Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2015 Crowd Watch

Canard

lol so he didnt spin the data? Is this the first year of mnf? or tnf?

Who is he? Do you mean Buzz? Because that's my point that he did spin it.

Im certain there wasn't TNF in 2011, could be wrong though>

But do you seriously think that after 3 rounds its time to judge crowds??

It's negative bullshit mate.

Did Canard actually think that Melbourne has a larger population than every city in the US bar New York!?

Oh. My. God.

Bruh. No.

I was trying to draw out a bullshit account.

Did Canard actually think that Melbourne has a larger population than every city in the US bar New York!?

Oh. My. God.

Bruh. No.

Believe it or not, but it looks like Canard is correct. Just check out the following which is on the site of the US Census Bureau -

http://factfinder.census.gov/faces/tableservices/jsf/pages/productview.xhtml?src=bkmk

The only US city with more than 4 million people, as of the 2010 Census is New York. The next biggest is Los Angeles with a population of 3,792,621.

It is just they have far more cities with populations of over 1 million than we do in Australia.

Canard

The constant negativity is really disturbing.

The AFL doesn't get anywhere near this much bad press, nor the A-League.

I suppose it could be worse, you could get no press like the Super Rugby does.

This rounds MNF game is likely to get 6000K MAX!

SLRBRONCOS

Believe it or not, but it looks like Canard is correct. Just check out the following which is on the site of the US Census Bureau -

http://factfinder.census.gov/faces/tableservices/jsf/pages/productview.xhtml?src=bkmk

The only US city with more than 4 million people, as of the 2010 Census is New York. The next biggest is Los Angeles with a population of 3,792,621.

It is just they have far more cities with populations of over 1 million than we do in Australia.

As someone stated earlier in the thread, they have a different way of calculating the population of their cities. That 3,792,621 in LA is that of the direct city centre, not the immediate suburbs surrounding, when worked out with the suburbs of the city like we do with our Australian totals (Urban total area, 200people per km/2), LA has a population of: Los Angeles, USA (14,900,000).

Source: http://www.worldatlas.com/citypops.htm

NOTE: Numbers shown include population within the recognised metro area of the city, and they also include people
living in the immediate surrounding area outside of the established border of the city, (the immediate suburbs)

8. New York, USA (20,464,000)
17. Los Angeles, USA (14,900,000)
28. Chicago, USA (9,121,000)
54. Dallas-Fort Worth, USA (5,874,000)
55. San Francisco-San Jose, USA (5,864,000)
57. Miami, USA (5,582,000)
60. Philadelphia, USA (5,474,000)
63. Houston, USA (5,383,000)
72. Atlanta, USA (4,715,000)
74. Washington, D.C., USA (4,679,000)
81. Boston, USA (4,427,000)
89. Phoenix-Mesa, USA (4,076,000)

94. Sydney, Australia (3,785,000)

betcats

Who is he? Do you mean Buzz? Because that's my point that he did spin it.

Im certain there wasn't TNF in 2011, could be wrong though>

But do you seriously think that after 3 rounds its time to judge crowds??

It's negative bullshit mate.

So are crowd numbers over 3 rounds down or up? What spin did he put on the crowd numbers?

I think 3 rounds is certainly not enough to make a definitive judgement on the season but the NRL keeps telling us they are going to grow crowds etc I am just wondering when it will happen because I dont see why there will be a big jump in crowds after a few more rounds, if anything they will go down again for origin period as they always do.

papabear

They refer to the city as just the city limits... like the city of Sydney council area.

not as the whole metropolitan area.

Use the whole metro area and they are much much bigger in fact some of their cities on the east coast are connecting together they are so big now.

Canard

So are crowd numbers over 3 rounds down or up? What spin did he put on the crowd numbers?

I think 3 rounds is certainly not enough to make a definitive judgement on the season but the NRL keeps telling us they are going to grow crowds etc I am just wondering when it will happen because I dont see why there will be a big jump in crowds after a few more rounds, if anything they will go down again for origin period as they always do.

I don't disagree with your last paragraph, I don't think that you can judge it though unless you can directly compare rounds with the exact same matchups and timeslots.

Basically what he is claiming is statistically irrelevant.

FTA is up sligjtly in Sydney and down slightly in Brisbane according to that article. Pay tv is down 15 percent apparently, this is just over the first 3 rounds.

As above 3 percent down is nothing, its basically meaning its the same.

Note how he highlighted the slightly DOWN part but downplayed the slighty up in Sydney.

betcats

Yeah I did notice that. Look I take everything he writes with a grain of salt.

My concern is the operating budget has increased massively but we dont seem to be seeing any results. TV and crowd numbers are not much better and in a lot of cases worse, refs are still incosistent, MRC is worse than ever, Judiciary is still inconsistent, the intergrity unit is an absolute joke, Promotion and marketing doesnt seem any better. I havent heard anyone say country or junior footy is doing better actually everyone I know or have heard from through media who is involved in those groups has said its the same or worse in terms of funding so what is going on? How long before the game actually starts growing instead of just talking about it?

Canard

Captains Challenge is just a mechanism by which to go to the video referee.

It wouldn't solve the situations that arose on the weekend, because its still up to the video ref to make the call.

I did see Archer admitting that the Matai try on Friday night was incorrect in his opinion. He maintained that he agreed with the DWZ call however.

Captains Challenge is really more for "in field" howlers, and even then its not a guarantee as to correctness.

RWB

Not sure why the Warriors game was moved to 10am but the Roosters/Raiders will still play at 2pm.

Surely it would've been a win/win for Fox & the NRL to move the game to 12pm.

thorson1987

Not sure why the Warriors game was moved to 10am but the Roosters/Raiders will still play at 2pm.

Surely it would've been a win/win for Fox & the NRL to move the game to 12pm.

Cricket World Cup final.

This way both will still be live on 9

insert.pause

I don't disagree with your last paragraph, I don't think that you can judge it though unless you can directly compare rounds with the exact same matchups and timeslots.

Basically what he is claiming is statistically irrelevant.

As above 3 percent down is nothing, its basically meaning its the same.

Note how he highlighted the slightly DOWN part but downplayed the slighty up in Sydney.

2014 opening 3 rds STV ratings total = 3,199, avg = 213k
2015 opening 3 rds STV ratings total = 3,176, avg = 212k

difference = -0.469%

2014 STV season avg = 203k
2015 STV season avg = 212k

difference = +4.43%

Rothfield is a lying sack of shit, STV ratings are not "down more than 15 per cent"

Canard

2014 opening 3 rds STV ratings total = 3,199, avg = 213k
2015 opening 3 rds STV ratings total = 3,176, avg = 212k

difference = -0.469%

2014 STV season avg = 203k
2015 STV season avg = 212k

difference = +4.43%

Rothfield is a lying sack of shit, STV ratings are not "down more than 15 per cent"

Good work.

Someone should hit him up on twitter about it!

Raiderdave

We have 2 massive rounds to come in April
Easter & ANZAC

Potentially 200k plus for both...

Things are fine
& rothfield is a wanker...

RWB

Nvm I saw the advertised television time for the QLDers.

Just a shame we've been handed two pretty unfortunate time slots for our opening 2 home games of the season.

Dogs Of War

Nvm I saw the advertised television time for the QLDers.

Just a shame we've been handed two pretty unfortunate time slots for our opening 2 home games of the season.

It's 11am start for us in qld.

As for the timeslots. Good that you won, cause if you didn't it could really hurt going forward.

RWB

It's 11am start for us in qld.

As for the timeslots. Good that you won, cause if you didn't it could really hurt going forward.

10:30 the coverage starts.

Andrew Voss @AndrewVossy · 10h 10 hours ago
If @sydneyroosters are smart & Aust make world cup final, I would have the final showing on one of the big screens throughout game v Cberra.

Interesting thought... I'd definitely be showing it at half time and maybe a score update in the corner of the screen.