Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2020 R17 Thu - Broncos 12-25 Panthers @ Suncorp

Round 17: Broncos v Panthers

So we have heard for a good 5 years now. This year it has finally transferred to the field but we are talking about an organisation that has not had a sustained period of success (not necessarily taking about premierships) for the entirety of their history.

What you say may be right but at this point they still have it all to prove.

Definitely agree they have to prove themselves in the finals.

And in recent times their Club has been a basket case.

But they’re definitely set up for success now and the near future.

The_Frog

So we have heard for a good 5 years now. This year it has finally transferred to the field but we are talking about an organisation that has not had a sustained period of success (not necessarily taking about premierships) for the entirety of their history.

Past 5 seasons:
(not counting last night, not counting finals)

Roosters 67 wins 45 losses.
Panthers 67 wins 44 losses 1 draw.

This is a 60% win rate, compared with a historical percentage of 44.5%. You can deny this is a club on the rise all you like, but the numbers speak for themselves.

SDM

Despite the result, I think the younger Broncos really put in and with the right coaching, will develop well.

Losing is part of the game but I felt they didn’t take a backwards step.

It’s the senior guys and their “stars” who left them hanging.

The right coaching? I think they should stick with the 2 blokes who were in the box last night

Attachments

• upload_2020-9-4_13-15-1.png
    upload_2020-9-4_13-15-1.png
    62.7 KB · Views: 2

Pete Cash

That's some serious salt there, old mate. And I call bullshit on caring how readable the forum is. Game day threads are cesspits. Worse than Facebook. The wankers wear all colours.

I disagree I think most of the fanbases here can take a joke and are mostly good. Game day forums here are a laugh imo.

I quite like good teams and admire the roosters and the storm. There is a lot to like about the Panthers. I'm not salty about good teams. 2016/2019 was much more personal to raiders fans than the Panthers going good in 2020. Your club inspires no passion in me one way or the other. The fanbase is just annoying

I disagree I think most of the fanbases here can take a joke and are mostly good. Game day forums here are a laugh imo.

I quite like good teams and admire the roosters and the storm. There is a lot to like about the Panthers. I'm not salty about good teams. 2016/2019 was much more personal to raiders fans than the Panthers going good in 2020. Your club inspires no passion in me one way or the other. The fanbase is just annoying

Wow!!! Now I know what it’s like to be a Manly supporter......

Past 5 seasons:
(not counting last night, not counting finals)

Roosters 67 wins 45 losses.
Panthers 67 wins 44 losses 1 draw.

This is a 60% win rate, compared with a historical percentage of 44.5%. You can deny this is a club on the rise all you like, but the numbers speak for themselves.

That doesn’t really tell the full story though does it?

I'm not denying panthers are in the rise I am casting doubt on this notion they will be a premiership force for the next 5 years. It could happen but they have it all to prove this year.

The_Frog

That doesn’t really tell the full story though does it?

I'm not denying panthers are in the rise I am casting doubt on this notion they will be a premiership force for the next 5 years. It could happen but they have it all to prove this year.
Seems to my you are under pressure, not us. Starting this weekend.

THE CHAMP

No he’s not.

Dearden at least has potential

Milfdud is just fat and useless. Hope he’s not in our side ever again

Strewth not much love for the milf
I reckon I’m not the only one in here that thinks you don’t like him

What happened last night? I forgot, so it doesn't count!
source.gif

Not sure, but all i can remember is this

South Park

GongPanther

Hang on, they did win the 1990 GF, albeit by cheating the salary cap
I'm not sure it was along the parallels of today's rorts. I think they got caught out as well as a couple of other clubs who were just marginally over. A figure of $100k is ringing in my head, I simply can't recall all the details.

But it wasn't found out well after the 1990 GF. I think it was uncovered in 1992.

GongPanther

Canberra stink and have been mostly trash all year. Our chances of winning the comp are about 2% outside of a rogue state hitting Penrith with a nuclear bomb

All I ultimately care about outside of the raiders winning is how readable this forum is. You guys punch above your weight with wankers. You fail the get a beer test with almost every fanbase

You know how rhyno is obnoxious to the point people think he's a troll. That's like the majority of the Panthers fans here.
Spent all night digging that one up? The rogue state nuke thing was a novel idea. Enjoy the rest of the season.

GongPanther

That's some serious salt there, old mate. And I call bullshit on caring how readable the forum is. Game day threads are cesspits. Worse than Facebook. The wankers wear all colours.
Throw shit back at them, and they get precious. Not all of them mind you, just a couple of insufferable malcontents.

pantherz9103

1988-91 was a strong period, including a premiership and 4 straight 15+ win seasons. We had a young Gus Gould at the helm and more than enough talent in Brandy, Freddy, MG, Carty etc to have a long period of contending. Too bad it was all ruined by a tragic 1992.

pantherz9103

The pressure for Penrith is how would we handle an in form Roosters or Storm in a finals game and is such a young team really capable of going all the way.

Roosters look very good at full strength or close to it obviously but it’s still a major task to win 3 straight, something that hasn’t been in done since Parra 81-83.

While the Storm have made a bit of a habit of faltering in GF’s or the PF’s and it might be Cam’s last year for them, so all the favourites have pressure to handle.