Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'16 | R8 | ANZAC Day | SGI 20-18 SYD | Allianz

Round 8: ANZAC Day - Dragons v Roosters

Unscrupulous

f**k, I must have been in the dunny and missed that one
Say it isn't so......

Oh well - a total team of cats then

Lol it's literally part of their game plan.

"Remember lads, complete our sets, get to our kick, lie down at every opportunity and with the 500 penalty goals we get per match we should hopefully scrape through"

OVP

Easts have found a 6, Matterson. Pearce at 7 and Hastings on the bench. Nikorima to Wyong.

Agreed. Matterson went well, he's got the skills.
Congrats on the win, we didnt deserve it after the first half. The worst half of footy we've played in over 10 years imo.

Jack_Napier

Hastings should be dropped after the performance. It was inept.
Pierce and nikorima may be the answer.
They will undoubtedly figure it all out in time for the Broncos game.

Lol mate Milf will have us beat by about the 15th minute on his own.

Agreed. Matterson went well, he's got the skills.
Congrats on the win, we didnt deserve it after the first half. The worst half of footy we've played in over 10 years imo.

I still think his future is on the edges as a back rower. He doesn't have the agility to be a genuine threat running the footy due to his size. Very nice debut though, like i said earlier he's a very talented player

McLovin

I can see Matterson being a John Sutton type 5/8th... Like Sutton, he needs a dominant half. Pierce will do the job, Hastings to reserve grade...

Tommy Smith

Neither team will get close to the top 8.

That's for sure.

But if we can get Pearce, JWH, SST and Liu back then we can still easily win 10-12 games.

What a massive hole they leave.

Jack_Napier

Would any of us Easts fans disagree with shifting Horrie Jnr back to the bench for a while to give jake a break like he did last few seasons.

Put Matterson and Pearce in the halves. I get the feeling it would give Horrie Jnr the shits but he's struggling a fair bit at the moment.

Neither team will get close to the top 8.

That's for sure.

But if we can get Pearce, JWH, SST and Liu back then we can still easily win 10-12 games.

What a massive hole they leave.

I don't know, I reckon both could end up challenging. The comp seems to go:

NQ/ Brisbane

Daylight

Sharks/eels

Dogshit

Everyone else

Week old dried up white dogshit

Tigers/Knights

drago brelli

When Easts get all of their players back and with a bit of luck with injuries they could make the 8. At full strength Easts are better than most teams.

THE CHAMP

That's the way I saw it - even Bwaith said that the Roosters got three big decisions that went their way. A forward pass for the ages before our first try was a standout. How did that miss that?

I think Bwaith forgot the three that went St George's way - but there were some interesting interpretations all game.

With the Napa one, Dylan did nothing wrong. The contact was between Cordner and the St George player. It was heads - not Cordner's shoulder that made the contact. There was no penalty there.

What gets me about this St George team (and it was definitely not the case with the head clash) is just how much they lie down looking for penaltiaes. The slightest contact and they lie down.

They should be sponsored by f**king Captain Snooze. Seriously. A total cat of a team and an embarrassment to the Anzac Day game. There are a couple of notable omissions, such as Nightingale who is quality through and through and one of my favourite players for any club, but there are some real sooks in that side. Dugan is a specialty at catness.

As for the Roosters - they just keep having brain explosions which gift points to the opposition. Latrell Mitchell gifted Saints a couple of tries and the end to our sets with ball in hand was laughable at times.

Still, I'm proud of the effort if not the execution. A wooden spoon is definite possibility but at least they're trying.

This side is 100% better than the 2009 side that got the spoon purely because they're genuinely trying to win, rather than trying to get to the end of the game so they can go home.

Good post but nightingale was one of the players that had a lie down.
Which is sad considering what a fantastic player he has been.
The one on mcrone was f**king disgraceful. He should play in,a skirt ffs.

THE CHAMP

Things will pick up for the chooks no doubt.
Their forwards went f**ken will imo.
The backs were a f**ken train wreck and pierce will help in that area.
Wouldn't want to be playing them next week

Hutty1986

About 20 minutes of good footy from saints and the rest just trying to defend a lead. Stoked we managed to hold on after some farcical calls leading to roosters tries.