Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2007 Draw RELEASED

spider

dannyboy said:
SS has paid attention over the years. Yes I am a Sharks man.
I wasn't having a cheeky shot at Sharks fans, just Shire-ites

Carch would know you are a Sharks fan.

I recall the forum giving it to Wilson when she was in the box and DB posted something about us forumers knowing or professing to know more than her.

The response from Carch to DB's post was something about we can cause we have a penis.

dannyboy

Sorry Carch but it's true...I was born and bred in The Shire and indoctrinated to a lifetime (40 years) of exasperation belonging to that of a Sharks desperate....

I escaped its clutches over 20 years ago. The implant I was given at birth permits me to re-enter without the obligatory police check when I visit my parents though.

oh

It was just such a cliche thing to say that is usually the work of ill informed Dragons fans.

FTR
People on here that have travelled that I know of
Macca( extensively )
Dread - Mexico and Greece
Myself
Thommo went to the US last year
Newman battled jet lag to get to the first game of the season after travelling from Novia Scotia.
One of the young guys I spoke with on the penrith bus trip had lived in a town called Leiden in Holland ( I had also lived there for a little while) his mate he had with him was dutch.
Mullet went on an overseas cruise this year I think was.
pLus others if you check the international pub thread.

My mates that follow the sharks and who live in the shire have all travelled far and wide.
One just got back from the US last week .
Another went through africa and Indo with me.
A guy I am going away with tomorrow has been to Indo over 10 times along with large chunks of time spent overseas in europe and africa.

my original comment was having a go at the timing of the local derby and it being scheduled for Easter.
I think that is poor for all 3 :) teams supporters.

ha ha . . . all 3

It's a definite myth. The fact that we want to live where we grew up just means it's a sh*t hot area not that we don't travel. If there was a study done I bet shire folk would be above average for overseas trips. Well above average.

This sort of crap usually comes from Dragons fans or jealous people . . . hang on that's the same thing.

Bundy

We've all heard this one but I just thought this would be a pertinent time to revive it. One of my all time favourites...

An Englishman decided to write a book about famous churches around the world. So he bought a Plane ticket and took a trip to Australia, thinking that he would start by working his way through Sydney from the City to the Shire. On his first day he was inside a church taking photographs when he noticed a golden telephone mounted on the wall, with a sign that read "$10,000 per call." The Englishman, being intrigued, asked a nearby priest what the telephone was used for. The priest replied that it was a direct line to heaven and that for $10,000 you could talk to God. The Englishman thanked the priest and went along his way.

Next stop was in St Andrews. There, at a very large cathedral, he saw the same golden telephone with the same sign under it. He wondered if this was the same kind of telephone he saw in the first Church and he asked a nearby nun what its purpose was. She told him that it was a direct line to heaven and that for $10,000 he could talk to God. " OK, thank you," said the Englishman.

He then travelled through the many churches on his way to the Shire. In every church, he saw the same golden telephone with the same "$10,000 per call" sign under it.

The Englishman then reached the well known Elephant House in Cronulla. There was the same golden telephone, but this time the sign under it read, "40c per call." The Englishamn was surprised so he asked the priest about the sign.

"Father, I've travelled all over Sydney and I've seen this same golden telephone in every Church I've visited. I'm told that it is a direct line to heaven, but in all the other Churches the price was $10,000 per call. Why is it so cheap here?"

The priest smiled and answered, "You're in the Shire now son - it's only a local call."

dannyboy

Oldy but a goddie Bundy...only one catch is that the Elephant House is Anglican. Ministers, Curates and Reverends at the altar...Priests in the congregation only.

beekershark

I'm not a "shire " person per se. I was born in the mighty sutho hospital however as a wee lad of 5 years was forced to pack my sharks jumper and relocated to the bush for my formulative schooling years. I returned to the big smoke on the first train after my HSC but not to live in the shire. Not because I don't like the shire, just because for me personally , it's too bloody far away from the city ! I'd love to live there if I didnt have to work in the city, but commuting is not for me.

Does that mean I am not a sharks fan ? of course not, just the same as the sharks fans in Mackay, townsville, auckland etc .

I do know plenty of "shire" heads and have some great mates there. At times I can understand totally why "outsiders" bag shire people for a percieved " insular" attitude, however I don't know many people who are not patriotic about their own home town and take pride in where they live and where they are from.

Shire people travel plenty , this is evidenced by the fact that P & 0 and travel agents that specialise in booking Bali trips are still in business :)

dannyboy

Macca said:
It's a definite myth. The fact that we want to live where we grew up just means it's a sh*t hot area not that we don't travel. If there was a study done I bet shire folk would be above average for overseas trips. Well above average..

I don't deny that The Shire has some sh*t hot parts...it also has some pretty ordinary ones too. Even many shire folk don't think of the tract of land from Illawong to Waterfall as really being in The Shire. The presumption is often that the further you live from the breakers at Wanda, the less of a Shire-ite you are. If that's the case then the desirability of the location is being assessed by a wax-head menatality yet there are even more awesome beaches less crowded and more trouble free up and down the coast of NSW alone.

Or maybe the desirability is being rated by the well to do mob down Woolooware Road South (the self proclaimed suburb called Burraneer). Unless you overlook Port Hacking, Gunnamatta or Burraneer Bay what's that spot got to be thankgul for - no parks nearby, no shops without driving, no schools

I'm truthfully interested in what makes The Shire so sh*t hot.

The Attorney

Have a look at the rest of sydney

Its a sh*t hole

I agree there are some good places in the rest of australia. Can you blame us for being this way when you compare gods country to the rest of sydney.

I think the reason it is such an excellent place is that it has as much in common with smaller coastal towns as well as the most populated city in australia

IE the best of both worlds

spider

dannyboy said:
Or maybe the desirability is being rated by the well to do mob down Woolooware Road South (the self proclaimed suburb called Burraneer). Unless you overlook Port Hacking, Gunnamatta or Burraneer Bay what's that spot got to be thankgul for - no parks nearby, no shops without driving, no schools.

Bottleshop on the stretch - thats the only shop needed.

The residents dont get to name the locality,

dannyboy

SpiderShark said:
Bottleshop on the stretch - thats the only shop needed.

The residents dont get to name the locality,

On the contrary...the residents kept referring to it as Burraneer for 'snob value' until it became an accepted reference. When I was growing up Woolooware was on the northern side of the railway only and started west of Franklin road....now it extends south of The Kingsway. Woolooware Rd Sth was Cronulla - and the suburb of Cronulla extended west to around the Pig Farm.

As for the nest of shops with the bottle-o, it's the only shops within coo-ee for those down Burraneer way but its still a drive or the milk would be warm by the time you got back home again. That group of shops hasn't changed significantly all of my life...I do still remember the Scoop/Super Save/what-ever it is called being built....only shop open for a summer paddle-pop on a Sunday arvo when I was a nipper.

If that's the case then the desirability of the location is being assessed by a wax-head menatality yet there are even more awesome beaches less crowded and more trouble free up and down the coast of NSW alone.

I'm not privy to all the stats collected by the sensus but I'd reckon the beaches up and down the coast are less crowded on account of there being less people living there.
Call me crazy ...but it's just a hunch.

dannyboy said:
I'm truthfully interested in what makes The Shire so sh*t hot.

Most days when I get home from work I take a walk along the esplanade at Cronulla, I take in the sweeping views of the Cronulla beaches, the surfers out at the point or Shark Island, the boats sailing or fishing, Shelly Beach, Oak park, Jibbon, Bundeena, the Royal National Park, and then there's the women, lycra clad babes out for a walk, usual in twos or threes.

And that's just my exercise for the day.

dannyboy

Bastard_Squad said:
Most days when I get home from work I take a walk along the esplanade at Cronulla, I take in the sweeping views of the Cronulla beaches, the surfers out at the point or Shark Island, the boats sailing or fishing, Shelly Beach, Oak park, Jibbon, Bundeena, the Royal National Park, and then there's the women, lycra clad babes out for a walk, usual in twos or threes..

Yes that would be one of the sh*t hot parts of the shire and one that could entice me back. But what of Unit 14 of the block opposite Tynan's at Kirrawee. Or the WWII housing commission 2 bedder in Loftus with a view of your 73 year old neighbour's frillies on her tired old hills hoist.

To me, the draw card of The Shire is the beach and I would only come back if I could live within a short walk of it.

dannyboy

Picnic Point.
When the southerlies blow I can smell the superiority of The Shire...mind you it's only from those Shire "Westies" :p

dannyboy

Is that a sorry you don't know where it is or a sorry that i have to live in such a place where my backyard extends straight into national park