Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

1st ODI: New Zealand v Australia at Napier March 3rd 2010

JJ

So its fine to say "I'll like to bang your mum"? to piss off someone because its part of the game? Nothing to do with the incident just making a point that there is pissing someone off and then there is really pissing someone off.

As for the his incident with Benn, Benn was the one that pointed his finger in his face, Johnson was trying to push him away just like you would do if I pointed my finger at your face.

DO you have a point here?? Are you saying that the Australians never cross this imaginary line here?? I have always said sledging is puerile and stupid - but seriously if you dishe it out, then get hammered to the boundary a few times with the odd comment back - your best comeback is to headbutt someone who's wearing a helmet??? FFS - Johnson had his arse handed to him by the pig, and looked an absolute goose... look forward to the rematch on Sat!

Sorry, but there's a long history of Australians dishing plenty of sh*t out, and then spitting the dummy big time when they get it back... this seems to be another occasion of that...

As for the Benn thing, that was between Haddin and Benn - Johnson elevated it to a physical altercation... my point is that this is twice this summer, Benn was suspended, why has Johnson not been???

Sam_the_man

Such is the nature of a cricketer really.

Wasn't it Haddin and Benn where Benn tried to confront Haddin while he was having a chat with Johnson? In which case, I think you're drawing a long bow.

Don't get me wrong, Johnson does come accross as a bit of a tosser but Benn for mine was easily the worst offender of the three.

You have to be having a laugh. Benn is standing there pointing his finger at Haddin who is facing Benn. Along comes Michelle Johnson and walks into Benns arm and then wacks Benns arm away with her hand. How the hell Benn get the suspension and Johnson didn't is beyond me.

aussies1st

DO you have a point here?? Are you saying that the Australians never cross this imaginary line here?? I have always said sledging is puerile and stupid - but seriously if you dishe it out, then get hammered to the boundary a few times with the odd comment back - your best comeback is to headbutt someone who's wearing a helmet??? FFS - Johnson had his arse handed to him by the pig, and looked an absolute goose... look forward to the rematch on Sat!

Sorry, but there's a long history of Australians dishing plenty of sh*t out, and then spitting the dummy big time when they get it back... this seems to be another occasion of that...

As for the Benn thing, that was between Haddin and Benn - Johnson elevated it to a physical altercation... my point is that this is twice this summer, Benn was suspended, why has Johnson not been???

Yes there is a long history but they never got dished out a punishment. Whatever Styris said clearly crossed the line, and unless you were down there we have no idea what was said.

And again on the Benn thing, go watch the video again, Benn made contact with Johnson, Johnson was pushing him away just like any normal person would do if the same situation occurred on the street.

Sam_the_man

Yes there is a long history but they never got dished out a punishment. Whatever Styris said clearly crossed the line, and unless you were down there we have no idea what was said.

And again on the Benn thing, go watch the video again, Benn made contact with Johnson, Johnson was pushing him away just like any normal person would do if the same situation occurred on the street.

I suggest you get your eyes tested first then go watch the video of Johnson/Haddin and Benn again...unless you like inventing stuff?

aussies1st

I suggest you get your eyes tested first then go watch the video of Johnson/Haddin and Benn again...unless you like inventing stuff?

Ummm Johnson walks, Benn points at Haddin which makes contact with Johnson who then gets involved by pushing him away. WTF have I missed?

JJ

The only basis for saying Styris crossed a line, is Johnson's reaction... to most of us, it just looked like petulance because Styris taking to him. So, if a player says something that another doesn't like, physical altercations are ok?

Your defending of Johnson and the second paragraph leads me to believe you might be Ian Healy... who also seemed to have a spin on it that wasn't obvious to most observers (the Australian players are all saints, and anything bad must be due to the opposition team line)

Pretty obvious to most that on both occasions Johnson has got off lightly, and pretty amusing that the odd Australian is taking the stance than "Styris must have said something really mean to Mitchie" :lol: Funny that when it comes back, suddenly the "what is said on the field stays on the field" line isn't so satisfactory... poor Mitchie was upset, so it's ok... just like it was when Sarwan upset poor Glenn McGrath

beads6

God you kiwis have no idea. The little tiff between Styris and Johnson is no big deal infact seeing that type of aggression and passion towards cricket would be great to see on more occasions.

JJ

God you kiwis have no idea. The little tiff between Styris and Johnson is no big deal infact seeing that type of aggression and passion towards cricket would be great to see on more occasions.

hmmm - surely your predictions earlier in the thread are proof you have no idea...

No problem with a tiff... clearly there is a problem with a physical altercation, which on two occasions Johnson has now initiated - and not been suspended... while Benn was suspended :crazy: If Johnson can't handle himself without physically jostling opposition, then he should go back to grade cricket

aussies1st

I'm just saying Johnson isn't one that does this sort of stuff, that is for the Bollingers, Haddin, Watson and Pontings. Whatever happened Johnson was a dumbass for headbutting his helmet anyway.

TimmyB

Seriously guys, you can support Australian cricket and still acknowledge Johnson is a wanker. He's constantly trying to be the hard man and mouth off. There's no worries with that if you are on top of a batsmen and trying to press for the wicket. Johnson's problem is he seems to save sh*t talking for the times he's getting carted. Need to shut his f**king mouth to be honest.

beads6

hmmm - surely your predictions earlier in the thread are proof you have no idea...

No problem with a tiff... clearly there is a problem with a physical altercation, which on two occasions Johnson has now initiated - and not been suspended... while Benn was suspended :crazy: If Johnson can't handle himself without physically jostling opposition, then he should go back to grade cricket

LOL I was tipping the Aussies to win because they should be smashing the Kiwis and I am an Aussies why would I tip the Kiwis to win.???? If what Johnson has been involved in is a genuine Physical altercation then the world has gone soft!! If someone raises a bat at the opposition or actualy throws punches then I woudl be worried!

JJ

LOL I was tipping the Aussies to win because they should be smashing the Kiwis and I am an Aussies why would I tip the Kiwis to win.????

Not saying you should tip them to win, but clearly NZ has a good ODI side, and to be honest Aust has played two very poor ODI sides this summer and won all their games, first decent team has beaten them - series will be competitive

And clearly Johnson is a tosser, clearly he DOES do this stuff (twice now) and clearly when the sh*t he delivers up regularly gets the pounding it seems to deserve he starts mindlessly mouthing off...

beads6

Not saying you should tip them to win, but clearly NZ has a good ODI side, and to be honest Aust has played two very poor ODI sides this summer and won all their games, first decent team has beaten them - series will be competitive

And clearly Johnson is a tosser, clearly he DOES do this stuff (twice now) and clearly when the sh*t he delivers up regularly gets the pounding it seems to deserve he starts mindlessly mouthing off...

Yep I was wrong the Kiwis are better than I thought, not a bad one day side, especially winning without Vettore and Oram not batting..

Also Styris has said nothing in the HEADBUTT incident, it is stupidity but I don't think it is a big deal there are worse things done on a cricket field every day.

Batman Returns

Aussies deserve to lose series to be honest. They muck around with their team too much, bringing guys in and out. I thought to be an international you had to be up to international standard, but aussies have the view that anyone in form in their domestic comp is pretty much better than a seasoned international player from another country. That's arrogant. They get these guys like Warner, Tait, Nannes and a couple of green-as-grass guys over here for the 20/20's, stuff NZ in the first game & lose narrowly in the 2nd in probably the greatest T20 match ever, then ship these same guys back home & a new bunch have to start from fresh. I would have thought you'd hate losing enough not to hand us the advantage but apparently not.
I also think Watson & Haddin tried to go 400 kms up the highway, then lost control and crashed and burned too early, when they should have buttoned off the speed after the initial burst. NZ winning 2nd T20 was like a red rag to a bull to these brash Aussies....the ego's couldn't handle it and they committed hari kari trying to put the Kiwi's back in their place.

beads6

Aussies deserve to lose series to be honest. They muck around with their team too much, bringing guys in and out. I thought to be an international you had to be up to international standard, but aussies have the view that anyone in form in their domestic comp is pretty much better than a seasoned international player from another country. That's arrogant. They get these guys like Warner, Tait, Nannes and a couple of green-as-grass guys over here for the 20/20's, stuff NZ in the first game & lose narrowly in the 2nd in probably the greatest T20 match ever, then ship these same guys back home & a new bunch have to start from fresh. I would have thought you'd hate losing enough not to hand us the advantage but apparently not.
I also think Watson & Haddin tried to go 400 kms up the highway, then lost control and crashed and burned too early, when they should have buttoned off the speed after the initial burst. NZ winning 2nd T20 was like a red rag to a bull to these brash Aussies....the ego's couldn't handle it and they committed hari kari trying to put the Kiwi's back in their place.

hahahaha

Batman Returns

If David Warner can hit 80 in a 20/20, why wouldn't he be able to do it in a one-dayer? Does he not play proper cricket shots or something? Do Aussies see him as an agricultural wogger who mentally isn't up to the rigours of the longer 50 over game?? I'm pretty sure if McCullum is out there smashing it in T20's us Kiwi's aren't thinking "that'll do mate, how about you have a holiday now & let's get Gareth Hopkins to open in the ODI's".
If Tait can bowl at 160 kms, why can't he bowl 160 km's in the ODI's?? This is speed demon Tait remember, the guy who created a senstation by bowling the fatest ball ever bowled on Australian soil. One day he's the ace of pace, the pride of Oz, the next he's 'brain explosion Tait'.

Batman Returns

Geez, the Aussie's are having a few meltdowns and brain explosions over here. That's what happens when the pressure comes on: one day you're flogging the hapless Windies, the next the invincibility tag has been well and truely ripped off the green and gold shirt. You can bet the Aussie press will be sharpening their knives after talking the boys up all summer. So who's going to crack next?? Watson looks a good bet for mine; also Ponting might get a bit terse and surly if another loss is inflicted.....Johnson's already half-way to the loony bin and might be led away in a straight-jacket if he gets another belting. It's all good stuff really.