Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2017 R9 - Warriors 14-13 Roosters @ Mt Smart

Round 9: Warriors v Roosters

Manu Vatuvei

The roosters have received 41 penalties this season, no other team has received less than 50 and the league average is ~57

In contrast we have conceded 58 penalties with obviously the same league average of ~57.

Every other team who has conceded 58 or less penalties has received at least as many in return, we are 17 in arrears.

Additionally, there have been 72 NRL games this season and on only 6 occasions has one of the two teams received 2 penalties or less. The roosters have been that side on 4 of those 6 occasions.

These are just the cold hard facts. Feel free to go to the roosters sub forum to see the full data.

Wouldn't the logical explanation be that the referees are choosing to not penalise the opposition, as an alternative to spending the whole game penalising the Roosters?

The refs could be penalising the Roosters an above average amount and the opposition an average amount. But instead they recalibrate their expectations and penalise the Roosters an average amount and the opposition (who look like angels in comparison) very little.

Wouldn't the logical explanation be that the referees are choosing to not penalise the opposition, as an alternative to spending the whole game penalising the Roosters?

The refs could be penalising the Roosters an above average amount and the opposition an average amount. But instead they recalibrate their expectations and penalise the Roosters an average amount and the opposition (who look like angels in comparison) very little.

I find this highly unlikely, if not impossible to be the case.

Tommy Smith

This is where roosters ranked in average penalties received in last 10 seasons

08 16/16 equal last
09 16/16
10 16/16
11 6/16
12 7/16
13 15/16
14 16/16
15 13/16
16 12/16
17 16/16
The odds of this statistical occurrence being mere chance is probably 10'000 to 1.

Manu Vatuvei

I find this highly unlikely, if not impossible to be the case.

Why would it be impossible that your team tends to be less disciplined than the average? The Roosters were my second team while SBW was there so I used to watch you guys a lot from a supportive perspective and it was noticeable how ill-disciplined you were (or how disciplined you were in doing whatever it took to defend your line and stifle the opposition).

If that's the case then the refs can either blow the pea out of the whistle penalising you, or they can ease off on the penalties and referee according to the standard you guys are setting.

Tommy Smith

The bottom line is that people are kidding themselves if they think the statistical anomaly that is the Roosters in every statistic is just mere chance.

I'll have to update my penalty stats beyond mid 2015 but this kind of stat I came up with was the norm, not a one off:

Penalty Counts Lost by 6 or more pens: 2008 - early 2015...

Cowboys - 1
Broncos - 1
Dragons - 2
Rabbitohs - 2
Sharks - 2
Warriors - 2
Sea Eagles - 3
Bulldogs - 4
Tigers - 4
Eels - 5
Knights - 5
Panthers - 6
Raiders - 6
Titans - 6
Storm - 7
Roosters - 23

Do you notice the outlier? It's a combination of the fact that we've conceded the most AND received the fewest penalties over that time period.

But nothing abnormal about that stat, right? We just need to 'suck it up'.

Why would it be impossible that your team tends to be less disciplined than the average? The Roosters were my second team while SBW was there so I used to watch you guys a lot from a supportive perspective and it was noticeable how ill-disciplined you were (or how disciplined you were in doing whatever it took to defend your line and stifle the opposition).

If that's the case then the refs can either blow the pea out of the whistle penalising you, or they can ease off on the penalties and referee according to the standard you guys are setting.

Because we aren't even close to the most ill disciplined this year.

Your viewpoint is essentially that the refs don't blow as many penalties against us as they should so that there aren't too many penalties in the game, thus we receive fewer.

Let's take that on board as fact for the sake of argument. That still results in the same situation where roosters games are refereed differently to every other game and that is a problem.

Cockosh

Roth field could just publish this article again tomorrow. Nothing has changed. This was published on April 20, 2015

Monday Buzz: Unfair penalty counts ruining Sydney Roosters’ NRL hopes
HIGHLIGHTS, LOWLIGHTS, TALKING POINTS

The startling statistical analysis provided by Fox Sports also shows the club hasn’t won a penalty count since round 23 last year — which is 13 straight games.

More alarmingly, the stats reveal that since 2013, EVERY team in the NRL has conceded their least amount of penalties in games against the Roosters.

Surely that is the proof they are being “picked on’’.

In 67 games in the last three seasons, the Roosters have won just 12 penalty counts (17 per cent of their matches).

Roosters coach Trent Robinson would not comment when I spoke to him because of the pathetic new rules banning clubs from commenting on referees.

bfcb277026f442e5b2e358ad9b662637

The stats on the Roosters’ penalty plague.
Since he has been in charge, the Roosters have gone without second-half penalties in 10 games.

So let’s get this right. No one at the Roosters is complaining about the number of penalties they give away.

They play an explosive, power game which can be high risk in conceding penalties when working players over at the play-the-ball and other areas of the game.

It has become a trademark of their footy and they accept that.

What they can’t come to grips with is the obvious impression that referees, while policing the Roosters so heavily, are ignoring their opposition’s infringements.

It is almost impossible in the modern game to believe even the most disciplined teams can go 40 minutes without one infringement.

It’s interesting if you ever listen on Sports Ears when the Roosters are playing.

You could get the impression that one side is being refereed more than the other.

Lines like “play it with your foot” or “watch the 10” or “hands away from the play-the-ball” or “move away’’ seem to be directed at the Roosters more than their opponents.

What we can reveal is that every week in preparing for games, the refs have as part of their preparation a session they call “around the grounds’’.

They sit around a room and discuss the different habits and idiosyncrasies of players.

While it is fantastic they are doing their homework, it could also lead to suggestions they are going into games each week with preconceived ideas.

For example, if say five Roosters players have been spoken about during “around the grounds’’ and only two Storm players, does that mean the Roosters will be watched more closely than the Storm?

It certainly appeared to be the case on Saturday night against the best referee manager and negotiator in the game, Cameron Smith.

Not getting any penalties obviously affects field position and becomes a bigger issue when you lose your best metre-eater Jared Waerea-Hargreaves like the Roosters did.

Three losses on the trot now leaves the Roosters under enormous pressure in the race for the top four in the finals. They will also lose players to the Kangaroos and Origin.

Someone has to blow the whistle on the penalties before it’s too late.

● REFEREE boss Tony Archer did not return phone calls or text messages yesterday.

Originally published as Monday Buzz: Damning stats rile Roosters

TheDMC

This is where roosters ranked in average penalties received in last 10 seasons

08 16/16 equal last
09 16/16
10 16/16
11 6/16
12 7/16
13 15/16
14 16/16
15 13/16
16 12/16
17 16/16

Clearly your coaches are to blame. Brian Smith took 2010 to rid the Roosters of its inability to receive penalties and then creamed it in 2011 and 2012.

Then in 2013, Robinson reverted to the bad old habits, although did try to rectify things in 2015 and 2016, but then realized it wasn't worth the effort and reverted back to type this year.

TheDMC

Finally! Someone recognises there is a bias from the refs in awarding penalties to the roosters. Although I think you go too far suggesting it is deliberate because they hate the roosters. There must be another valid reason it's been happening for a decade now.

Maybe the Roosters are viewed as an ill disciplined team by the other clubs and a common tactic is to minimize the risk of infringements against them, knowing in doing so then the penalty count will be easily won every time a coconut.

Or it is a grand masterplan by the powers that be to level the playing field in the comp by offsetting the ridiculously strong rosters the Chooks put together year after year after year. Seems fair to me.

Zadar

The main problem this year was the game they played against the bottom of the table knights, they won the match 24-6 odd,list the penalty count 5-1, and did not receive ONE penalty while in possession of the ball. So a team that dominated the match only received a solitary penalty when the knights knocked the ball into one of their own players, and conceded an accidental offside penalty?

When is the last time a team failed to receive a penalty? Maybe in 96 when ironically the roosters won a penalty count 9-0 against the broncos.

Cockosh

Maybe the Roosters are viewed as an ill disciplined team by the other clubs and a common tactic is to minimize the risk of infringements against them, knowing in doing so then the penalty count will be easily won every time a coconut.

Or it is a grand masterplan by the powers that be to level the playing field in the comp by offsetting the ridiculously strong rosters the Chooks put together year after year after year. Seems fair to me.
This is progress. You are now acknowledging that it is happening. Now you just needs to get past the ridiculous excuses you are coming up with to justify it. So in your first point we are no more I'll disciplined than 8 other teams. Havent been for last 2 and a half seasons so there goes that theory.
So how is our team any stronger in terms of rep players than say sharks, warriors or broncos as just a few examples?
Stop clutching at straws.

TheDMC

This is progress. You are now acknowledging that it is happening. Now you just needs to get past the ridiculous excuses you are coming up with to justify it. So in your first point we are no more I'll disciplined than 8 other teams. Havent been for last 2 and a half seasons so there goes that theory.
So how is our team any stronger in terms of rep players than say sharks, warriors or broncos as just a few examples?
Stop clutching at straws.

Dude the roosters always have an awesome roster, take it as a compliment. So do the Broncos. Warriors don't, and never have except 2002 perhaps. Rep players can look pretty average when the forward pack goes backwards, centers don't know how pass and skill-less leaden footed giants masquerade as wingers.

I reckon its your coaches. They just don't know how to coach your team to receive their fair share of penalties.