2021 Qualifiers

Discussion in 'World Cup 2021' started by Foreign Legion, Apr 11, 2018.

  1. adamkungl

    adamkungl Immortal

    Jun 3, 2005
    Likes Received:
    A comprehensive catch-up of 2021 World Cup Qualifying:

    There are 5 places remaining for 2021 - 4 in Europe, 1 for the rest.

    Best of the rest qualifiers start on June 21 in Wentworthville, Sydney, where Cook Islands take on South Africa.
    The winner flies north to take on the USA in Jacksonville on November 16 for the World Cup spot.

    In Europe, 2 groups of 3 face off for the 4 available spots.
    Played between October 26 and November 10, each nation will host 1 game each.
    Group A features Ireland, Italy and Spain.
    Group B features Scotland, Russia and Greece.
    Ireland, Scotland go in as obvious favourites after featuring in the last 4 World Cups, and Italy should like their chances after joining the last 2.
    Russia hasn't been seen in a big time international since 2000 and Greece or Spain would both be newcomers to the Cup. Greece's heritage connections to Australia and handful of League One players give them early favouritism. In Group B the Russia v Greece game in Moscow will likely decide 1 spot.

    In previous qualification tournaments through 2018:
    France locked in their spot early with a totally dominant run through the European Championships, and Wales followed with spirited performances v Ireland and Scotland.

    Jamaica surprised all by knocking off the USA and Canada to claim their first Cup berth.
    Newcomers Chile were brave but easily outclassed.

    Early favourites for European B cup Serbia bombed out partially due to a Visa stuff-up in Russia.
    In European C, Norway scraped their way to an unlikely playoff berth v Greece but couldn't convert.
    Germany, Czechia, Malta and Ukraine all fell at the first hurdle.

    A total of 19 nations have participated in the qualification process in addition to the 8 pre-qualified nations, bringing the 2021 World Cup total to 27 nations.
    The next round of qualifiers for 2025 will begin in 2021 and is expected to include over 40 nations. In addition to the current 27, we could look forward to seeing some of
    Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico,
    Nigeria, Ghana, Cameroon, Morocco,
    Vanuatu, Solomon Islands, Niue,
    Hong Kong, Philippines, Thailand,
    Hungary, Netherlands, Poland, Turkey
    Irish-bulldog and greenBV4 like this.
  2. Foreign Legion

    Foreign Legion First Grade

    Feb 7, 2012
    Likes Received:
    The final qualification spot for Rugby League World Cup 2021 will be decided in Jacksonville, Florida on November 16th when the USA Hawks will take on the winners of the Cook Islands v South Africa game which will be held in Sydney later this month.

    The game will be made available LIVESTREAM on the NEW Americas Rugby League VIDEO page.https://www.facebook.com/AmericasRugbyLeague

    USARL Chairman, Peter Illfield welcomed the news saying:

    “The city of Jacksonville, Florida and the Jacksonville Axemen RL Club have stepped up again to host a critical event in the USA Hawks international agenda, our final attempt to qualify for RLWC2021 and we thank them for that and hope to deliver the victory that we all seek.”

    Jacksonville was the host city for the Americas Championship which saw Jamaica qualify win the tournament which eliminated Canada and Chile but allowed the USA to participate in the repechage competition for the final spot in RLWC2021.

    Michael Corrigan, President & CEO of Visit Jacksonville, supported the decision to play the game in Jacksonville saying:

    “We are so excited to host the Rugby League World Cup Qualifier here in Jacksonville this coming November.

    “We are thrilled to expand our relationship with the USA Hawks and to work together to share the Jacksonville sporting brand throughout the world and once again show that Jacksonville is the top city for Rugby League in the United States.”

    Peter Illfield commented further on the opportunity presented to USA rugby League saying:

    “Head Coach, Sean Rutgerson, Assistant Coach, Brent Richardson, Team Manager, Billy Neilson, their staff and players have worked tirelessly in preparation for this repechage.

    “A special thankyou is again extended to those heritage players who, over the past eight years have continually put aside their local commitments to their game and family to support the USA Hawks and enjoy the camaraderie of international Rugby League. Participation on the international stage has been important for the exposure and growth of Rugby League in the USA.

    “On behalf of the USARL Inc., its Board of Directors and its members, I wish the Hawks players and staff the very best in this ultimate contest for RLWC2021."

  3. adamkungl

    adamkungl Immortal

    Jun 3, 2005
    Likes Received:
    Brazil have their membership and are now eligible for 2025's qualifying series.
    Irish-bulldog likes this.
  4. adamkungl

    adamkungl Immortal

    Jun 3, 2005
    Likes Received:
    4 NRL players selected in Cook Islands squad

    Tepa Moeroai, Marata Niukore, Brad Takairangi (Parramatta Eels),
    Charnze Nicol-Klokstad, Reuben Porter (Canberra Raiders),
    Troy Dargan (Brisbane Broncos),
    Kayal Iro, Brodie Tamarua (NZ Warriors),
    Steven Marsters (St George Dragons),
    Sam Mataora (Belconnen),
    Eric Newbigging (Blacktown),
    Eli Noovao, AaronT eroi (CQ Capras),
    John Puna, (Easts Tigers)
    Reuben Rennie, Vincent Rennie (Mounties),
    Moses Noovao-Mcgreal, Pride Petterson-Robati, Paul Ulberg (Norths Devils)
    Josh Minhinnick (Wentworthville)

Share This Page