Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2006 AFL Draw

meltiger

Terrible! :( :( :(

6 @ Telstra and 9 @ the MCG. For f**ks sake, the MCG is our home ground.

At least we play the Scummers twice @ the G.

& why on earth Hawthorn requested playing Richmond in Tasmania is beyond me. Maybe they think they will actually beat us without our members there. An extra $250 I need to spend next year that I shouldn't have too.

f**k I hate Hawthorn. I really, really do.

JTR

Round 21 - Melbourne v Geelong @ Skilled
Round 22 - Melbourne v Adelaide @ AAMI

Gee I hope by round 20 we are safely in the finals!

Morenito

Swans only have to play their fellow top 4 finalists only once each next year.
Eagles away
Crows and St Kilda at Home

Nice draw for the premiers

CyberKev

meltiger said:
Terrible! :( :( :(

6 @ Telstra and 9 @ the MCG. For f**ks sake, the MCG is our home ground.

At least we play the Scummers twice @ the G.

You miss 1 game at the MCG because of the Games, and its not as if you don't have a good record at the Dome.

meltiger said:
& why on earth Hawthorn requested playing Richmond in Tasmania is beyond me. Maybe they think they will actually beat us without our members there. An extra $250 I need to spend next year that I shouldn't have too.

Yawn.

Maybe Hawthorn thinks it might actually win if it isn't missing a large core of its top side through injury, and maybe Richmond fans might like to back their side to win anywhere. :roll: Nobody has a gun to your head, making you go to Tassie.

From my perspective, I would have rather had us playing St Kilda down there. St Kilda are a much better side than Richmond and it would have been to our advantage to get them away from the Dome, and given that both the Hawks & the Saints (the former in particular) have put so much effort into bringing elite football to Tassie, it would have been more fitting.

meltiger said:
f**k I hate Hawthorn. I really, really do.

News for ya, Hawthorn doesn't give a rats, so keep hating away! :D

CyberKev

At any rate, Craig.

You may like to get the facts down BEFORE running off at the keyboard.

Hawthorn didn't specifically request Richmond for the Tasmania game, they merely asked the AFL to provide them with two extra fixtures outside of Victoria to financially compensate for losing 2 MCG games during the Commonwealth Games. The decision to pencil in Richmond for one of those fixtures was the AFL's doing.

Presumably you weren't thanking the AFL last year when they gave Richmond the softest draw, involving fewer games outside VIC than any of the other VIC-based clubs and effectively giving you an extra 2-3 away games to view in Melbourne. So I don't see why you should be bagging them out now.

meltiger

CyberKev said:
Presumably you weren't thanking the AFL last year when they gave Richmond the softest draw, involving fewer games outside VIC than any of the other VIC-based clubs and effectively giving you an extra 2-3 away games to view in Melbourne. So I don't see why you should be bagging them out now.

Where in my post did I bag the AFL for making us play 5 interstate teams on their home turf??? In fact on BigFooty I said pretty much "We had a soft draw this year, harder draw next year" - What I am frustrated at is the fact that Richmond have to play in a stadium that holds 25,000 people. Hawthorn may like to lie about their real membership numbers ... Richmond don't.

In essence, I am not bothered at all by playing the interstate teams away and personally, I think we can win 4 of the 5 - Assuming they are not exhausted after coming home from Perth for 3 days before flying to Brisbane.

So Kev, next time before you fly off into a rant in defence of your piss poor club (Holland states your crap, Hay reckons your sh*t, Everitt wants to leave so he can have a shot at a premiership - Even your own players have given up on your disgraceful club) ... Try getting your facts straight.

meltiger

CyberKev said:
Maybe Hawthorn thinks it might actually win if it isn't missing a large core of its top side through injury

Don't let yourself be fooled by the close result .... If we had of kicked straight ... We would have pounded you by 10-15 goals the last time we played.

That was with our best forward restricted by injury and our second best forward on the sidelines.

CyberKev

meltiger said:
Where in my post did I bag the AFL for making us play 5 interstate teams on their home turf??? In fact on BigFooty I said pretty much "We had a soft draw this year, harder draw next year"

You were having a big sook about the 2006 draw and blaming Hawthorn for making you play in Tasmania, when the final decision on that fixture rested with the AFL.I was merely pointing out that you can't revel in a great draw one year, then whine about having 1 game to play in Tasmania the next.

meltiger said:
What I am frustrated at is the fact that Richmond have to play in a stadium that holds 25,000 people. Hawthorn may like to lie about their real membership numbers ... Richmond don't.

LOL1: Don't expect sympathy from non-Tiger fans about playing 1 game at a smaller stadium when you're getting to play numerous MCG games against high drawing VIC-based sides.

LOL2: The membership slur was rich coming from a Tiger fan. Richmond has a higher number of "non-ticketed" members than Hawthorn and is the only club in the comp that seeks to publicly present its membership tally by combining ticketed + non-ticketed memberships in order to make the stated total look better than it really is. I also note that Richmond has never emulated Hawthorn in publicly documenting its entire ticketed membership list (names & locations).

meltiger said:
In essence, I am not bothered at all by playing the interstate teams away and personally, I think we can win 4 of the 5 - Assuming they are not exhausted after coming home from Perth for 3 days before flying to Brisbane.

They could also quite easily lose all 5, but that is hardly the point. All sides get tough fixtures to deal with in certain years, and the reality is that if you want to be a top side you need to be able to beat other sides in less than ideal circumstances.

meltiger said:
So Kev, next time before you fly off into a rant in defence of your piss poor club (Holland states your crap, Hay reckons your sh*t, Everitt wants to leave so he can have a shot at a premiership - Even your own players have given up on your disgraceful club) ... Try getting your facts straight.

Pfft. I wouldn't have to defend the club if people actually knew what they were talking about to begin with and didn't talk uneducated nonsense.

You need to get over your fixation with Hawthorn, mate. I don't know why it is that such a large core of Tiger tragics feel the need to disparage Hawthorn as a means of avoiding the ongoing flaws in their own club, but its nothing that Hawk fans are going to die in a ditch over.

camsmith

Ok Ok, i am here to save the day.

Awful Awful Draw for Richmond, But i agree we had a good one last year, so i'll call it even.

CyberKev said:
I don't know why it is that such a large core of Tiger tragics feel the need to disparage Hawthorn as a means of avoiding the ongoing flaws in their own club, but its nothing that Hawk fans are going to die in a ditch over.

It might have something to do with us having to hear Hawthorn fans crapping on about how they are the best "young" club going around, that you wanted lose all those games last year, Last season Richmond had a go and won a few games so it must mean we're worse off and you are in a better position than us in terms of development.
Most Tigers fans just laugh and get on with life when we read those sort of comments from Hawks fans, others take offence.

You also mention that we are trying to hide the flaws in our club.. what flaws may they be?

We are in the best position both on and off the field than we have been in atleast the past 15 years IMO. (except '95)

CyberKev said:
and its not as if you don't have a good record at the Dome.

We what? Not only do we lose 70% of the time at the dome (thats a rough estimate, most of those wins comming against Hawks and Dogs..)
..everytime we play at that ground lose a player for either the game or the season (Richo..Brown..Hyde..Harts..etc..)

Most of our players don't like playing at the Dome and we play MUCH MUCH better at the G as it suits our style of play.

Getting back on the draw... my god it's a crap draw lol. :shock:

CyberKev

camsmith said:
It might have something to do with us having to hear Hawthorn fans crapping on about how they are the best "young" club going around, that you wanted lose all those games last year, Last season Richmond had a go and won a few games so it must mean we're worse off and you are in a better position than us in terms of development.

I'm aware that a cross-section of Hawk tools carry on with this drivel, but if you listen to Craig its all a one-way street. We cop heaps from Tiger tragics, but its largely water of a duck's back.

I'd just say that a good number of Hawk fans (myself included) were not happy at losing games last season. For mine, we could have and should have won 10 games, regardless of the huge influx of rookies and the massive injury toll.

camsmith said:
We what? Not only do we lose 70% of the time at the dome (thats a rough estimate, most of those wins comming against Hawks and Dogs..)
..everytime we play at that ground lose a player for either the game or the season (Richo..Brown..Hyde..Harts..etc..)

Most of our players don't like playing at the Dome and we play MUCH MUCH better at the G as it suits our style of play.

Okay, I'll admit I should have looked a bit closer at the figures for that, although you did lose a few there this year during the prolonged run of losses that followed after round 9. I suspect these losses were more to do with intrinsic problems within the side itself than the location, particularly given the Tiger penchant to play tall up forward, which should suit the Dome well.

The potential injury problem posed by the Dome is of interest, however, and probably explains why St Kilda's hopes were cruelled through major player losses. Or, maybe not.

camsmith

But many of the Saints injuries happened elsewhere (well I'm thinking of riewoldt at Gabba, then at MCG have no idea about the other players, and don't really care) but i do feel that the Telstra dome service can't be helping prevent injuries.

On the Hawks fans things, i know some Richmond fans are the same, and not all hawthorn fans are boasting about having a young team. I'm just pointing out why it seems Richmond fans are carrying on about Hawthorn more than other teams..

meltiger

CyberKev said:
Okay, I'll admit I should have looked a bit closer at the figures for that, although you did lose a few there this year during the prolonged run of losses that followed after round 9. I suspect these losses were more to do with intrinsic problems within the side itself than the location, particularly given the Tiger penchant to play tall up forward, which should suit the Dome well.

The Melbourne game??? At the very LEAST, Browny broke his leg in the last quarter of the Melbourne game .... We had already been flogged all over the joint by the time he went down.

Absoloutely f**king trounced. Results that wouldn't have been repeated on the G.

The sooner they sort the finances out and tell the AFL to f**k off and play all 11 home games at the G the better Richmond will be.

We are a 10 goal better side on the MCG.

Yes, you really should have looked at some of the truely pathetic performances we have put in @ TD over the years before making any claims about how we play there.