Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2014 Draw Released - it's gonna be tough

ucantseeme

http://www.foxsports.com.au/league/...ease-of-the-draw/story-fn2mcuj6-1226774903327

TIGERS:

Teams they play twice: Dragons, Titans, Rabbitohs, Sea Eagles, Cowboys, Roosters, Sharks, Raiders, Bulldogs

Friday night games (1-20): 4
Saturday games (1-20): 5
Sunday games (1-20): 8
Monday games (1-20): 1

Summary: Facing three of the teams that finished in last season's top four and six of the top eight, the Wests Tigers have a tough draw. They do however face Brisbane and South Sydney minus their Origin stars and apart from traveling to the Gold Coast and Wellington in the first four weeks, they don't have to board another plane until round 22. However they have a tough finish to the season which includes facing the Storm, Cowboys, Roosters and Bulldogs. Bye rounds in 12 and 15.

Its always gunna be tough when 14 teams finish above you

Im happy with the draw, hoping injuries arent as big a factor and that we can improve by 3,4,5 wins...thatd do me...more a bonus

Most fans should be pretty happy with what Mayers managed to score for us

DanOz

Most fans should be pretty happy with what Mayers managed to score for us
Half the joint venture will be unhappy. Is it 4 Sunday afternoon games at Leichhardt against 3 Sydney based teams to ensure a packed house compared to 3 designated Saturday night games at Campbelltown and 4 interstate teams which will ensure half crowds. Even the Panthers game is at Leichhardt this year.

super_coach

Hard draw,but you have to be able to beat all teams if you expect to make finals football.

I just hope we have the playing roster that is capable of competing with the better sides.I somehow think we are in for a year similar to last year, although a good run with injuries,some good calls and some real improvement in form by a few players and we could suprize.

Tigers Tale

Hard draw,but you have to be able to beat all teams if you expect to make finals football.

You're right with what you say and I understand with this system where you play some, but not all teams twice, someone has to get a tough draw. I really can't see why they can't do something like seeding based on where you finish last year. This is a few years in a row we have copped it tough compared to say a team like the Sharks.

Half the joint venture will be unhappy. Is it 4 Sunday afternoon games at Leichhardt against 3 Sydney based teams to ensure a packed house compared to 3 designated Saturday night games at Campbelltown and 4 interstate teams which will ensure half crowds. Even the Panthers game is at Leichhardt this year.

Mate, I am a Manly fan that lives in Campbelltown and I could'nt agree more. My family are all Tigers fans and we are sick to death of having games doled out to Campbelltown that no-one is interested in.

All we want is some Sydney rivalry blockbusters at a convenient time. Considering there are only 4 games per year here is that too much to ask. Not one Sydney team coming to Campbelltown. Then the board will justify moving games away by citing low crowd numbers and saying the locals wont follow their team. Absolute BS, imagine Wests v Parra, Dogs, Manly, St George or Souths. All would attract other teams supporters aswell.

Saturday night in the middle of winter to watch origin depleted teams that no-one in Sydney follows. Great way to attract crowds NRL. Are they that simple???

Anyway, hopefully next year.

DanOz

Mate, I am a Manly fan that lives in Campbelltown and I could'nt agree more. My family are all Tigers fans and we are sick to death of having games doled out to Campbelltown that no-one is interested in.

All we want is some Sydney rivalry blockbusters at a convenient time. Considering there are only 4 games per year here is that too much to ask. Not one Sydney team coming to Campbelltown. Then the board will justify moving games away by citing low crowd numbers and saying the locals wont follow their team. Absolute BS, imagine Wests v Parra, Dogs, Manly, St George or Souths. All would attract other teams supporters aswell.

Saturday night in the middle of winter to watch origin depleted teams that no-one in Sydney follows. Great way to attract crowds NRL. Are they that simple???

Spot on mate. I don't mind a couple of Sat night games, but throw us at least one Sunday and share the Sydney teams. I remember the Balmain side of the JV comparing crowd figures last year. Amazingly when we played the Broncos on a Sat night and Canberra on a rainy Sat night last year at Campbelltown while we were on a massive losing streak crowd figures were down shock horror lol

Some former Magpies want to take over the JV due to the fact Balmain cant pay the bills. I am not one of these. I support the JV, but want equality, which means sharing the games against Sydney teams, sharing the day time footy, and releasing merchandise that is not orange dominated as if we were the Balmain Tigers. I cant help the channel 9 morons calling Leichhardt the spiritual home of the Wests Tigers which it is NOT - it WAS the home of the Balmain Tigers. I cant help the Channel 9 morons only referring to us as the Tigers. But the CLUB can do a lot more to promote both sides of the joint venture equally.

It seems the board is determined to kill of the Wests Tigers in the west. We already lose a lot of juniors to Penrith because locals would rather drive there than Concord which is where Wests Tigers base their training etc

BuffaloRules

Out of interest, how did the game against Penrith go this season early rounds on a sunny Sunday arvo at Campbelltown?

10K from memory...

Plenty of excuses out Cambo way...

DanOz

Out of interest, how did the game against Penrith go this season early rounds on a sunny Sunday arvo at Campbelltown?

10K from memory...

Plenty of excuses out Cambo way...
Out of interest - did Balmain pay any of the money they are required to pay as part of the terms of the JV? $0 from memory. Plenty of excuses out Balmain way...

BuffaloRules

Out of interest - did Balmain pay any of the money they are required to pay as part of the terms of the JV? $0 from memory. Plenty of excuses out Balmain way...

Move the goalposts hey after you got shown up ....:lol:

No wonder the Penrith game got moved for 2014

The NRL and sponsors pay the most money to the JV by far.. I couldnt care less where the remaining rats and mice come from

mepelthwack

Playing broncos only once is a huge plus, they are our real bogey team. Some1 said during origin? Awesome.

We have to compete with the top sides to make the 8 anyway, the draw is fine for us.

DanOz

Its not a wonder there is a group wanting to cut Balmain altogether since they can't meet their financial obligations. Even a neutral Manly supporter can see what a raw deal Campbelltown got out of the draw. What is the issue with both Campbelltown and Leichhardt getting a crack at day time footy against Sydney teams? One half of the JV has had it all their own way for too long despite not being financially viable.

BuffaloRules

Its not a wonder there is a group wanting to cut Balmain altogether since they can't meet their financial obligations. Even a neutral Manly supporter can see what a raw deal Campbelltown got out of the draw. What is the issue with both Campbelltown and Leichhardt getting a crack at day time footy against Sydney teams? One half of the JV has had it all their own way for too long despite not being financially viable.

But I've shown you that the last time Campbelltown had a game during the day against a Sydney team the crowd was pathetic.

Why would the club schedule another day game there against the same team in 2014?

I am tired of the continual whining from the Cambo brigade about " it's not fair and the other side is favoured".

There were no day games at Leichardt in 2013.I don't recall people from the other side carrying on like pork chops last year and saying that the Wests side of the JV was favoured.

Personally, I don't care when the games get played at Leichhardt provided they are not Monday nights.

And I am going to go regardless of who the opponent is.

There is no doubt that there are issues around getting people to games at Campbelltown, but as shown with the crowd the last time, these don't include the opponents or time of the game.

And there is no chance that they are going to play Southe, Parra or Cantebury anywhere but ANZ ever, and St George is unlikely.

So tell me out of Manly, Roosters and Sharks, which of these is going to fill Campbelltown?

None of them are famous for the numbers of their travelling fans.

Some will find anything to whinge about, even "Manly" fans who sign up to the forum to comment on a Tigers draw.

ucantseeme

I can't see Cambo ever being sold out in the future. Unless it is a Rd 26 playoff for the minor premiership, 1 v 2. Even then I wouldn't count on it. Too far, too isolated, too scary.

DanOz

But I've shown you that the last time Campbelltown had a game during the day against a Sydney team the crowd was pathetic.

Why would the club schedule another day game there against the same team in 2014?

I am tired of the continual whining from the Cambo brigade about " it's not fair and the other side is favoured".

There were no day games at Leichardt in 2013.I don't recall people from the other side carrying on like pork chops last year and saying that the Wests side of the JV was favoured.

Personally, I don't care when the games get played at Leichhardt provided they are not Monday nights.

And I am going to go regardless of who the opponent is.

There is no doubt that there are issues around getting people to games at Campbelltown, but as shown with the crowd the last time, these don't include the opponents or time of the game.

And there is no chance that they are going to play Southe, Parra or Cantebury anywhere but ANZ ever, and St George is unlikely.

So tell me out of Manly, Roosters and Sharks, which of these is going to fill Campbelltown?

None of them are famous for the numbers of their travelling fans.
Why would they play at Campbelltown? To ensure both sides of the JV get equal treatment. You quote 1 poor crowd figure as if that sealed fate for all time. I know Leichhardt had some poor crowds last year as well but could not be bothered googling figures etc because my point is BOTH sides of the JV should get EQUAL treatment and if you cant agree with that than your bias puts you into the no need to discuss this further category for me.