Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2007 Crowd Watch

roopy

yakstorm said:
So after four games we have:

Gold Coast v Brisbane - 47,686
Penrith v Parramatta - 18,756
St George-Illawarra v Melbourne – 9,011
Bulldogs v Manly - 20,269

Total: 95,722
Avg: 23,931

Not a bad start to the round.
the Knights v bunnies game is pretty much sold out - but that is only 18000 at bluetonge i think.

S.S.T.I.D

brendothejet said:
OH GO AND f**k YOURSELF.

Mate I've been at plenty of 4, 5, 6k South sydney games and was at their recent clash with the bulldogs where even after 3 straight wins your hapless fans were out numbered.

It is very rich for souths fans to come out and have a go at Saints supporters.

After 3 loses, a host of injuries and a jersey flegg team playing 1st grade at the moment 9k is probably right on the money against Melbourne who bring 200 people max to the game.

I bit touchy aren't we princess?

None of what you said changes the fact that 9K is a sh*t crowd. We are only 5 rounds in and the 'army' has already waved the flag.

So you can go and f**k yourself.

mattyg

20,000 at Sydney on a Sat Night with another game on is fantastic IMO...not often will you see a sat night sydney game with more than 15k at it, let alone 20.

ByRd

i was surprised with the crowd at telstra, wasnt expecting anything above 16k tbh, good effort

Ron Jeremy

mattyg said:
20,000 at Sydney on a Sat Night with another game on is fantastic IMO...not often will you see a sat night sydney game with more than 15k at it, let alone 20.

Why wouldn't they get 20,000? both teams are in good form and anything less would've been a poor crowd.

Ron Jeremy

S.S.T.I.D said:
I bit touchy aren't we princess?

None of what you said changes the fact that 9K is a sh*t crowd. We are only 5 rounds in and the 'army' has already waved the flag.

So you can go and f**k yourself.

Every RL club in Sydney will struggle with crowds when they aren't going well, so waving the flag has nothing to do with it.

Look at Canterbury, before Mason, O'Meley etc and before 2001 they struggled with crowds consistently, but since they have been succesful and they have built up a following due to great results & marketable players, if they were to start loosing eg end of 2005 you'll see there crowds go very quickly aswell. The Tigers following in 2005 was f**king huge, but recently that has died of aswell due to inconsistancy.

Any side in Sydney will get massive crowds and followings if they're consistently playing well. Roosters are a great example of this.

Ron Jeremy

roopy said:
the Knights v bunnies game is pretty much sold out - but that is only 18000 at bluetonge i think.

As it should be, surprised it hasn't been sold out already? nothing happening on the central coast this weekend, and it isn't likes its warm enough to go sunbaking.

mattyg

coz there is heaps to do on saturday nights in sydney, manly fans don't travel.

any sydney saturday night game usually struggles to pull in a decent crowd. Can't remember the last time that more than 20k came out on a saturday night.

Ron Jeremy

mattyg said:
coz there is heaps to do on saturday nights in sydney, manly fans don't travel.

any sydney saturday night game usually struggles to pull in a decent crowd. Can't remember the last time that more than 20k came out on a saturday night.

How many games like this are usually shown on a Sat night? none, they are generally reserved for Friday nights & Sunday Arvos on ch 9, but due to ch 9 forcasting fixtures much earlier they farked up. If Parra played Cantebury last night it would've drawn 25+ or there abouts.

And there are plenty of occasions of games generating 15,000 + crowds on a Sat nights featuring average playing clubs.

mattyg

all i can remember is all the 6-9k crowds sat night games were pulling in last year with the Live TV broadcast on foxtel...20k was more than respectable considering manly fans dont generally travel. And i reckon if this game was played on a friday night we'd have pulled another 5k at least...last year we got 26k on a friday night against Brisbane of all teams.

yosh64

brendothejet said:
OH GO AND f**k YOURSELF.

Mate I've been at plenty of 4, 5, 6k South sydney games and was at their recent clash with the bulldogs where even after 3 straight wins your hapless fans were out numbered.

It is very rich for souths fans to come out and have a go at Saints supporters.

After 3 loses, a host of injuries and a jersey flegg team playing 1st grade at the moment 9k is probably right on the money against Melbourne who bring 200 people max to the game.

Look i can understand you sticking up for your team.Thats fine. But i was wondering why St George never have great crowd figures.

2002 - 12450
2003 - 13061
2004 - 14347
2005 - 14780
2006 - 13825
2007 - 11279 as at end of round 4, so its even less now.

But why? Whats the max capacity at the two stadiums? Are they doing anything about increasing the crowds? Are they doing anything to increase the capacity at the stadiums if they arent very large? St George are one of Sydneys best teams and they really should be getting crowds around the avg or better each year.

effnic

Its funny how the crowd was 70% dogs and 30% manly but all you can hear is the manly chant most of the game. Shame doggies supporters shame.

effnic said:
Its funny how the crowd was 70% dogs and 30% manly but all you can hear is the manly chant most of the game. Shame doggies supporters shame.
:lol: Generally that's what you'll hear if you're in that area. The only times Manly made noise was when tries were scored. The rest of the game - quiet as a mouse. Chanting most of the game? You're kidding, right?

Either way, Saints - f**king woeful. Yeah, opponents were Melbourne, yeah, it was 5:30 Saturday, but 12k at a bare minimum. 9k is utterly disgraceful.

Very pleased with the Dogs Manly crowd. Very good stuff from two passionate bases.

And for the record effnic, it was closer to 80%-20%

They were loud, I'll cop that, but they didn't make up any more than 20% (25% tops) of the crowd. They have much better cohesion when it comes to chanting than most teams, but they were all concentrated into one area which was fair enough.

t-ba said:
20% = 4000 = Best traveling support Manly has had since the 1980's.

Spot on - far from accusing them of not turning up - a really good effort from your mob to show in the numbers you did.

And so the slide begins:

Gold Coast v Brisbane - 47,686
Penrith v Parramatta - 18,756
St George-Illawarra v Melbourne – 9,011
Bulldogs v Manly - 20,269
Warriors v NQ - 11,260

Total: 106,982
Avg: 21,396

20,100 IMO @ Bluetongue, 15-16k @ Cambo, 11k at Canberra.

I'd put us at 19,200 avg with any luck.

nqboy

11K at Mt Smart is still a step up from last year. And they won, so that will get them back with their friends next time. Cold and wet in Auckland, kept the crowd down apparently.