Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2019 team line up

rednwhites

Here’s a positive spin: Korbin is an like for like replacement, Nene was maddeningly inconsistent, Mann was on a hiding to nothing and Sele never kicked on like I hoped he would.

And yet in all of that we haven't landed the signature of a player who will with a certainty improve our footy team.

Without Cronk and Tedesco Roosters don't win the comp. We are hard pressed landing the signature of some bad boy.

JDHD

And yet in all of that we haven't landed the signature of a player who will with a certainty improve our footy team.

Without Cronk and Tedesco Roosters don't win the comp. We are hard pressed landing the signature of some bad boy.

You’re acting like we’re trying to find that missing piece when we already have a team that is a premiership contender. We are a massive chance for the trophy this year already.

There are still a few if's with our NRL side:
1. If Dufty improves over the off-season.
2. If Pearson is really up to first grade standard
3. If Lomax is selected ahead of Aitken
4. If Norman is selected ahead of Lafai
5. If we sign Jennings
6. If Widdop scrubs up fit and well for round 1

TomRedVRiver

Not that this means much, and I could be reading into this a little bit, but in this photo, Euan is taking the ball off his right shoulder, with Jai sweeping behind him running a fullback line.

This might be a long shot, but perhaps this could mean that Euan is shifting over to left centre to accomodate Lomax at right centre?

As I said, he could just be taking a simple hit up. But Jai running behind him like that makes me think it's a backline shift.
euan-aitken.jpeg

Dragonslayer

Not that this means much, and I could be reading into this a little bit, but in this photo, Euan is taking the ball off his right shoulder, with Jai sweeping behind him running a fullback line.

This might be a long shot, but perhaps this could mean that Euan is shifting over to left centre to accomodate Lomax at right centre?

As I said, he could just be taking a simple hit up. But Jai running behind him like that makes me think it's a backline shift.
View attachment 25507

Could even be training with ISP we dont know.

View attachment 25507
Screenshot_20181212-202637.png
Well mate this pic of Lomax training on the right edge on his Insta would certainty point to that being a distinct possibility

JDHD

There are still a few if's with our NRL side:
1. If Dufty improves over the off-season.
2. If Pearson is really up to first grade standard
3. If Lomax is selected ahead of Aitken
4. If Norman is selected ahead of Lafai
5. If we sign Jennings
6. If Widdop scrubs up fit and well for round 1

Norman is not going to play centre. No way in hell are we paying him 900k to touch the ball six times a game. He’ll either be FB or at 5/8. If it’s the latter, then widdop will be FB.

I think Pearson just needs game time but I expect our wingers to be Pereira and Jennings

Lomax is going to be starting, unquestionably. He’s the best goal kicker in the club outside of Widdop, he made the spot his own last finals series and Widdop’s shoulder issues may stuff his accuracy.

Dufty will probably be in ISP if Norman comes over.

BLM01

View attachment 25507
No. I would reckon Jai Field pulled up out of the backline sweep realising he is not going to get the Ball off Euie.

nontime111

Aitken needs to be a back up 2nd Rower, maybe possibly hed just pip some of the youngies lfor a depth spot but he wouldnt be in my 17 at all

Dragonslayer

Fascinating how the proposed signing of one player can gave an effect on so many others.
If Normans signing is confirmed then it will impact:
Dufty: if Norman plays fullback where does Dufty play? Options are 1: from the bench as an impact player or 2. Back to ISP. And NO he's not a winger.
Widdop: If Norman comes as the 5/8, does Widdop play 1: from the bench or 2: start or 3: book his boarding pass or 4: play at fullback? If 4 is the option then refer to comments on Dufty.
Field: Norman in the halves basically shuts the door on Jai. His options then become 1: try to get a spit onbthe hench as an impact player ir 2: wait out 2019 and hope Dufty isnt re-signed so he can nab the fullback spot ahead of anyone else.
Robson: should be inbthe 17 each week, but signing Norman creates a 4 player 1 position scenario. I firmly believe McInnes needs a break during the game, Robson is the obvious choice, however, how does he now get a place on the bench?

It wouldn't suprise me also, that the Norman signing, impacts which wingers we go with as well.

Anyway, its goid to gave competition for places, its just a matter ofcwether the coach sees it that way.

Fascinating how the proposed signing of one player can gave an effect on so many others.
If Normans signing is confirmed then it will impact:
Dufty: if Norman plays fullback where does Dufty play? Options are 1: from the bench as an impact player or 2. Back to ISP. And NO he's not a winger.
Widdop: If Norman comes as the 5/8, does Widdop play 1: from the bench or 2: start or 3: book his boarding pass or 4: play at fullback? If 4 is the option then refer to comments on Dufty.
Field: Norman in the halves basically shuts the door on Jai. His options then become 1: try to get a spit onbthe hench as an impact player ir 2: wait out 2019 and hope Dufty isnt re-signed so he can nab the fullback spot ahead of anyone else.
Robson: should be inbthe 17 each week, but signing Norman creates a 4 player 1 position scenario. I firmly believe McInnes needs a break during the game, Robson is the obvious choice, however, how does he now get a place on the bench?

It wouldn't suprise me also, that the Norman signing, impacts which wingers we go with as well.

Anyway, its goid to gave competition for places, its just a matter ofcwether the coach sees it that way.

Another option is Widdop leaves during 2019

Dragonslayer

So, with the signing of Maranta and the expected signing of Norman we are at 29 players.

Only 1 spot left.

Millward mentioned in his video re: Manns exit, that we were looking af a couple of squad fillers, Maranta being 1 of them.

I doubt very much Jennings will be the other.

So, with the signing of Maranta and the expected signing of Norman we are at 29 players.

Only 1 spot left.

Millward mentioned in his video re: Manns exit, that we were looking af a couple of squad fillers, Maranta being 1 of them.

I doubt very much Jennings will be the other.

I feel sure that Jennings is the target because our 14 on the bench will be Robson and our cap will come from Widdop's exit. With Jennings and Pearson as our wingers, we will have all the speed we need to finish off the fine work our forwards and halves will provide. Put that together with the likes of Dufty and Lomax joining the attack and a solid right edge in 2019, I'd say we have the squad to go all the way.