Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2023 State of Origin ~ Game 1 *31st May*

Happy MEel

It will never happen (particularly when the useless deadshit Fittler’s in charge ) but this would be my team going forward:

1. Turbo
2. JAC
3. Latrell
4. Campbell Graham
5. Too
6. Burton or Hynes
7. Moses (yep I reckon Moses is ready)
8. Haas
9. Api
10. RCG
11. Lane
12. Young (last chance)
13. Murray

14. Cook
15. Junior
16. Matterson or Jurbo
17. Koloamatangi or olakau’ato

Coach: Hasler

Time to break up the Panther party and get some actual attack/creativity into the side.

King-Gutho94

Give me King Gutho over Teddy any day of the week.

Anyway I am at the nightclub in Adelaide casino kicking on speak to you all tomorrow when I give me review of that shithouse performance from NSW

eels_fan

Billy Slater is a coach I’d now target if Ryles is eventually getting the Storm job.
Doubt Slater will ever be a first grade coach. Would be getting triple a coaches salary from 9 for 5% of the time commitment. Has the Qld job for as long as he wants it

eels_fan

If NSW wants a chance at winning I’d be pairing Moses with Cleary - because let’s be real with a Penrith old boy as coach and a Penrith board member as selector - Cleary will be the nsw 7 for at least the next 6/7 years no matter what performances he puts out there.

at least with Moses at 5/8th when Cleary goes MIA you have someone else who can kick and direct a team around, and the benefit of a class shortside player with speed.

I have no doubt if RCG or Matto make it onto the field vs Dogs and have a good game, they’ll be in the team. Pangai and Hudson Young were horrendous

I don't think Addo-Carr keeps his spot. They also need to change something in the 7-6-9-1 combo... whether that's Cook on the bench to change it up, or Tedesco out of the #1 jersey somehow.

And then the forwards - wasn't a fan of the middle forward rotations either...
TPJ 29mins
Haas 31mins
Paulo 30mins
Yeo 80mins

Which leaves 50mins - I'm guessing that was some of Frizell's and some of Martin's on-field time? Worse bench use than BA!

* Edit - yes, Freddy brought Martin on after TPJ's first stint, and brought Frizell back after TPJ's second stint - while hardly utilising Haas or Junior. Crazy shit.

Sides fine. Clearys kicking was great in first half. We bombed two tries by not passing so there is 12 points. And gave away 2 x tries from very silly penalties early. Hudson Young was woefull. Teddy in no man's lands for Qld first try.

Yet still ahead by 2 with 8 to go. Who was at fault for final tries? I went to bed but that is what lost the game.

Gazzamatta

And to think Qld could add Kaufusi, Horsburgh, Hopgood, Capewell, Gagai, Ponga All SOO capable.
Qld play for the jersey. NSW play for the 30k.
Hopefully its close to the end for Fittler and the Ventriloquist Dummy.

And to think Qld could add Kaufusi, Horsburgh, Hopgood, Capewell, Gagai, Ponga All SOO capable.
Qld play for the jersey. NSW play for the 30k.
Hopefully its close to the end for Fittler and the Ventriloquist Dummy.

We could also add Edwards,Matto,Rcg,Latrell, Lane.
Close game and flip of coin. No need to panic.

I actually would blood the young tigers winger. Beast.

Gazzamatta

We could also add Edwards,Matto,Rcg,Latrell, Lane.
Close game and flip of coin. No need to panic.

I actually would blood the young tigers winger. Beast.
Edwards for sure. The Parra boys no chance. Latrells a lock in. All injured and not Fittler types. I like the Tigpies winger as well.

Buzz is making up problems again. Maybe focus on the NSW players who find the pace of the game too much of a step up from club footy. Maybe write about how smug is not compatible with origin success?

Bandwagon

SMH player ratings for NSW - subjective of course, but Junior earning the highest rating of any of our forwards for his 30min contribution says a lot...

And not sure how Tedesco got a 7, when he was rated at 6 at half-time?

Teddy was much better second half, he straightened up a fair bit, and broke some tackles, if anything a six at half time was overs.

eels_fan

Yet still ahead by 2 with 8 to go. Who was at fault for final tries? I went to bed but that is what lost the game.
Ahead due to a 100% no try from Api. Anyone with eyeballs saw he knocked the ball on before regathering. Refs did their best to win it for nsw
Sides fine. Clearys kicking was great in first half.
nothing about Cleary was great. Especially how he failed to lead his team to victory with the calls going their way, a 2 player bench advantage, and a numerical advantage on the field. He was a 4-5 out of 10 which is about his average in origin. He’s a dud rep player mate no 2 ways about it.