Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'13 | R9 | Sat | Eels 19-18 Broncos | Parramatta

Round 9: Eels v Broncos

Big Pete

Neither team really deserved to win, Hayne's perculiar field goal on half-time proved the difference and sort of sums the game up really.

A true bludger and as a supporter I'm filthy we lost it. Can keep blaming the usual suspects like McCullough taking pedestrian options, Wallace not providing enough direction etc. but the truth is it was a collective team performance that let us down. What's even worse is that if you were to point fingers, the Broncos worst was arguably their most talented player on the roster in Hodges who for mine was completely out-played by his opposite. Very soft performance from Hodges, perhaps he wasn't right for this week after all?

Never the less, Parra fans have earned the right to lap that victory up. After that woeful performance against the Panthers, they deserve some relief and I hope they took enjoyment out of this match.

For us Broncos fans, it's going to be a long year and it's going to be very interesting to see how the club reacts.

jk13

In fairness to paraeels2010, he was brought up on a surrogate rats tit once he left the test tube

natheel

Neither team really deserved to win, Hayne's perculiar field goal on half-time proved the difference and sort of sums the game up really.

A true bludger and as a supporter I'm filthy we lost it. Can keep blaming the usual suspects like McCullough taking pedestrian options, Wallace not providing enough direction etc. but the truth is it was a collective team performance that let us down. What's even worse is that if you were to point fingers, the Broncos worst was arguably their most talented player on the roster in Hodges who for mine was completely out-played by his opposite. Very soft performance from Hodges, perhaps he wasn't right for this week after all?

Never the less, Parra fans have earned the right to lap that victory up. After that woeful performance against the Panthers, they deserve some relief and I hope they took enjoyment out of this match.

For us Broncos fans, it's going to be a long year and it's going to be very interesting to see how the club reacts.

i dont know mate, that Penrith loss gave us the kick up the arse we needed. great to see our young guys performing very well. Loko has done very well this year after being out for almost 2 years due to injury. Api did well at the other centre position for his debut. Pritchard didn't get game time but Tanginoa is our best prospect and Terepo looks good too.

For your side i think this game could be their kick up the arse they needed. On paper you guys should've won but i think with our inconsistency comes underestimating from other teams, Like us with Penrith it was clear in post match interviews we just went in expecting to win because they had a lot of young guys.

McGure may find himself on the sideline for a week. Allgood i think got mistaken for Lussick as Darcy was the one who threw punches at McGuire after the initial hit.

Good luck next week.

natheel

mate both teams got some dud calls. We were on top most of that match and our defence frustrated you guys. We got some dodgy calls go our way and as did you. That Allgood send off was ridiculous to start with. Klein will get the sack next week

Big Pete

Considering Klein was rewarded for forgetting the tackle count after going up to the video referee for a penalty try that was never going to be given and cost the Cows a golden opportunity to score points...I'm pretty sure he's going to get the Origin gig based on tonight.

Can't wait until JT has the ball 'stripped' from him and scores the game winner.

The refs were awful to both teams. I'm just happy that they played with some passion and defended well for most of the match. Stoked with then effort, even if it was ugly.

Also, how good is Jarryd Hayne? I know he's a sook, and it bugs me, but damn - the bloke does some freakish things on the footy field. That field goal was insane.

Sandow is leading the comp for most missed tackles for the 2nd year in a row. I don't think I've seen one time where the Broncos have tried to single him out. Terrible football IQ by their playmakers

This week:
15 tackles 1 miss 1 ineffective

Last week:
10 tackles 1 miss 1 ineffective

vs Penrith:
11 tackles 1 miss 1 ineffective

He certainly attempted more tackles this week than the previous couple.

It helps when our middle defenders win the ruck. Plus abolishing the shoulder charge might have been a hidden blessing. Nobody makes first grade if they can't tackle, but plenty of blokes never have to wrap the ball up until they hit the NRL.

Anyway, like most little blokes, Sandow is a decent low tackler. And with Tanginoa on his inside shoulder teams aren't so keen to run sideways to get at him any more.