Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2015 NRL Jersey & Sponsorship Discussion

Nuke

Does anyone else -like me- miss the big Grand Final patches on the jerseys?
I understand them not being able to put them on the sleeves like they did in the 80's and 90's (given sleeves are smaller than ever, and are taken up with a huge sponsors logo), but I would love to see the Grand Final patch over the Telstra Premiership logo return. Last year, and seemingly this year too, they've got the words stitched onto the chest, which is a bit 'meh'. Players every week have something stitched on their jersey like that (first grade debut, 150th game, ect).

It could just be me that misses the patches though.

beave

Nah because Melbourne went on to play Cronulla at SFS in a Prelim and destroyed them 27-0 or something.

Ah my bad.

Either way, I still reckon to this day Ashton copped it more over that than what he should have, I really felt sorry for him at the time.

big hit!

You'd have to think it will be the same as week 1 finals.

Plus I'm sure Toyota love having their massive red logo on show

hodges-thurston.jpg

From what I've seen in terms of GF week team photos, both have worn home kits for these, but that could just be for sponsorship or NRL rules.

thorson1987

From what I've seen in terms of GF week team photos, both have worn home kits for these.

I think there's a sponsorship issue with the Broncos home kit though, isn't there? That's why they've been wearing the retro kit fairly solidly in the back end of the season. Sporting Bet is on the back of the home, Waterhouse Hill is on back of the retro.

Its william hill, and they bought out sportingbet.

And its pretty easy to place one sponsor over another.

I would say the wore the heritage one at home more often because the fans preferred it.

big hit!

Its william hill, and they bought out sportingbet.

And its pretty easy to place one sponsor over another.

I would say the wore the heritage one at home more often because the fans preferred it.

I know its William hill. Look at who runs the joint. Obviously went over your head.

And they don't place a sponsorship over another. Jerseys need to be remade because they're printed. Logos aren't stitched on. So far this season the Broncos haven't had them done. Perhaps they will for the one off game, particularly as they will have the Grand Final shit on the front so new jerseys are required anyway.

thorson1987

I know its William hill. Look at who runs the joint. Obviously went over your head.

And they don't place a sponsorship over another. Jerseys need to be remade because they're printed. Logos aren't stitched on. So far this season the Broncos haven't had them done. Perhaps they will for the one off game, particularly as they will have the Grand Final shit on the front so new jerseys are required anyway.

There have been plenty of times where they have just used an iron on sponsor over other sponsors.

Storm jerseys in 2010 after the salary cap scandal is one that comes to mind.

some11

We should, just like the Roosters numbers falling off.

People told us we had too many fullbacks in pre-season so it would be fitting to see everyone running around with 1 on their back.

cooko

So now we have people suggesting for a grand final that the Broncos should use iron on logos.

Nice.

Lots of teams use heat transfer (iron on) patches on their playing jerseys.

Most on field jerseys have heat pressed numbers too.

4987318-3x2-940x627.jpg

It's been confirmed earlier in the thread that both clubs are wearing their home jerseys - the Broncos themselves tweeted it and there's a photo a page or so back of them with the stitching on the chestplate.

beave

This pic would suggest the cowbs are wearing the away kit mate

The red embroidery on the NQ chestplate is probably the standard GF spiel. Im happy if this is the case, that jersey looks better than the home one IMO.

Saint Doc

This is only the 9th time the Broncos have worn their home jersey this year - quite remarkable considering they've had 15 home games (incl finals) and actually wore their home jersey away on a couple of occasions.

Heritage Jersey worn on multiple occasions, as well as Indigenous and that Rd26 Jersey.

Nuke

They did the patches again in 2013, and everyone bitched...

That's because they did it wrong.
I've not been a big fan of a big white box with the Grand Final logo on it (see the Roosters pic below), but although not perfect either, the huge white badge is slightly better in my opinion (see the Newcastle-Parra 2001 pic below).

But for me, the best ones were the red Winfield Cup GF badges and the dark green Optus Cup ones were the best. It just 'looked' special to me.

The 2014 and 2015 GF's, with both teams each year just having writing stitched onto the chest is rather unexciting.

358188-69904e74-7421-11e3-a270-7f94192abf56.jpg

COLOR][COLOR=

95.jpg

130937-nrl-grand-final-gallery.jpg

Alex28

Agreed, however they have allowed so much sponsor space in jerseys now it would be hard to put the badges somewhere that doesn't look silly...

They really need to think more about jerseys and merch in general. I'm in the US at the moment and the NFL and Baseball leaves what we get for dead. The baseball merch for the Postseason is great - no reason why we couldn't do the same when a team qualifies for the finals. Create a special badge for the finals series to replace the NRL badge - you'd sell more jerseys. Stuff like that...

cooko

I've always thought it would be cool if the premiers had a lightly different nrl badge for the following season similar to how they do it in the epl with the gold badge instead of white. Maybe something subtle like changing the text colour or the colour of the footy.

It would no doubt increase sales.

kdalymc

It's been confirmed earlier in the thread that both clubs are wearing their home jerseys - the Broncos themselves tweeted it and there's a photo a page or so back of them with the stitching on the chestplate.

Awww yeah.....