Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2008 merchandise

eelz47 said:
sweet i am gunna get a jersey and turn it into a muscle shirt, cause everybody knows about my big muscles:lol:

and i still beleive the jerseys aint 100% player ones, unless they change the collars/buttons
the material is now identical to the players strip with the perferations in it like the training gear.

eelz47

i know it has perferations in it, but i still reckon it might be slight different material

eelz47 said:
i reckon you guys will make good mark up on jerseys

and the new jerseys are similar to player strips in material
They are slow moving and mark up is 40% less than other products.
I like how everybody not in retail think retailers make good markups on everything.
By the time you pay rent, wages, fees, insurance etc there is not much left as profit beleive me.

eelaholic

parra-matters said:
They are slow moving and mark up is 40% less than other products.
I like how everybody not in retail think retailers make good markups on everything.
By the time you pay rent, wages, fees, insurance etc there is not much left as profit beleive me.

eelz47 does work in retail, hence why he made that assumption

eelz47

yes i do, and i know rebel/wynnies would not lose money on products when they sell the jerseys for $60 etc etc

They buy them at the end of season from the supplier at a discounted rate, ever noticed how not all teams are $60?
I can tell that the wholesale price is nearly double that.

Saw the jersey at Good Gear today at Tuggerah, there was only one, but it def. had Mounties on the sleeves tbh

Parra Guru

parra-matters said:
They buy them at the end of season from the supplier at a discounted rate, ever noticed how not all teams are $60?
I can tell that the wholesale price is nearly double that.

p-m I heard that Peter Wynn's and a few others bought a whole stack at the end of season, and Rebel actually missed out.

Wynnies has a lot of good stuff but they love to fool the consumer with their mark ups. I'm not saying that's the same for where u work but when Parra went well in the finals, they actually marked the 86 retro jersey UP to about $140, even though they'd been sitting there for ages at $130. I'll always shop there for variety, but I am always cautious of what I pay for footy stuff.

StEely Matt

Not sure if this had been posted... internet sucks in Italy and couldn't be arsed going through earlier posts as it would take me from now until the end of next season!

2008_eelshomejersey.JPG

http://www.rugbyleaguestore.com.au/product_info.php?products_id=999

problem is Matt, that jersey still contains the Mounties sleave sponsor and they're no longer a sponsor of the club.

Tyler Durden

should it be an issue that stores are happily flogging parra 08 jerseys that are wrong ?

some poor sucker will be ripped off $150+ for a jersey that is already out of date even before the season kicks off.

StEely Matt

eelavation said:
problem is Matt, that jersey still contains the Mounties sleave sponsor and they're no longer a sponsor of the club.

Ah I see... so who is the new sponsor?

And yes I agree... the poor bastards who bought this jersey thinking it was the official up to date 2008 Eels one!

Tyler Durden said:
should it be an issue that stores are happily flogging parra 08 jerseys that are wrong ?

some poor sucker will be ripped off $150+ for a jersey that is already out of date even before the season kicks off.
But as a retailer I know if I ordered a Parra Jersey from ISC it would come with the sleeve sponsor as Mounties and they would not give me a discount, I complained last year when the 1st batch I got didn't have SEW Eurodrive on the back and they told me they wouldn't even make any of those til the others sold out. The wholesaler is the main cause of these problems but from the publics point of view they all blame the retailer.

Parra Guru said:
p-m I heard that Peter Wynn's and a few others bought a whole stack at the end of season, and Rebel actually missed out.

Wynnies has a lot of good stuff but they love to fool the consumer with their mark ups. I'm not saying that's the same for where u work but when Parra went well in the finals, they actually marked the 86 retro jersey UP to about $140, even though they'd been sitting there for ages at $130. I'll always shop there for variety, but I am always cautious of what I pay for footy stuff.
I too missed out on Parra ones but managed to get a few Souths away strips and some training shirts of Souths and Newcastle.

StEely Matt said:
Ah I see... so who is the new sponsor?

And yes I agree... the poor bastards who bought this jersey thinking it was the official up to date 2008 Eels one!

as far as I'm aware we don't have a sleave sponsor as yet...

StEely Matt

eelavation said:
as far as I'm aware we don't have a sleave sponsor as yet...

News just in... "Handy Hindy Tree Removal Service" the official sleave sponsor...

Way to get your up and coming business recognised champ!

I'd take issue with the club allowing the jersey to go to manufacture without checking the sponsorship tbh.

Basically they want the new season jersey's in pre-xmas for xmas sales, the manufacters always blame the clubs and the clubs blame the manufacters.
A perfect example was the Tigers jerseys in 2006, the tigers changed sponsors last minute and didn't tell XBlades till after the order was sent to China to be manfactered and they managed to stop the whole order from being made but quite a few were made that Blades got stuck with. ISC make all their jerseys here so less chance of problems like that.
Last the Bulldogs jerseys weren't in stock til mid May due to a sponsor change that the club didn't finalise til Febuary, Nike wanted file comformation in Nov/Dec but the Dogs hadn't signed the contract yet so Nike wouldn't make any til final comformation for fear of being stuck with obslite goods. But by doing so cost them heaps of sales.
The NRL themselves have to finalise everything and that seems to take them a month and heaps of NRL merchindise is delayed all the time.