Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2017 NRL Club Membership

Haha you were the plonker having a go at the raiders struggling to bring crowds back after two decades of mediocrity and just being a complete shambles in almost every area (player behaviour, general out of touchness of management)

And a few lean years from the dragons and you are out a bloo bloo bloo :cry::cry::cry::cry:

Why would you continue to give the club money when they continue to cock up everything they touch? If my club signed McGregor as coach I'd consider holding on to my $300 for a season pass too..

Dragons will lose 25-50% after that BS review announced yesterday. 4 seperate people on Twitter. Enough is enough.

DFB99C2A-912E-40DD-A5A3-1C81ED2BF34D.jpg

Peter Gow was way WAY ahead of his time back in 1999.

;-)

Pete Cash

Why would you continue to give the club money when they continue to c**k up everything they touch? If my club signed McGregor as coach I'd consider holding on to my $300 for a season pass too..

Well that is somewhat my point.

I could write a huge list of what the raiders have done wrong for two decades. Obviously lunatics like me have stuck by the raiders (although living in sydney i can only get to a handful of matches a year but i do have membership) but its understandable why folks have run away from the raiders over the last 20 years in canberra

Now cleary89 had a pop at the raiders crowds in the crowd thread where i explained to him that between players rooting dogs, board members literally saying nepotism is good and decades of on field mediocrity its somewhat understandable the raiders have poor crowds.

If he doesn't want to give the dragons money good on him. He really shouldnt have a crack at raiders crowds if a couple of lean years has him running for the hills. Honey you aint seen lean years

BennyV

Haha you were the plonker having a go at the raiders struggling to bring crowds back after two decades of mediocrity and just being a complete shambles in almost every area (player behaviour, general out of touchness of management)

And a few lean years from the dragons and you are out a bloo bloo bloo :cry::cry::cry::cry:
It's not about having 'a couple of lean years'. If we had a few lean years like, say the Tigpies or the Titans, where steps were being made to rectify mistakes, youngster brought through and there was a bright future somewhere on the horizon, you wouldn't see this sort of exodus.

It's about making a statement to a club who seem to be actively trying to run themselves into the ground. Making decisions that show complete contempt towards the fan base, choosing to give jobs to their mates over success for the club. Fans will still back the team, but the club doesn't deserve a cent of our money.

I reckon the decision to retain McGregor will cost them upwards of 30-40% of membership, made up of fans making a stand and members who have lost enjoyment watching a boring team play boring footy under the worst coach in the league. Wouldn't surprise me if we end up with the lowest membership count of all Sydney clubs.

For all the bleating the club has been doing, isn't it all essentially moot once the (endlessly stalled) WIN takeover happens? Once that happens, I presume Doust is out on his arse and they'll be doing everything they can to remove anyone linked to him.

cleary89

Why would Doust allow the takeover to happen when he will be out on his arse? He's been there since 1998. Why hand it over now?

cleary89

If he doesn't want to give the dragons money good on him. He really shouldnt have a crack at raiders crowds if a couple of lean years has him running for the hills. Honey you aint seen lean years

As Benny said it isn't so much the lean years as it is the other shit. On field success just patches up the shit we have copped over the years off it. From when people attempted to run for the board and then faced legal action to doust continually saying we will review shit and nothing ever happens. Just uses company speak constantly and is never challenged on it.

I've been to nz the past 3 years and do at least 2 of bris/melb/gc every year. I just cant think of any other way to voice my displeasure then to give up my upper grandstand seats on the 40m line that I said I'll have till the day I die. I'll happily go watch if Doust falls on his sword, but what has he achieved since 1998 bar winning the lottery because no one else wanted Bennett. Both leagues clubs have gone to shit.

Pete Cash

Mate one of the raiders board members said something like hey its not nepotism out in the bush, its called the family farm and it's worked for centuries. I know the dragons board is not much chop either but the raiders board has been outright hostile to fans at points

When henry left (because lets face it he knew he was just keeping the chair warm for david furner) the raiders didnt bother looking for coaches and just gave the job to furner

http://www.smh.com.au/news/news/rai...-to-the-cowboys/2008/03/31/1206850812906.html

He is one of our own. My wife Anita even used to change his nappies," McIntyre said of Furner, whose father Don was the Raiders' first coach from 1982 to 1987 when he and Wayne Bennett took the club to its inaugural grand final.

"In terms of bloodlines, David Furner is the Danehill of coaching. His father [Don] was the Australian coach in 1986 when the Kangaroos were undefeated on their tour of England.

cleary89

Very similar to us, Doust only wants to move on when he could pass it over to his son (lol like its his family business or some shit) and everyone who has a coaching gig is a past player bar bennett. When we do bring in someone decent (Demetriou, last years cowboys assistant and just won the NSW cup GF with big raps from all the players) he puts shit on him in press conferences "that coach from Nth Queensland (is our attacking coach)"

Granted, I'll still head to a lot of games with my two free footy passes but it's the only way I can think of with actually putting my money where my mouth is with my discontent with Doust. Heck, I even have a st george tattoo!

Why would Doust allow the takeover to happen when he will be out on his arse? He's been there since 1998. Why hand it over now?
Isn't the club going to run out of money if WIN doesn't buy in?

If it allows the club to turn a corner instead of going on the current trajectory I imagine it's in their interests to push the WIN takeover isn't it?

They are also financially liable as directors if the club goes bust so I would think there would be some level of self preservation involved given the clubs financial perils?

You'd like to think they sell them out before Christmas tbh

thorson1987

Storm at 8060 as of this morning.

Renewed my boys Sharks membership this morning. Tally at 1046 but not sure if auto renewals have kicked in yet.

Should see a massive jump.