Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2019 FW2 Fri - Rabbitohs 34-26 Sea Eagles @ ANZ

Finals Week 2: Rabbitohs v Sea Eagles

GongPanther

Disappointed. A shit end to a very impressive season. Really feel like Sutton robbed the game of its potential quality from all the penalties in favour of souths. The professional foul on Jake may have been legit, but 4 penalties to 0? Really? Eh, oh well people predicted us as the spoon team.
IMO, Manly at full strength would be wiping the opposition to the GF, even if they were on the other side of the finals draw. The hand of cards you guys got dealt with the late injuries was shit. Good times ahead.

butchmcdick

Surely 2015 has erased these memories for you mate.

You guys shit the bed

The fullback and winger getting in the way of each other trying to catch a kick

The drop by walker in the last five minutes

Not drop kicking the ball out in time at the end by Cherry

Manly were all over them, particularly in the first half but just couldn’t convert

I get your pain

I think you had enough chances to win it and got some rub of the green as well

For example why just send off walker and not your player too ?

I hope Des gets fined $125k for boring us stupid after his side lost.

Manly lost all composure once the rabbits decided they wanted to win it.

Even Gags sliced through multiple defenders in that run like a knife through butter. His best run since his knights days.

mave

For example why just send off walker and not your player too ?

Walker was sin binned , not sent off.

I am of the belief that striking a player in the head is a sin bin offence , whilst rubbish to the face is merely a penalty.
Going off precedent anyway.

GongPanther

I’d be very upset if Souths get to the GF.

Imagine if they won, skeepe would complain about something.
IF they do get to the GF, and they get there in the same fashion as last night, they will be on the end of a record scoreline. And history will recall how undeserved Souths were to be in this year's GF.

butchmcdick

Walker was sin binned , not sent off.

I am of the belief that striking a player in the head is a sin bin offence , whilst rubbish to the face is merely a penalty.
Going off precedent anyway.

I was going for you guys last night

You played with heart all season

From where you came from last year to now is a great effort

The injury to Tom really crueler your chances

It wouldn’t have mattered if manly had played with 16 blokes.

Souths had a much more elite side with more blokes firing, all at once, in the last quarter.

Souths winning points were not attributable to overlaps and the extra player.

Pete Cash

The refs arent perfect and they do miss things. We benefitted last week when they missed a blatant professional foul by Whitehead against the storm. Both sin bins were right. The first one i hate but the second one was pretty blatant

Manly beat us with some fairly dodgy ref calls including the offside that led to the intercept try. We got some good calls against Melbourne. I guess the problem with swings and roundabouts here is that Manly fans would rather get the calls in a knockout game than a regular season.

No doubt the raiders will get some dud calls that i will get mad about. Im still mad at a panthers win from a few years ago off an illegal wall the season they introduced the rule and it going to the video ref. The refs barely know the rules of the game lol.

Rugby league just isnt officiated well outside of human error

Its almost as if only one team was being referreed last night.

South's played perfectly disciplined footy for the last 60 odd minutes. Impressive stuff.

Interestingly, this phenomenon also occurred the last time these two teams played each other.

Who said lightning doesn't strike twice.
Do you nitiwts know that Souths are the least penalised team in the NRL this year? It's not because they're favoured by the referees or the NRL, it's because that's the way they play. Other teams (and some fairly successful ones, like Canberra, Manly and the Chooks) are happy to concede penalties rather than quick play-the-balls. It could even be argued that they give away intentional penalties and are lucky not to have more players sent to the bin.

DCE conceded four penalties last night - nearly half of Manly's total. Nobody gives away that many penalties and stays in first grade unless they are doing it tactically and they have their coach's blessing.

Bennett obviously has less of an appetite for intentional penalties.

Cust looked quite good.

Why did he get the flick?

If Des can find some quality backline and forward depth then Manly will be a serious Premiership threat next year.

What a great coach he is. Unreal he was unemployed whilst plods like Kearney and Mary were ticking along.

The Warriors desperately needed Des.
Hasler can afford to pick and choose where he coaches, unlike Kearney and McGregor, who are stuck at clubs nobody wants to coach.

Why do you think Walters knocked back the Titans? With his profile he can be patient and wait for the Broncos job to come available. Lesser coaches need to take any opportunity they can get.

mave

Do you nitiwts know that Souths are the least penalised team in the NRL this year? It's not because they're favoured by the referees or the NRL, it's because that's the way they play.

Without taking you through the entire game, play by play....

Brendan Elliot tackled in the air whilst catching a bomb......first few minutes

Brad Parker tackled without the ball whilst chasing a grubber.. ..first few minutes of the 2nd half.

Just 2 examples of penalties that have been called as non negotiable for the entire 2019 season.

Both not called last night.

Clearly South's play a style that don't concede penalties, my issue is that the refs seem to get that fact into their head, and stop blowing the obvious ones too.

Like Ive said previously, every penalty Manly gave away was warranted.

Unfortunately the refs only reffed one team last night. That's the point.

Refs tend to miss a few, especially in finals footy. If there were some they missed against Souths there would also have been some they missed against Manly. Only an aggrieved fan would have noticed the ones you mention. The same aggrieved fan would likely miss the ones his own team got away with.

yobbo84

Souths do not wrestle. At all. We also now defend passively and slide, rather than up-and-in. It's crazy how far our defence is now from what it was under Madge. I don't know that we can win a comp with it, but it does tend to limit the penalties you concede.