Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2016 Week1: Finals Footy Sept 9,10,11

He'll get off.

If the tackler was holding on to his leg and preventing him from a quick play the ball, then he should.

Watching the footy on the weekend, I can see how the ruck has evolved into both sides niggling for penalties. It's becoming like soccer where a team milks or provokes, then throws their hands in the air pleading for a penalty.

If the tackler was holding on to his leg and preventing him from a quick play the ball, then he should.

Watching the footy on the weekend, I can see how the ruck has evolved into both sides niggling for penalties. It's becoming like soccer where a team milks or provokes, then throws their hands in the air pleading for a penalty.
A kick is a kick, doesn't matter who was holding what. If it gets off its just further proof that the game is turning into a circus.

Except in rugby league it happens a couple of hundred times a game. That's far too much pressure on the refs to make decisions. The game needs an overhaul to make clear the expectation of a quick play-the-ball every tackle or never.

A kick is a kick, doesn't matter who was holding what. If it gets off its just further proof that the game is turning into a circus.

No provocation is a legitimate defence. If he kicked as part of trying to either free himself or play the ball them I'd let him off.

I guess we need to see of there was separation from the players hand to his leg.
1.gif

No provocation is a legitimate defence. If he kicked as part of trying to either free himself or play the ball them I'd let him off.

I guess we need to see of there was separation from the players hand to his leg.
1.gif
So holding a leg deserves to be kicked does it??? Horses kick, he was lucky to stay in the field let alone them keep the try. Kicking and tripping used to be instant send off offences now you can pretty
Much do as you please as long as you don't punch someone.

Kick someone? No worries! Headbutt? Go for it mate, you've earned it. Tackle someone too hard with your shoulder? 5 WEEKS MOTHER F**KER!!!

If he gets off, it will be the biggest joke in a year of judiciary related incompetence

It was hardly a kick, it was a f**king love tap. Maybe if he'd treated his opponent's head as though it were the last penalty in the World Cup final I'd support calls to rub him out of the game forever, but it was minor. merkins are just pissy because it was a shit human being who did it, and his club got a massive leg up on the night (and in general).

It's more that it's just such a dick move. He deserves time off for it. It's not like a high tackle or any other accidental incident. He deliberately kicked a bloke. Should be 2-3 weeks straight off the bat.

Exactly, you miss a week or two for a high shot which could of been an accident. He's wasn't an accident he did it on purpose and deserves at least a week or two regardless of how hard the kick was.

T.S Quint

The fact that it was intentional makes it much worse.
It wasn't a hard kick, but it was still a kick. And last I checked kicks aren't allowed in Rugby League (unless you're kicking the ball, of course). Considering the Broncos got a penalty try when a Titans player merely put his leg in vicinity of the Broncos player's head, I think actually connecting with a small kick should be punishable.

Deserves at least a week off.

Surely intent is key with regard to striking. If it wasn't intended to hurt the opponent I don't reckon it is worth a suspension. I hope Roberts gets suspended because he's a grub, but if it was an Eels player getting suspended for that nothing incident I'd join you in squealing about Greenberg, Grant and co.

Happy MEel

Surely intent is key with regard to striking. If it wasn't intended to hurt the opponent I don't reckon it is worth a suspension. I hope Roberts gets suspended because he's a grub, but if it was an Eels player getting suspended for that nothing incident I'd join you in squealing about Greenberg, Grant and co.
Do you think Kasiano intended to hurt Parker? I'd suggest not. The "intent" so to speak is the purposeful use of a foot to strike an opposition player, not the degree to which you hope to inflict injury.

Similarly, I'd suggest pretty much every player charged for a chicken wing doesn't intend to injure the opposition. However, they have wilfully grabbed and twisted their arm, usually in an attempt to slow down the play-the-ball or prevent an offload.