Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2003 = premiership # 16

This is true, Cronulla never win shit, probably never will - but I will still follow them as I always have. This does not make me Angry - many things make me angry - Living in a religous based world - watching waste happen in all facets of life and the list goes on and on and on.

Dude I really do not mind the Dragons as a team I do however fina alot of thier supporters strange and touchy - not all of course but alot.

It could be worse they could be Souths supporters the braindead of the NRL.

Mr Angry's a Sharks supporter? If I had of known I would have shown more sympathy... poor pathetic sod... I can but imagine what it must be like for you.

Tony:
I know that we've had a good set of news of late, what with Kogarah, the coach and the history but this thread has reminded thatthere is still workto be done.
The rumour of the relocation of the Sharks has often done the rounds and I expect it'll happen sometime in the next two years...
The sad thing is you can be sure that the Sharks club will do it under the cover of darkness and their supporters will the the last to know.

The Gold Coast Sharks...always had a nice ring to to it.... :D
Anyway, thats the next project...get rid of the speed hump.

imported_midas

Geez,Willow,get off his case.As the first and only Sharks supporter to appear on this board he should be treated with a degree of reverence.

Its OK midas, as a sharks supporter I am used to Illawarra supporters disliking me.

Willow is still waiting for his legs to grow back - I was told in 1947 they cut them off.

midas:
I have nothing against Sharks supporters... byw, ali is another who frequents the boards.
No, I just think their club sucks. I really feel sorry for the supporters who have meekly endured such ineptitude for so long.

Mr Angry: I agree with you...lets get the Sharks up to the Gold Coast... free beach towels await... you can join in the campaign. :)

Mate as I currently live in Brissy, that would suit, I could see some games live without having to go to a Broncos game - Yaaaah.

If that is what is best for the game -I would be for it.

But whilst Souths are still in and small minded people continue to run the game it is not going to happen.

Correction:
In post number 31, I said that Saints had copped the wooden spoon 2 times - it was in fact 3 times: 1922, 1926 and 1938.
It nagged at me and now I know why.

Mr Angry:
Same here, I want another team up here if only to see some more footy on the Gold Coast. If it was the Sharks (and I reckon they are the logical choice), then my opinion of them would elevate enormously.

imported_E_A__

The side I follow has never won the Wooden Spoon.

I'm hoping we win it in '03 so that we have something for the cupboard.
emdgust.gif

Well that depends EA...
If you go to the Wests Tigers website, there is some effort to acknowledge the joint histories of the two clubs... something about being proud and going forward together...I really can't remember, its been months since I glared at that Tiger cartoon trying jump at me and bruising its nose against my computer screen.
Anyway, Wests have won a truckload of wooden spoons... something like17 times.

Balmain have won it 4 times so together thats 21 wooden spoons.
I think its time for Wests Tigers to bring together there two proud histories. :D

imported_E_A__

Nice of you to forget to mention the premierships they've won.

It doesn't matter to me anyway, the Magpies don't play in the NRL any more. When the JV was announced a part of me shuffled off this mortal coil, but I realised that to most people, a club to follow, even a JV club is better than no club.

As for Balmain, I never thought much about them and that hasn't changed. When their lower grades played I couldn't have given a stuff if they won, lost, drew or danced a minuette. I'm grateful that they entered into the JV only because it kept a team for me to follow. But that team will never have the support I used to give the Magpies.

Neither club's history is the JV's history. No one will convince me otherwise. Because I'm sane.

You're sane? Bloody hell that must be lonely... :D
I thought we were talking about wooden spoons but yes you're right, the Magpies have won a few trophies as well.. a darn side more than them Sharkies. ;)