Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2009 Grand Final

lingard

I always thought that the bomb would have gone straight to Reddy who was sitting in the sheds at that point in time.

Absolutely. I've always thought that was the real turning point in the game. Reddy had been impeccable with his cleaning up of bombs in defence. I'm certain he would have been standing right there and taken it with his eyes closed. Melbourne don't score that try, we win the game. I'm certain of it.

Joshuatheeel

I reckon apart from the slater penalty, Burt failing to convert the last try really hurt us. It would have only put us 4 behind, with the ability to score right up to full time. At 6 down, storm would have always gone fio the field goal, too smart of a side to stuff it up.

Dibs

But I don't think it was all Hayne's fault. Ben Smith had been playing second row all year and was shifted out to the centres then straight away Melbourne kicked in his direction and he had no idea how to catch it.
Agree it was had major impact but not as much as the last minute strip penalty

I think he forgot that he was the centre and blocked the runner from coming through to catch it. Then realized to late that he was meant to be catching it.

Utey

That Fui try was about as good as you see in a GF. Pure guts to get us back into the game.

I watched it the day after, and several times since.
If you fall off a horse.........

I watched it the day after, and several times since.
If you fall off a horse.........

if you fall off a horse, watch a granf final?

what the f**k have horses got to do with footy? .... and I'd be re-assessing my leisure activities if you have fallen off a horse several times since

Haven't watched the 01 or 09 gfs.

Neither have I watched the 98,99 or 2005 major Semis. I will when we finally win another GF whenever that may be.

You should be able to buy the DVD this XMAS mate :)

Remember, The Thunder Eels :cool: