Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2017 R8 ANZAC Day - Roosters 13-12* Dragons @ Allianz

Round 8: Roosters v Dragons

RWB

Packer milked it, but you can't deny him a chance to get there.

A guard of honour then?

It shouldn't be the responsibility of the attacking side to ensure that the defensive side gets a free run at the kicker. That's a ridiculous interpretation of the rules and not consistent with how its been ruled on for years.

Forwards have been sitting off to the side of the play the ball for years on general play kicking.

ed-grimley

One bloke off to the side of the play the ball is a wall? Who the f**k was it? George Rose after 5 years off from footy?

Packer knew he wasnt getting there so he threw his arm over the Roosters player and tackled him to the ground looking for a penalty. Luckily you are the only one who fell for it.
The Easts player was lucky he didn't get a kicking as well.

OVP

Just wanted to thank the Dragons and their fans for helping make this such a great day and a great game. I never actually thought we'd win that game at any stage, i thought you guys were the better team and are definitely the real deal. Thanks all, my favourite day of the year lived up to its expectations again. Cheers.

thommo4pm

Just wanted to thank the Dragons and their fans for helping make this such a great day and a great game. I never actually thought we'd win that game at any stage, i thought you guys were the better team and are definitely the real deal. Thanks all, my favourite day of the year lived up to its expectations again. Cheers.
In the conditions it was a great tough game.
Both sides will be in the 8, I couldn't see myself saying that about us at the start of the year.

horrie hastings

The first field goal Pearce has ever kicked and he is mom as well

The last one he kicked was back in 2011 against the Titans and the Roosters lost. He also kicked 1 each in 2008 and 2009 , not going to check whether the chooks won or lost those but that is 4 in total now.

Danish

Awesome game of footy.

Honestly the Dragons should feel pretty confused as to how they lost that one. We looked shot right up until the moment Ferguson scored.

Widdop going off obviously proved the difference. Hopefully he is not out too long but you never really know with medials. If they say its a 4-6 week injury they'd be smart to give him the full 6 as where they are sitting now on the ladder they can probably absorb a few losses and still be in the hunt for the top 4 when he returns.

Not sure how the refs possibly missed the Nightingale knock on. Other than that everything else was classic 50/50 stuff. Oh, besides the so-called "wall" being argued on the field goal. The roosters player was standing in a position to receive the ball behind the dummy half, and as such he has every right to be there. Unless Pearce caught the ball behind the player, or if they player actually made a motion to get in Packer's way, it cannot be a penalty.

And lets be fair dinkum here, when its Pearce lining up for a field goal the smart player just lets him have his shot knowing that he is usually unbackable odds to shank it. Only an idiot would risk a penalty by trying to block it and inadvertently taking out his legs or some such.

One of the most physical regular season games I've seen. Was brutal up front. A real grind.
Well done to Easts in the end. Deserved the win though certainly not sure we deserved the loss. Whether it goes for or against us, I still hate GP. Golden try must be (re?)considered.

Cockosh

One of the most physical regular season games I've seen. Was brutal up front. A real grind.
Well done to Easts in the end. Deserved the win though certainly not sure we deserved the loss. Whether it goes for or against us, I still hate GP. Golden try must be (re?)considered.
As euphoric as it was watching Pearce win us the game I still think there is nothing wrong with a draw. Both teams deserved something from that game today and had we lost to a fg I would be gutted. I think teams getting a point instead of 2 adds a different dynamic to the ladder as well especially at the end of the year. Teams can leapfrog each other etc

This Year?

What a game!

Somehow we managed to hang in there and when all looked lost we found a way to take it to golden point only to get our hearts broken.

We will be much better for the run and it will renew our vigour in what is a very long season.

That game was befitting of the occasion and I am so proud of my club for showing what they're made of.

The Roosters were great today and deserved winners. Their fans should be absolutely stoked with that win and it should lift their spirits for the rest of the season.

Happiest i've been after a game in a long time. Massive result for us and Pearce.
Dragons tough as nails, both sides proved they'll be there at the business end of the season I think.

Lambretta

The Dragons were fantastic yesterday and looked the real deal until Widdop went off

The atmosphere was amazing at the ground - I just wish every game of league was like this

Oh and Golden Point has to go, There is no way known that the Dragons don't deserve a point for that effort
A draw is a fair result. I said as much to a mate who's a Broncos fan - his question was "would you give your 2 points back?" My response - "We'd only need to give one back, and yes I would"

thommo4pm

The Dragons were fantastic yesterday and looked the real deal until Widdop went off

The atmosphere was amazing at the ground - I just wish every game of league was like this

Oh and Golden Point has to go, There is no way known that the Dragons don't deserve a point for that effort
A draw is a fair result. I said as much to a mate who's a Broncos fan - his question was "would you give your 2 points back?" My response - "We'd only need to give one back, and yes I would"
Feel exactly the same way. Said that to the people around me at the ground yesterday, there didn't deserve to be a "loser" yesterday.

There didn't deserve to be a loser yesterday but after so many close losses in this fixture, particularly the 2012 one, it was nice to be on the right side of a classic ANZAC game for once.

RufusRex

One bloke off to the side of the play the ball is a wall? Who the f**k was it? George Rose after 5 years off from footy?

Packer knew he wasnt getting there so he threw his arm over the Roosters player and tackled him to the ground looking for a penalty. Luckily you are the only one who fell for it.

100% wrong ... but hey don't let facts get in the way of a good story.

from twitter ...

img_20170425_175121-jpg.12804

Obviously the wrong call but not the only wrong call in the game.