot agree with either of you. Leilua's palm has contact with the ball and he is clearly pushing downward on it as it comes in contact with the ground. There is no separation at all.

Having said that, I would agree that it *shouldn't* be a try, for the very reason you have stated. He had lost control of the ball.

The problem is that this is not how the ruling has been applied in recent years.

Agree to disagree.

BranVan3000

Having just watched the head on replay on nrl.com over and over I cannot agree with either of you. Leilua's palm has contact with the ball and he is clearly pushing downward on it as it comes in contact with the ground. There is no separation at all.

Having said that, I would agree that it *shouldn't* be a try, for the very reason you have stated. He had lost control of the ball.

The problem is that this is not how the ruling has been applied in recent years.

Agree to disagree.
I'll agree with you that refs had no idea what they were doing all game