Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2017 R1 - Dragons 42-10 Panthers @ UOW Jubilee

Round 1: Dragons v Panthers

mxlegend99

I think Panthers will start the season slow. Hiku, Whare and TMM missed most of last year and are going to be required to build new combinations. Whare and Hiku are also out of position on the wing.

With a backline and halves all learning new combinations. I expect the attack will be a bit rusty and the wet weather certainly won't help.

Panthers should get home on the class of Moylan. But it will be close. Hell goal kicking could be the difference. I think this will be very similar to our game last year. One piece of individual brilliance will decide the game.

I would be shocked if the marging exceeded 12 points and think it will be 6 or less.

SBD82

I think Panthers will start the season slow. Hiku, Whare and TMM missed most of last year and are going to be required to build new combinations. Whare and Hiku are also out of position on the wing.

With a backline and halves all learning new combinations. I expect the attack will be a bit rusty and the wet weather certainly won't help.

Panthers should get home on the class of Moylan. But it will be close. Hell goal kicking could be the difference. I think this will be very similar to our game last year. One piece of individual brilliance will decide the game.

I would be shocked if the marging exceeded 12 points and think it will be 6 or less.
If it comes down to goal kicking then Penrith are specials.

Our goal kicking last season was awful. Nothing to suggest it has changed over the offseason.

Panther91-03

If it comes down to goal kicking then Penrith are specials.

Our goal kicking last season was awful. Nothing to suggest it has changed over the offseason.

Well its a lot better when Nathan came in to the side half way last year so goal kicking shouldn't be too much of a problem

Nice Beaver

Someone already explained that Ipswich has the most dole bludgers in the country or some bum f**k two header town up there.

I reckon it would be Caboolture mate. F*cking God awful shithole.

But I'd say both there and Ipswich would make the all stars list.

isaiah

If souffs were that bad and won the charity that easy and panthers are comp equal faves, they should win by boggin loads

blaza88z

If souffs were that bad and won the charity that easy and panthers are comp equal faves, they should win by boggin loads

You would think so but if it rains, that brings the Panthers back to the Dragons a bit as I would imagine the Dragons will want a grinding, slow game.. meanwhile Penrith will want a game with fast rucks so they're can let their exciting halves and backs do their thing

I would say Penrith will have too many points but it could be closer if it's wet, which I imagine it would be

mxlegend99

These Under 20s are awful. Panthers sure go through cycles in Under 20s. This year looks like a repeat of Barretts year in charge.

mxlegend99

Refs just cost Panthers a try. Atleast with captains challenge we get the right result there.

No video referee or any kind of way to fix a mistake in 20s it seems?

mxlegend99

Panthers lose by 2. That no try call with no video referee or captains challenge to confirm cost them a win.

Not as costly as the 4 or 5 tries Panthers bombed themselves. But still filthy a fair try is scored but theres no second look at it from the match officials. Just several replays on the feed we see showing they got it wrong.

mxlegend99

Panthers will be 1 to 17. Edwards. Akauolo. Rein and Katoa all named in reserve grade.

Disappointed Tim Browne gets a run ahead of any of those 4. Akauolo has more impact then Browne. Edwards, Katoa and Rein cover positions no one else on the bench could.

mxlegend99

Milne is a beast in defence.
Masoe has been ordinary so far. But it's great seeing him back. Loved him when he was with us.

Errors have been ridiculous today from both teams in both grades so far. This weather has really hurt the expansive footy. Makes what Tigers did last niggt more impressive