Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2020 State of Origin - Game 1

Is Carrigan their best #13? ... i would think Collins might be likely to get a run ... and suspect they will blood Harry

Their spine is pretty decent ... DCE, Munster are quality ... Brimson is in form ... and i reckon Grant/Hunt is a good combo

Jake Friend, experience in big matches they will need and go for in game 1 IMO. Time for blooding players is when they are 2-0 down?

Carrigan is a must, a quality workhorse with or without the ball, and can play 80

Couldnt find a spot for Collins, over Tino, Fotuaika, Welsh or Papali
But he could come into calculations if they decide to rest one of the grand final players

Haynzy

As well as about 20 of my mates, we purchased tickets for Origin at Adelaide Oval the day they went on sale. We have all just received emails saying that they've been cancelled. I'm sooooooo freaking livid with the merkins!

Why?

Haynzy

'Due to a necessary reduction in venue capacity and in order to comply with SA Health bio-security requirements.'

A few other mates have told me theirs got cancelled too. At my count now, that's around 40 tickets just from my group of friends and their friends and families. A whole bunch of people are blowing up on the facebook pages too. They were still advertising tickets this morning and we bought ours in February through our memberships.

'Due to a necessary reduction in venue capacity and in order to comply with SA Health bio-security requirements.'

A few other mates have told me theirs got cancelled too. At my count now, that's around 40 tickets just from my group of friends and their friends and families. A whole bunch of people are blowing up on the facebook pages too. They were still advertising tickets this morning and we bought ours in February through our memberships.
f**kin nuts ... ridiculous to be still selling tickets while you cancel others

i wonder if it would have been similar behaviour had they jagged the AFL grand final - or whether they would have just piled in as many as they can fit?

That's f**king stupid. Surely they could have just cancelled all interstate tickets that were purchased (if they are worried about Covid) and sold as many to South Australians as possible? When was the last locally acquired case of Covid in SA?

Haynzy

That's f**king stupid. Surely they could have just cancelled all interstate tickets that were purchased (if they are worried about Covid) and sold as many to South Australians as possible? When was the last locally acquired case of Covid in SA?

It’s been months since we had a locally acquired case.
The fact that they were still selling tickets this morning but seem to have a cancelled all GA tickets leads me to think that they are only going to honour the expensive tickets at the expense of us cheapskate plebs.

It’s been months since we had a locally acquired case.
The fact that they were still selling tickets this morning but seem to have a cancelled all GA tickets leads me to think that they are only going to honour the expensive tickets at the expense of us cheapskate plebs.

That would not surprise me.
If it's actually the case, it is pretty sad for people like you and your mates.
The way these ticketing agencies release tickets in blocks has been an issue for years and has really pissed many people off.
I could share several instances of trying to buy tickets to events only to see it is sold out, and then be able to actually get tickets a day before on the very same website.
It is common to see good tickets described as "allocation exhausted" only to see loads of them come on sale again days or weeks later. The whole system is a scam.
I just don't understand the theory behind this approach and why they can't just put every ticket, in every category, on sale at once. Supply and demand will surely determine the eventual outcome and attendance.
Origin, and games of that ilk, will always sell out.

Haynzy

Exactly mate, it just feels like such a rort. It’s like they didn’t think it would sell out so made the tickets affordable but then when those tickets sold out they regretted it, took them down and are reoffering them at a higher price. Apparently there are still the more expensive tickets available.

Email the nrl and tell em they are gonna lose league fans in SA .... it stinks

Haynzy

Mate, after the way they treated us with Rams they are so far behind the eight ball here.
There was one tiny article in the Advertiser on Monday that referred to the grand final. During the season we’re lucky to even get the weekend results.

didn't whinge when they go Ingliss but dont like it when it works against them

f**k 'em