Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2022 Financial Reports

Pneuma

You find this funny because...?

It doesn't change the fact that the Cowboys are generating more revenue from football operations than the Sydney clubs.

If there a nationwide ban on pokies was put in place tomorrow then the Cowboys would still be in a healthier position than every Sydney club.
Potato

Pippen94

You find this funny because...?

It doesn't change the fact that the Cowboys are generating more revenue from football operations than the Sydney clubs.

If there a nationwide ban on pokies was put in place tomorrow then the Cowboys would still be in a healthier position than every Sydney club.

No, it's funny you on high horse about pokie money but cowboys who you use for comparison make most money from gambling too

Wrong. Revenue generated from football operations includes sponsorship, corporate hospitality, ticketing, membership and merchandise. Cowboys generated $22m from football operations in 2022. That's $7m more than they generated from gaming. That doesn't include money from food and beverage, either. Add food and beverage to the list and Cowboys generated twice as much from non-gaming revenue sources than they did from gaming.

You can support your club but not agree with how they do some of their business. Fortunately it looks like most clubs are starting to get to a position where pokies will become less and less necessary and hopefully they can become better corporate citizens and ditch them.

The_Wookie

Wrong. Revenue generated from football operations includes sponsorship, corporate hospitality, ticketing, membership and merchandise. Cowboys generated $22m from football operations in 2022. That's $7m more than they generated from gaming. That doesn't include money from food and beverage, either. Add food and beverage to the list and Cowboys generated twice as much from non-gaming revenue sources than they did from gaming.

Just where do you think the food and beverage revenue comes from? Hint: its not matchday operations.

I'm aware it comes from the Leagues Club, hence the reason I didn't include it as revenue from football operarions. It must be noted that not everyone goes to their team's Leagues Club to play the pokies.

Some people go there to have a feed and drink while they watch the game at the bar. Wynnum Manly Leagues Club makes most of its money on game day from fans going there to have a feed and watch the team. Some people prefer to sit at the bar over watching the game from the stands.

People hold functions at Leagues Clubs. Concerts are also held at Leagues Clubs.

The_Wookie

I'm aware it comes from the Leagues Club, hence the reason I didn't include it as revenue from football operarions. It must be noted that not everyone goes to their team's Leagues Club to play the pokies.

It must be noted that the vast majority of food and beverage is generated by people playing the pokies.

Wynnum Manly Leagues Club makes most of its money on game day from fans going there to have a feed and watch the team. Some people prefer to sit at the bar over watching the game from the stands.

While the 2022 report is not available, we can get the 2021 variety.

1677925603538.png

in 2021 they turned $23m in sales revenue and $961,000 in other income. The majority of that total revenue - like 70% - was poker revenue income of 16.9m. Bar and catering accounted for 6.1m.

1677925476715.png

People hold functions at Leagues Clubs. Concerts are also held at Leagues Clubs.

These generated a total of - and I hope your sitting down here - $93,000 for the club in the 2021 financial year. About 3.6% of total revenue

Choose better examples my dude. Or do you have another Wynnum Manly Leagues club up your sleeve.

info from: 2021 Wynnum Manly Leagues 2021 Annual Report

Attachments

• 1677925547837.png
    1677925547837.png
    53.1 KB · Views: 9
It must be noted that the vast majority of food and beverage is generated by people playing the pokies.

View attachment 70847

in 2021 they turned $23m in sales revenue and $961,000 in other income. The majority of that total revenue - like 70% - was poker revenue income of 16.9m. Bar and catering accounted for 6.1m.

View attachment 70844

These generated a total of - and I hope your sitting down here - $93,000 for the club in the 2021 financial year. About 3.6% of total revenue

Choose better examples my dude. Or do you have another Wynnum Manly Leagues club up your sleeve.

None of this proves that most of the money from bar and catering is generated by people playing the pokies.

There's a significant amount of licenced sections at the Leagues Club that are adjacent to Kougari Oval. Paying customers sit in these areas to watch the football on game day while they're wined and dined. I know this because I was a member of the club for five years.

There's a section near the football department/tuckshop that provides similar features. These areas are always packed and make good money.

I don't know if the Chook Pen is operated by the Leagues Club, but it's always full of people and does very good business on game day.

A day at Kougari Oval beats Lang Park by a country mile.

I've been to the Leagues Club after I picked up my membership pack on numerous occasions over the years. I've only ever seen one person playing the pokies. Just one. This was during the arvo in the middle of the week. Maybe it's different in the morning and night. Who knows.

I saw more people buying milk, bread and grog from the front counter than there were at the pokies on game day. I used to pop into the front counter for milk on game day.

On the few times I've actually bought a slice of cheesecake and a milkshake from the café I was the only person there. This was not on game day. Whenever I went in there on game day the dining area and bar was packed. I know this because I went there routinely for five years. You've not lived in Queensland since 1979. I'll trust what I've seen with my eyes over the opinions of some one who has probably never set foot on the premises.

Pneuma

None of this proves that most of the money from bar and catering is generated by people playing the pokies.

There's a significant amount of licenced sections at the Leagues Club that are adjacent to Kougari Oval. Paying customers sit in these areas to watch the football on game day while they're wined and dined. I know this because I was a member of the club for five years.

There's a section near the football department/tuckshop that provides similar features. These areas are always packed and make good money.

I don't know if the Chook Pen is operated by the Leagues Club, but it's always full of people and does very good business on game day.

I've been to the Leagues Club after I picked up my membership pack on numerous occasions over the years. I've only ever seen one person playing the pokies. Just one. This was during the arvo in the middle of the week. Maybe it's different in the morning and night. Who knows.

I saw more people buying milk, bread and grog from the front counter than there were at the pokies on game day. I used to pop into the front counter for milk on game day.

On the few times I've actually bought a slice of cheesecake and a milkshake from the café I was the only person there. This was not on game day. Whenever I went in there on game day the dining area and bar was packed. I know this because I went there routinely for five years. You've not lived in Queensland since 1979. I'll trust what I've seen with my eyes over the opinions of some one who has probably never set foot on the premises.
Potato

Frank Burge

View attachment 70847

View attachment 70844

To be fair those wouldn’t be the best years for events due to lockdowns and the catering of those events would be included in food and beverage

vintage baby GIF

Lol Leagues clubs should get rid of pokies & concentrate on Bread & milk sales.
Thats where the big $$$ are apparently .

& I’ve been to the Wynnum Leagues club many times .
& the pokies are very popular Especially with the older females .

I can’t say I noticed too many with a few loaves of bread & a few bottles of moo juice .

Pneuma

I can’t say I noticed too many with a few loaves of bread & a few bottles of moo juice .
Do they wear nappies while playing. Old mate swears they do!

The_Wookie

obviously werent there on the days where he was the only person on the premises.