Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2004 Season seats on sale 12th December

wittyfan

Morpheus said:
Danny Nutely.

A fine player who came to us unknown and has been a very good buy and a player that Chris Anderson must take great credit for.

However call me old fashioned and an old so and so, but I question greatly his credentials as an experienced player to lead and nurture young players.

One young player who travelled with the team on an away trip last season was punched in the face by a heavily intoxicated Nutely, this was after the young up and comer was berated by Nutely for not being tough enough. Nutely also faught with another newish player to the club who played much of the latter part of the year in a new position and went pretty well, the player is known as a nice fellow and had a quiet word to Nutely about his treatment of the young player who he punched, and also his crass name calling and abuse of a female patron at the club. Nutely verballed the player calling him soft .

A fine player but I worry about the damage he has caused to at least one young player, who we need to have a big year, who returned to his hotel in tears after the incident and has been bullied and ridiculed by Nutely ever since in front of team mates.

:shock: Any clues to who this young player is?

Morpheus

I do not wish to name his name outright for obvious reasons, but his dad is a member of a club I belong to in the city and I have known him for a good length of time, I have no reason to doubt his story and I was told about it the monday evening after the away trip.

He is a young forward who has played a few first grade games and has a future I would say, had not set the world on fire in his debut season but has also not done anything wrong so to say.

I mention it because he is a young player that most name in the future of our club, and are expecting to feature in next seasons plans heavily as far as forward depth goes, yet he is a broken young man due to the fued that has developed with one of our most senior, experienced, and best performing forwards in Nutely, who surely should know better and should be reprimanded for his behaviour , but it has simmered and been allowed to carry on.

PJ

I hope it isn't Galloway.

There's a thread over on the lizard site boasting about Galloway as future slimebucket.

Mate, I wouldn't be taking on any of our young forwards.
Especially, Galloway, Newton, or Williams. They're all growing boys, and taking them on now, could be a bad move, when the Karma police come knocking, in the future.

Shark

Nutley can be a high-quality forward, no doubt about it.

But he's also an ill-diciplined thug, who gives away far too many penalties in is efforts to 'intimidate' opposition players.

Truth be told, he doesn't fit the mantle of what a true Sharks player should be - Tough but fair, talented but modest.

I like him, but he's got to get some self control happening.

I also hope that there is little to this bullying rumour, but I heard about it earlier in the year, as well as now. Smoke and fire...

Frenzy

I reckon it'd be DD as the young player and DB as the "saviour"

And I'd believe it too because I've sen Nutley in action on the piss close up. At the GF luncheon he did his best to disgrace himself as well.

Too many head knocks!

Frenzy

El Garbo said:
I reckon it'd be DD as the young player and DB as the "saviour"

What gives you that impression, or is it just speculation?

It's a guess, like all the others :)

He is a young forward who has played a few first grade games and has a future I would say, had not set the world on fire in his debut season but has also not done anything wrong so to say.

Fits DD

Nutely also faught with another newish player to the club who played much of the latter part of the year in a new position and went pretty well, the player is known as a nice fellow

Fits DB

I guess I was wondering most about the Dumas choice. We had so many new young forwards come through in the latter stage of the season, could fit any one of them..

Morpheus

I am concerned, although not surprised that you were unfortunate enough to see such behaviour at the luncheon Frenzy.

This is one of our most senior players , in a year gone where leadership was questioned and team harmony also questioned, this kind of bullish thuggery is hardly someone the club should allow to go un-noticed and without punishment.

Booyah

Nutely also faught with another newish player to the club who played much of the latter part of the year in a new position and went pretty well, the player is known as a nice fellow

Sounds like a Backrower cum Hooker to me...

I Hope that story isn't true. If it is, I've lost a lot of respect for Nuts as both a man, and a footy player.

If he wants to play there are always a bunch of guys down at Cronulla surf Club more his age I'm sure would happily oblige.
A La Longy.

BTW Stevo, this is what good front rowers don't allow to happen in their club.
Imagine a Bear, Harvey, Lazzo, Artie, Carroll, Harrogan letting that kind of krap happen at their clubs.

Frenzy

El Garbo said:
I guess I was wondering most about the Dumas choice. We had so many new young forwards come through in the latter stage of the season, could fit any one of them..

Yep Z but we'd already been told it wasn't one of the ones mentioned before I posted. That ruled out KG, RW and DN and Hilder played more than a few games. Doesn't leave many other debutants. Unless he clocked Wessell or Tweddle both of whom he wouldn't be able to reach :lol:

No matter anyway, if there is fire to go with the smoke I'd have one DN on the for sale list.

Frenzy

Morpheus said:
I am concerned, although not surprised that you were unfortunate enough to see such behaviour at the luncheon Frenzy.

This is one of our most senior players , in a year gone where leadership was questioned and team harmony also questioned, this kind of bullish thuggery is hardly someone the club should allow to go un-noticed and without punishment.

Hmm well it was relatively minor in the scheme of things but to another person it might not of been. But he lost many brownie points with me that day.

Lucky it was too good of a day overall to let an insignificant incident from an insignificant person worry anyone that saw it. I do know one of one ex Sharkie that was unimpressed though.

Carcharhinus melanopterus said:
BTW Stevo, this is what good front rowers don't allow to happen in their club. Imagine a Bear, Harvey, Lazzo, Artie, Carroll, Harrogan letting that kind of krap happen at their clubs

Too right reef. Wouldn't of happened - well might of but it wouldn't of gone "unchecked"

Sounds like the old small man's syndrome :lol:

Morpheus

I know my word on this chat forum is worth nothing, more than anyone elses, but I know factually it happened , and that is why, as you also point out, that I am more angered not so much by it taking place, but that it has been allowed to fester and continue during a large part of the season, further ridiculing the young player and eroding his confidence greatly.

It does seem, and this is a big thing to say I guess, that the incident did not warrant mentioning or too much attention, because it is accepted as part of the "tough guys win me premierships" attitude from our current coach. We must remember that the player at fault is clearly one of Chris' favoured players.

I must add that I find Nutelys form to be outstanding and warranting any plaudits from his coach and fans, let us not confuse his playing talent with this kind of behaviour when being critical.

Well, presuming this is the truth, Nutley isn't my hero anymore. He's scratched as the leader of the Sharks Assassination Squad - Peach can have that role. I don't see him as the bullying type...