Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'13 | R23 | Sun | Knights 10-23 Storm | Hunter

Round 23: Knights v Storm

• Newcastle Knights

• Draw after golden point

Horrie Is God

It's a sorry state of affairs that refs feel obliged to do that. If a side is breaking the rules, they're breaking the rules.

It's their job to adjudicate, not make sure penalties are at a 50/50 split by game's end.

Agree 100%..

But a 17-2 penalty count looks poor on their weekly game reviews..

Misanthrope

I'll say this, no matter how just or unjust the penalty count; the fact the Knights aren't winning this is a glaring indication of the fact that they're just not good enough to be a threat this year. Every time we get into a big game, we disappear. We're directionless out there.

You've got a mountain of possession and Cronk/Smith having career low games, and we're still useless.

How bad are the storm playing? Jesus
and the knights still look off the pace... just solidifies what ive been saying the 5-8th positions dont even matter, they wont touch the top 4

footy75

Not if they were watching the game. Storm have been incredibly slow in clearing the play the ball.

yeah fair enough mate...im not watching it so I can't comment on the penalties..but I maintain if the count was the other way around it people would be blowing up....when its against us no one cares.

Billythekid

x 8 years. In the end the decision not to bin Cronk cost the Knights.

Knights got 10 penalties made 1500 metres spent tons of time on our line and came up with 2 tries. Maybe people should focus on the actual reasons they lost. God damn the posters on here are a bunch of whiners.

Grapple

Twice i've been hammered on last minute tries this round for betting margins. What a killer.

Misanthrope

Not at all surprised by that result. When we went into the sheds at 8-4 despite a mountain of possession (however justified), I knew we'd fall away in the second half. You can't squander so many opportunities to post points and still expect to win - and that's especially true when you're playing a top four side and a perennial contender.

x 8 years. In the end the decision not to bin Cronk cost the Knights.

Given the chances they had, what makes you think the knights go on and win it, even if Cronk was binned?
They scarcely looked like cracking the storm

footy75

Knights got 10 penalties made 1500 metres spent tons of time on our line and came up with 2 tries. Maybe people should focus on the actual reasons they lost. God damn the posters on here are a bunch of whiners.

no shit mate..it's hilarious. the penalty count is 10-2 and people are whining and complaining that the refs 'may' even it up. Imagine if it was 10-2 our way...lol

Misanthrope

Given the chances they had, what makes you think the knights go on and win it, even if Cronk was binned?

You're only half right there. The Knights seemed able to crack them at will bringing it up the field. It was when they got inside the 20 that they completely lost their way.

Noname36

Considering Cronk set up the try that ended up winning them the game, yeah, they could have. Could you imagine Brett Finch setting up that try? The try before hand Melbourne scored off two missed knock on calls in a row.

Not saying the refs cost the Knights the game, they had enough chances. Melbourne's defense was superior and was able to deny us 2 close tries that went to the video ref that ended up being the difference...that doesn't change the fact though that the two most important tries for the Storm were scored under very dubious conditions.

You're only half right there. The Knights seemed able to crack them at will bringing it up the field. It was when they got inside the 20 that they completely lost their way.

that's kind of the thing about a bend, dont break defense like the top 4 have... you can get chances inside their 20 but they are excellent goal line defenders, melbourne showed it again today, completely frustrated the knights despite a lions share of possession

the knights are a decent team, much better than i gave them credit for at the start of the year (they'd be much better with a quality fullback instead of princess darius flicking his skirt around at the back as they do now) but they arent in the same league as the top 4, the gap between 4th and the rest is a gulf the size of north america.

otori

That decision to reward blatant cheating by keeping Cronk on the field was abysmal. The commentators had it right when they said that not sending him sets a dangerous precedent.

Whether or not that changes the end result is irrelevant. The ref saying that they didn't consider it bad enough to warrant 10 minutes pretty adequately sums up the appalling nature of our refs. If a plodder like Waqa had done that, I reckon they'd send him.