Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'12 | WCC | Sat 18 Feb 7am | Leeds 26-12 Manly | Headingley

WCC: Winners?

effnic

Congrats leeds. Deserved the win. Manly played well in those conditions. 2 trial games lost in a row deary me give us the spoon now right LU usual wankers.

LeedsStorm

Great game. Leeds different side from last week. Agree Manly could have snatched it with better discipline. Leeds defence was superb at times. Sinfield continues to be a lockyer-like legend of the game in UK, 15 finals as captain. What an inspiration.

Re the WCC concept itself. Leeds were never going to get credibility from Australia. They get beaten and its an example of how NRL is superior, they win and the NRL team weren't taking it seriously. As has been said before, Leeds can only offer to play here (as they did) and play what is in front of them.

Proud Leeds man today, shame no-one else in melbourne gives a flying....:D

Manly couldnt get 14k to a semi final
2 weeks after a GF is ridiculous.....now is the perfect time, people have been waiting for footy, theyre hanging for it....ut its too hot here, just after a GF would be such a massive anti climax....you finally earn something youve been working a year for...then you reckon they can get up for someing else in two weeks???
Yeh right

All about how the game is viewed...attitude. If the game is given similar status to a proper final, it would be treated as such in time.

typicalfan

'Middle of the season' :lol: The comp started two weeks ago.

Also lol at you having never heard of Kevin Sinfield.
It is a big difference though. Manly have no one to blame but themselves, could have organised a warm up game and better preparation. Some teams put more effort into it than others. Remember that most trials are played in quarters and thirds. A full 40 minutes for their second full hit out is a big rise. Leeds deserved the win though. Hall would make it in the NRL. Sinfield would struggle.

LeedsStorm

It is a big difference though. Manly have no one to blame but themselves, could have organised a warm up game and better preparation. Some teams put more effort into it than others. Remember that most trials are played in quarters and thirds. A full 40 minutes for their second full hit out is a big rise. Leeds deserved the win though. Hall would make it in the NRL. Sinfield would struggle.

:crazy:

typicalfan

Struggle is harsh, he would be a good club player, Hall could be a real asset really outplayed Williams although he is coming back from a serious neck injury.

Sinfield wasn't great in the 4 nations and has never really shone v Australia I don't think he is that type of player. Obviously skilled and tradesman like but there are plenty of those in the NRL.

God-King Dean

It really grates me when England wins this. If it was done properly Manly would have won comfortably. In fact I'd say the ESL team would be lucky to win 1 in 10 matches.

typicalfan

It really grates me when England wins this. If it was done properly Manly would have won comfortably. In fact I'd say the ESL team would be lucky to win 1 in 10 matches.
Most of this Manly side would have been lucky to have played more than 40 minutes last week, even less for the key ones. Compare that to Leeds 160 minutes plus trials. You can understand why our sides can look rusty in this game. Even the Dragons and Storm with warm up games were a tad rusty.

LeedsStorm

Struggle is harsh, he would be a good club player, Hall could be a real asset really outplayed Williams although he is coming back from a serious neck injury.

Sinfield wasn't great in the 4 nations and has never really shone v Australia I don't think he is that type of player. Obviously skilled and tradesman like but there are plenty of those in the NRL.

Respectfully disagree. The guy is quality, and the most successful captain in Rugby League history. He didn't shine v Australia as he played 20 more games than the Australian side last season, something that is often overlooked when comparing international players. 42 games in one season. That's a big factor in eng v aus match ups

typicalfan

Respectfully disagree. The guy is quality, and the most successful captain in Rugby League history. He didn't shine v Australia as he played 20 more games than the Australian side last season, something that is often overlooked when comparing international players. 42 games in one season. That's a big factor in eng v aus match ups
Pointing out he has never really shone against us. Emphasis meaning over his career. If he wanted to he could have taken the challenge of the best competition in the world but hasn't.

LeedsStorm

Pointing out he has never really shone against us. Emphasis meaning over his career. If he wanted to he could have taken the challenge of the best competition in the world but hasn't.

Guess we'll never know. 15 major finals, 5 premierships, 3 WCC. Can't imagine he'll have any regrets

typicalfan

Guess we'll never know. 15 major finals, 5 premierships, 3 WCC. Can't imagine he'll have any regrets
Certainly won't be ranked alongside your Johnny Rapers or Ray Prices or Bradley Clydes let alone the elite locks over here now. And WCC please.

None of those were done in the premier competition.

LeedsStorm

Certainly won't be ranked alongside your Johnny Rapers or Ray Prices or Bradley Clydes let alone the elite locks over here now. And WCC please.

None of those were done in the premier competition.

Again, sure he has no regrets. The NRL is overrated, as this mornings result demonstrated ;-)

typicalfan

Again, sure he has no regrets. The NRL is overrated, as this mornings result demonstrated ;-)
And Bradley Clyde played for us. He was sh!te
:lol: ok. If you say so.

Clyde finished his career there. He had effectively already retired.

He might not have regrets but don't be shocked if I say he is average.

LeedsStorm

:lol: ok. If you say so.

Clyde finished his career there. He had effectively already retired.

He might not have regrets but don't be shocked if I say he is average.

Everyone is entitled to an opinion mate. Would just hope you are not ignorant to the English game, as many NRL fans are. Ask any fan from ESL and chances are they would rate Sinfield, whose record stands for itself in my opinion.

Didgi

:lol: McGuire overrated. Sinfield average.

So exactly the same as he is in the ESL?