Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2019 Crowd Watch

SLRBRONCOS

Will second that. The place was rammed that night bar a big clump of seats on the lowest tier in the members.
I might just add to this - a few colleagues of mine have full or limited MCC memberships, all upwards of $600 a year and they just never seem to go.

This week I was asking them if they were going to go to the Anzac Day game today - none of them were keen. If they aren’t going to go to their “sacred” home and away game (which all everyone was talking about for the week) what will they go to...? The grand final or any game that their team supports. MCC membership is essentially a status symbol which brings lots of pride but lacks attendance.

I am under the impression that a lot of Suncorp memberships are held by partners and directors at the big four accounting firms that take their clients along on SOME occasions.

Without being too sceptical I am concerned with the amount of memberships the trust will flog st the new SFS.

wests1

While I know Melbourne have enough fans to fill AAMI Park - usually the warriors contingent is quite large - I wonder if kiwis stayed away tonight.

Tonight AAMI was sold in reserved seats mode so it might end up being more than it looks.
Yeah I think that you might be right. They usually bring a massive contingent, form
and the team they are fielding tonight might have put a few off.

horrie hastings

Most of the empty seats were the restricted view area, lower deck ground level in the Noble because of the signage, the section in the Victor Trumper Stand where the O’ Reilly Stand blocks the view, same one small section of the Brewongle Stand where the Ladies Stand blocks the view, also a small section in front of the Ladies Stand and Brewongle Stand where the dugout( it’s not really a dugout, more a shelter) for the AFL players blocks the view . The only empty section that I saw which didn’t have restricted viewing was a section in the top of the Clive Churchill Stand almost behind the goal post, there was a huge block of vacant seats there, not sure whether that is a corporate area or not.

malleekid

With regards to sellout matches, it's become common that they never reach capacity. Too many members/season ticket holders these day of which many cannot make a game day.

3 examples.

- AAMI Park in Melbourne has never reached its claimed capacity of 30500, despite many many times stating that games have been sold out.
- Tottenham Hotspurs new stadium has sold out 5 times out of 5, but is yet to reach it's capacity as well.
- Bankwest was advertised as sold out last Sunday, yet came in 1000 under claimed capacity. There were actually 2 large banks in the top deck of the north and south ends that were vacant, so I'm guessing those seats just weren't sold.

There are several reasons for matches not reaching capacity.
The two main ones are

- Members/season ticket holders not being able to make match day and not on-selling or passing on their tickets
- Ticketek's absolutely f**king stupid and painful release of tickets. it just doesn't work.
Has any of this got anything to do with flexible memberships? Like 3/5 games etc memberships they have to account for some of them turning up but they choose other games

SLRBRONCOS

At the broncos you have to elect the games and you get allocated the seats for them. You can also call them and swap it over 48hours before kick off.
Has any of this got anything to do with flexible memberships? Like 3/5 games etc memberships they have to account for some of them turning up but they choose other games

Big Moose

Is there the possibility that the warriors poor form is affecting the crowd for tomorrow night? Still seems to be a heap of tickets available. Would be a shame if it doesn’t attract a great crowd cause it is always a brilliant event.
I might just add to this - a few colleagues of mine have full or limited MCC memberships, all upwards of $600 a year and they just never seem to go.

This week I was asking them if they were going to go to the Anzac Day game today - none of them were keen. If they aren’t going to go to their “sacred” home and away game (which all everyone was talking about for the week) what will they go to...? The grand final or any game that their team supports. MCC membership is essentially a status symbol which brings lots of pride but lacks attendance.

I am under the impression that a lot of Suncorp memberships are held by partners and directors at the big four accounting firms that take their clients along on SOME occasions.

Without being too sceptical I am concerned with the amount of memberships the trust will flog st the new SFS.
Was an MCC member myself, gave it up after turning my back on the AFL and being sick of how far from the action you are even for cricket.
There are over 100k members split 60/40 between full and restricted (no GF for restricted but all other AFL and cricket included). You are right, its a status thing and most people use it twice a year but with that any members to fit into 25k seats they are more than happy to cop empty seats with those kind of membership revenues coming in.

Saint Doc

I was always an advocate that this game should stay in Melbourne. But that is a very disappointing crowd. Is it time to alternate with Auckland?

SLRBRONCOS

I was always an advocate that this game should stay in Melbourne. But that is a very disappointing crowd. Is it time to alternate with Auckland?
I think that’s a good idea to alternate, the first year it goes there I wouldn’t write off eden park pulling a good crowd

moffla

Warriors fans were very minimal in comparison to previous years

That said - if we were to alternate I wouldn’t sook. We need to keep getting 25k crowds to justify holding it to ourselves

azza29

Warriors fans were very minimal in comparison to previous years

That said - if we were to alternate I wouldn’t sook. We need to keep getting 25k crowds to justify holding it to ourselves
Two games in a row of ok but not great crowds despite school holidays and decent weather. Member numbers still good and trains back to normal so can’t blame those. I am out of ideas...

Not sure if it would've made any difference but that Melbourne game is usually on earlier, would've they got more if kick off was at 7?

Still a good crowd will be interesting next year with ANZAC Day being a Saturday.

I don't know if this was because of restricted view or something, but a small footnote to the SCG crowd.

There was no GA sections, and all bays near my season ticket were showing no or single seats only available. So I didn't invite anyone along as I normally would. But I arrive to heaps of empty seats in and around the chookpen, large gaps and full rows.

Also, Roosters used to sell Chooken memberships as GA within the 2 bays. With the move to the SCG, every seat is allocated. Again, making it difficult to bring friends.