Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2019 Crowd Watch

bazza

Manly have the unlucky situation of being in a spot that is one of the most diabolically hard places to get to in Sydney.

As I stated above
ANZ is the easiest joint to get to.
It has a bloody train station on its door step.

I seriously doubt you blokes even consider these things.
Easy to get to if you live in Lidcombe or it is a special event and they get trains directly from Central

Brookvale has the B-line

bazza

I don’t work in the city
And if changing trains is an issue for people then they’ll probably watch it on tv.
Because there is never going to be any other easier way to get to the footy than a train to the front door step.
West metro in about 10 years time will have regular trains directly from the CBD and Parramatta which will make it actually one of the easiest grounds to get to

Hopefully the new train line services a rebuilt stadium

What?
Switched?
Pfft try again.

I pointed out how manly got more people to Brookvale than the dogs got to ANZ
According to you blokes Brookvale only got 10k because because of the ground and it’s facilities.
What is the dogs excuse?
Sounds like you're making up bullshit there, I don't see anywhere that I claimed the only reason Brookvale got 10k was the ground and its facilities. It's certainly one of the main contributing factors.

The Dogs' poor crowd is similarly down to a number of factors - the opponents, the timeslot, the club's form over the last several years, lack of any real star players.

The point I was making was that for the Bulldogs, those crowds aren't a regular occurence compared to Manly.

Also
FTR
I think Bankwest looks awesome, I’ll definitely go once.
I agree they’ll get fans roll up for a while.
Unfortunately tv makes it too easy to take the easy option.
History will repeat itself.
I disagree here. Bankwest will further consolidate the centralising of venues with many teams playing out of less grounds (e.g. by 2021 I believe Canterbury and Souths will be joining WT and Parra there while ANZ is being renovated).

Like in Melbourne, that will start to create more familiarity and with a better match experience there than the same four clubs were able to provide at ANZ, I think attendances will be boosted.

It'd be great if there was a similar solution (nuSFS will probably be too big and too far for the likes of Manly/Sharks/Saints) for the coastal clubs.

Sounds like you're making up bullshit there, I don't see anywhere that I claimed the only reason Brookvale got 10k was the ground and its facilities. It's certainly one of the main contributing factors.

The Dogs' poor crowd is similarly down to a number of factors - the opponents, the timeslot, the club's form over the last several years, lack of any real star players.

The point I was making was that for the Bulldogs, those crowds aren't a regular occurence compared to Manly.

Well I didn’t actually say “you”. said that.
I assume there are more than just you reading this.
You blokes.
I was making a comment on the numerous posts in here that Brookvale had a small crowd because of the state of the ground and it’s facilities.
That is bullshit.
Most of the people making those comments have never set foot inside Brookvale.

Again

It has everything you flogs are whinging about and still can’t get crowds.
Your ability to making sweeping generalisations unsupported by fact is unparalleled on these forums
(maybe behind Stallion)

Since you don't like facts, here are some.

ANZ Stadium's crowd average since it opened in 1999 is 17,697. Only two currently used regular venues sit above it - Suncorp (26,992 p.g.) and Newcastle (18,356 p.g).

The SCG is back this year - it's at 19,594 p.g since 1957.

Sydney's suburban grounds - Campbelltown, Leichhardt, Penrith, Woolooware, Wollongong, Kogarah and Brookvale, none of them average anywhere near that - either in the last 20 years or over their lifetimes.

The point being it definitely can get crowds - doesn't mean it will every week. Picking outliers like last Friday doesn't help your case.

Well I didn’t actually say “you”. said that.
I assume there are more than just you reading this.
You blokes.
I was making a comment on the numerous posts in here that Brookvale had a small crowd because of the state of the ground and it’s facilities.
That is bullshit.
Most of the people making those comments have never set foot inside Brookvale.
I'd say I've attended Brookie at least in the vicinity of 10 times in the last 10-15 years and the state of the ground and its facilities are absolutely an issue. Not the only one - but definitely among the issues. Do you genuinely think it doesn't need or warrant an upgrade of some sort?

I disagree here. Bankwest will further consolidate the centralising of venues with many teams playing out of less grounds (e.g. by 2021 I believe Canterbury and Souths will be joining WT and Parra there while ANZ is being renovated).

Like in Melbourne, that will start to create more familiarity and with a better match experience there than the same four clubs were able to provide at ANZ, I think attendances will be boosted.

It'd be great if there was a similar solution (nuSFS will probably be too big and too far for the likes of Manly/Sharks/Saints) for the coastal clubs.

Doubt it.

I heard all this when ANZ was built.

Doubt it.

I heard all this when ANZ was built.
And as per my statistics, it's the highest attended Sydney venue on average over the last 20 years.

And that's excluding Finals and Grand Finals.

So even if you don't like it and focus on all the 6, 7 or 8k crowds, it's still true.

And as per my statistics, it's the highest attended Sydney venue on average over the last 20 years.

So even if you don't like it and focus on all the 6, 7 or 8k crowds, it's still true.

And so it bloody should be
It should have 10x of what suburban clubs have.
It cost a bloody fortune.
They even invented a town around it.

It should’ve been way way way more successful.
It had everything.
Same goes for the SFS - rarely more than half full.
Whereas 10k in Brookvale on a sunny arvo and the place is pumping.

TheFrog

The SCG is back this year - it's at 19,594 p.g since 1957.
In those times, the Match of the Round was moved at 4 days notice to the SCG and sometimes the second best match was moved to the Sports Ground. This went on until the late '70s. Neutrals used to go to these Saturday afternoon SCG matches regardless of who was playing. The SCG had the finals until the SFS was built too. I don't remember Penrith ever complaining about having to play home games in Moore Park, even though it happened a fair few times (especially the Sunday Sports Ground game), I'm sure they would now though. Edit: I checked and it was 3 times all up.

Again

It has everything you flogs are whinging about and still can’t get crowds.

Except it doesn't. And it still avg's bigger crowds than those other grounds.

Lets see if Bankwest makes a difference. If it doesn't then we should concede that Sydney fans are the problem not the stadiums.

Except it doesn't. And it still avg's bigger crowds than those other grounds.

Lets see if Bankwest makes a difference. If it doesn't then we should concede that Sydney fans are the problem not the stadiums.

If BankWest goes the same way then blame Parra fans.
That’s how it works for the sharks according to you.

ok tim, how many sub 10k crowds does ANZ have in that time? take out the big events and that average dies in the ass

suburban grounds generally don't have the big event games to inflate averages

ok tim, how many sub 10k crowds does ANZ have in that time? take out the big events and that average dies in the ass

suburban grounds generally don't have the big event games to inflate averages

Which is kind of the problem! With such limited comfortable capacities they dont have the opportunity to get big crowds to off set the poor ones. NRL should have a min capacity of 25k except for country venues. 5 years to get there or move/leave.