Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2022 Round 20 Panthers V Eels

The thing is the top 8 is HOT. Canberra have a soft draw and probably make it.
That means 2 of the above won't.
Manly and Eels I reckon will fall short.

Whino

Hmm. Yes they best Parra but honestly Eels butcher 2 x tries cause Waqa didn't pass. And a dodgie obstruction call.

If watched highlights there is an element of luck in 4 of Brisbane's tries.

The first involving 3 x kicks and a ricochet .
The 3rd a man down.
The fourth from the kick off drop and a man down .
The 5th Guth drops ball cold returning it and Reynolds kicks ahead and scores.

Good side. But in the dry id back Eels over them.

I'd list like this as far as danger

1. Storm with Noafaluma. They've have Kafusi and B.Smith missing and Papa. They will turn it around.

2. ROOSTERS. GREAT SIDE JUST INJURIES. If fit they'll be flying. Huge chance imo. Teddy,Suali,Toupo,Manu,Keary,Walker,Radley, Collins,JWH. They are warming imo

3. Sharks - They won't die wondering amd have attacking weapons.

4. SOUTHS- Can score 30 points. Have Latrell.

5. Cowboys - Play a controlled game and have halves who won't go to water.

6. MANLY - IF turbo is fit and back which hearing he might be.

7. Eels - Have experience and a tough pack.

8. BRISBANE - LEAK points and the spiels inexperienced bar Reynolds. Could see them having a bad game in finals and lose by 20 against anyone they play....

Manly are divided. They are not a threat. Turbo can be neutralised. We did that in round 1.

I reckon it will come down to Parra needing to best Storm for 8th spot. And Storm needing to win for 2nd.
For and against will be huge. I can see 3 or 4 sides in 30 points.
Manly season needed tonight's win. Worse time to not have 6 players available.

Whino

Eels will be there. Stop playing the underdog tag.
Canberra are liable to shit the bed.

Eels will be there. Stop playing the underdog tag.
Canberra are liable to shit the bed.

Hmm
Penrith
Manly away
Souths never beat
Dogs WIN you'd think
Brisbane away
Storm

Could win 3/6 amd get to 30 points. But would have a poor for and against. I can see Canberra,Roosters,Souths all on 30 also. One would have to miss out.

I could also see Eels only winning 2/6

Iamback

Hmm. Yes they best Parra but honestly Eels butcher 2 x tries cause Waqa didn't pass. And a dodgie obstruction call.

If watched highlights there is an element of luck in 4 of Brisbane's tries.

The first involving 3 x kicks and a ricochet .
The 3rd a man down.
The fourth from the kick off drop and a man down .
The 5th Guth drops ball cold returning it and Reynolds kicks ahead and scores.

Good side. But in the dry id back Eels over them.

I'd list like this as far as danger

1. Storm with Noafaluma. They've have Kafusi and B.Smith missing and Papa. They will turn it around.

2. ROOSTERS. GREAT SIDE JUST INJURIES. If fit they'll be flying. Huge chance imo. Teddy,Suali,Toupo,Manu,Keary,Walker,Radley, Collins,JWH. They are warming imo

3. Sharks - They won't die wondering amd have attacking weapons.

4. SOUTHS- Can score 30 points. Have Latrell.

5. Cowboys - Play a controlled game and have halves who won't go to water.

6. MANLY - IF turbo is fit and back which hearing he might be.

7. Eels - Have experience and a tough pack.

8. BRISBANE - LEAK points and the spiels inexperienced bar Reynolds. Could see them having a bad game in finals and lose by 20 against anyone they play....

They are stacked with Origin players with a half that has played in 2 Grand Finals, If they get a home final week 1 they will be hard to beat. That then turns into a home Prelim final off the back of that.

Storm - Their defence is horrible, Adding a winger won't fix that

Roosters - I don't think make the 8, Canberra's soft draw gets them in

Sharks - You see very few open games of footy in finals, Not sure they can grind out games yet

Souths - IF Latrell stays in the side, He hasn't played a finals series for Souffs yet.

Cowboys - Still have yet to win games in Sydney or like Sharks grind out wins. Next year is their year

Manly - As much as I will love Parra to not make it. Reality says they win 2-3 games and keep Manly out

Eels - Brad Arthur coach... That is why they won't get past week 2 of the finals

Broncos - They have the 5th best defence across the comp.

TMM, Oates, Reynolds and Capewell have played in GF
Cobbo, Carrigan, Flegler are Origin players now
Riki played for NZ this year

So there is enough experience there. I'd back them against Souths/Sharks and few other sides, If they end v Storm in a Prelim or something probably not but who knows

Sime_11

Broncos are the team that fear me as a Penrith fan - the broncos are much improved to when we beat them earlier this year and the broncos have gone very close to beating us in the previous 2-3 years when they were a rabble at times.

Cowboys & Sharks just depend on which team rocks up - the Sharks of last week should make it to week 3 if they play like they did against us.

Chooks could be a shout but they may use all their fuel up getting to September.

Eels - flip a coin - they've had really good wins and then they've just had WTF performances

Souths game plan is to get under Latrell and Cody's skin - then watch the implosion

Anyone else making the 8 is just making up numbers

Munky

Broncos are the worry IMO. A top class prop, second rower and lock in the pack with speed and size across the outside backs. They also have the most experienced game manager in the comp.

They are weak at full back and hooker though.

Kicking game needs to be designed to work over TMM, similar to what the team did to Kennedy against the Sharks at home last year and to Saab in Round 1 this year. Don't aim to contest the kick, just smash the full back as soon as he catches it. It will require Cleary landing them between the ten metre and goal lines though.

Smug Panther

Broncos are the worry IMO. A top class prop, second rower and lock in the pack with speed and size across the outside backs. They also have the most experienced game manager in the comp.

Kicking game needs to be designed to work over TMM, similar to what the team did to Kennedy against the Sharks at home last year and to Saab in Round 1 this year. Don't aim to contest the kick, just smash the full back as soon as he catches it. It will require Cleary landing them between the ten metre and goal lines though.
TMM won't be back

I feel Brisbane will be exposed big time. I could be wrong. Id be confident Eels would beat them and prefer to face them over Storm,Cowbous,Souths or Roosters

Fangs

Penrith v Eels grand final would be a wet dream for the NRL. Its what I'm hoping for.

Parra on their day are dangerous. It was an absolute miracle they got as far as they did last year, their end of season form was as bad as any of the 16 teams. They looked like wooden spoon contenders. I have a feeling they will come good when it really matters. Though if they don't improve and make a prelim then Brad Arthur will be on the unemployment line.

Broncos spine is heavily reliant on Reynolds. I think they will have issues with experience come the finals. And if for any reason Reynolds goes down they are shot. You could say that about any team with a star player but I don't think its as bad if say Chad Townsend gets injured, Dearden is capable enough. For that reason I think I rate the Cowboys higher than the Broncos. They edge them on experience in key positions.

I'd be more worried about either of those teams if we have to play up in QLD.

Murraymob1

So have you put your coaching application in yet .Stand up Hindy parra needs you

Wigansfinest

I don't trust Spencer, Kenny or Salmon for long periods either. So I'd like to see a couple of set moves or something to get our attack better, generally our attack will win it
Agreed salmon is a utility but doesn’t really play any position well

Wigansfinest

They will just put Capewell there if they need too. Cows, Sharks are a year away from being able to match the finals intensity, Souths have Cook and Walker that go MIA in big game
Storm are broken
Could see storm doing something if they get in a top fb on that elastic salary cap they have before august 1

Thirsty Panther

Team update:
Side as named ie with Staines on the bench.
Turuva and Leota on the extended bench so no tricky Jenkins debut.